Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars291
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2013
Really enjoyed this first novel. Great example of the genre. Varied character plot lines develop and converge. Mature read in sense that although classic young hero spine to the story, prepared to have you develop liking for a character and then for them to die. Look forward to the next instalment.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
One of the best fantasy reads since The Belgariad!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Great story great characters and as other reviews have said similar to a game of thrones, in my opinion this is simpler and aimed at a younger audience making it easier to read and much more fast pace which meant I enjoyed reading it much more.

Looking forward to the next book.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Enjoyable and solid read that blends a lot of elements and ideas from previous writers. I wouldn't quite put it in the 'unputdownable' category that many others have - but I do recommend it and will certainly get the next installment.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I often approach new authors with some trepidation. Gwynne's book was enjoyable with a varied set of characters, perhaps a little formulaic but easily read. So much so that I immediately ordered and read the follow up ( unfortunately leaving a wait for the third book)
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
I don't normally write reviews I just thought this one was so good it deserved comment. If you are looking for a new writer in this genre consider John Gwynne. Large cast of characters, all of them interesting and a good plot. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I enjoyed this book as it made a refreshing change from the malazan empire series i have just slogged thru (enjoyed it immensly also). Characters and plot are established in the book and there is definitely enuff left for several more books i would guess.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
A great read. On occasions a few too many characters but great story with plenty of twists and turns along the way. I have read Peter BRETT and GRR MARTIN etc and this book is up there with them in my opinion. Try it you will not be disappointed.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
A fantastic read., introducing the latest must read world of serious fantasy books....and it's up there with the best. As well as a good stand alone in its own right. How ever I defy any reader not to want to read on at the conclusion of the book.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
wonderful story great plot couldn't put down
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.