Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living the Dream in the Country
Suzanne Bugler's books all concentrate on family relationships, her descriptions so good that each time I read one of her books it feels like I am peeking through the windows on someone else's life.

In the safest Place starts with Jane persuading her husband to live their dream, this couple's dream is to live in the country. Once Jane decides that she wants to...
Published 21 months ago by C. Bannister

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wine and whining.
I have just trudged my way through this terminally tedious story, hoping that it would redeem itself eventually and reward me for investing my reading time. Sadly, no. It didn't.

A thoroughly unlikeable lady gets what she wished for, at a cost that was there to be plainly predicted from the outset. She may have moved but she has taken herself with her. And how...
Published 11 months ago by Katharine Kirby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very jolly, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Kindle Edition)
I was sufficiently engaged to read this book to the end.
Well written and an honest insightful review of the difficulties faced when moving from the city to the country.
However..it was overwhelmingly depressing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Calm before the Storm, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
I loved this book! like the other books by this author I have read, not a lot is happening on the surface, but boy, the way Ms Bugler discribes the feelings of the family and mainly of Jane, makes this riviting reading. It about a family who upsticks and move to the county, mainly due to the Mum believing that life will be so much better for her family.....a typical case of the grass is always greener. Not so for poor Jane.

I dont want to spoil the story line, but if you are a fan of this genre of drama you will eat this up. Superb writing, roll on the next offering from Suzanne Bugler, she can do no wrong (in my book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Writing, 1 April 2013
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
The Safest Place was published by Pan Macmillan on 14 March 2013 and is Suzanne Bugler's third adult novel.

The central theme running through this story is that 'the grass is not always greener', although Jane Berry does her very best to convince herself and everyone else that she comes into contact with that by moving her
family out of London and into the countryside, she really has found happiness. The story is narrated by Jane, a forty-something mother of two, married to David and now a stay-at-home-Mum. Jane and David had a great life before the kids came along, based in central London, working in the magazine publishing industry, close to the shops, the best places to eat and the theatres, life was good. They were delighted when the children came along, but life changed. The house seemed to be smaller, Jane no longer went to work, the pressure to make sure that the children had the best of everything, including the best education became overpowering and engulfed their lives. It was seeing their son Sam become a victim of bullying and retreat into himself that was the final straw for Jane. Her mission was to find her family the perfect home - the safest place - away from the pressure of London, away from the rough local schools. Somewhere where the family could live in peace. OK, so David will face hours of commuting, maybe Jane and the children won't see him as much as they would like, but surely coming home to the peaceful and tranquil village that they move to will be better all round than the noise and the dirt and the pressure of London? Won't it???

The Safest Place is narrated by Jane, some would say that she is a typical unreliable narrator, that she does her best to convince the reader that every action that she took during this story was for the benefit of her family. Looking a little deeper, it is clear that Jane is an incredibly truthful narrator, she is telling her story as it really was, and not as she wanted and even prayed for it to turn out. Jane is truthful and honest and acutely aware of her failings.

Suzanne Bugler has created an ordinary world, yet her extraordinary writing transforms the everyday happenings into a dark, forbidding story that builds intensely page by page until the unthinkable happens. Jane, despite her constant justification for her behaviour, is an honest, if unpleasant character whose life goes completely out of control once she has got her wish and the family move to the country. The author draws characters with ease, from the flighty and somewhat dangerous new friend Melanie, to the shy and tormented son Sam. David the husband is a shadowy figure throughout the story, the reader never really gets to find out just what goes on in his mind, he is portrayed as a sad, almost downtrodden guy who just wants to please everyone.

There is something about this dark story about ordinary, everyday people that is utterly compelling and very hard to put down. I found myself almost screaming at Jane at time, her behaviour is so frustrating and the reader knows that things are just not going to work out, even if the character pretends not to. The shock though, for the reader, is that the incident that finally breaks Jane is totally unexpected, and never quite resolved.

This is a short novel at just over 300 pages and becomes more compelling as each page is turned. Most certainly my favourite book by Suzanne Bugler yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended read!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and thought provoking read - I couldn't put it down. It's made me think twice about that cottage in the country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent novel, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
I can't recommend this novel highly enough. There are few books these days that I find "unputdownable" but this is one. A gripping story line with believable characters and compelling plot; the author has an insight into human nature that gives the story authority and conviction. I shall certainly read her other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Safest Place - reviewed by a Devon reader, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
I have now read all three of this author's wonderful books and find them un-put-downable. Her descriptions of people's lives, feelings and experiences are moving and real. I hope that the author is young as I am hoping for more of her books. I would now rate her as one of the best women writers currently crafting their novels, along with Rosie Thomas and JoJo Moyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Suzanne Bugler, 7 July 2013
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
A nother great book by Suzanne Bugler. Suzanne Bugler is one of my favourite authors, she has the incredible ability to bring her characters to life in every books she adapts.
Every mother wants a really nice house, the perfect husband and the very best of school for their children. Jane Berry dreams of moving from London to a stone house in the country, with a nice garden filled of flowers and fields that the children could roam in. They would have Friday-nights to escape to for her husband from the stress of the weeks busy work schedule and weekends would feel like holidays, wouldn't they?. Jane is determined to make a better life for herself and her husband and children with new house in the country and their new idyllic life. David could commute from the country to catch an early train to Paddington and after a long day at work in London he could catch the train back to his cosy house in the country.
Janes children Sam and Ella both attend different schools. Jane is worried about Sam starting a new school as he is quiet and shy. Jane makes friends with a woman from Sam's school, which shows a dark side. One evening the line is crossed by of Sam's friends that threatens to ruin Jane and break her family forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-stealing, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Kindle Edition)
Great read which transports you totally into the world of the protagonist. Excellent characterisation and description. Good storyline but one which could have had a more thrilling conclusion, perhaps. Accurately portrays the pros and cons of both city and rural family living. It finished too soon for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling but uncomfortable read, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Kindle Edition)
The protaganist is not particularly likeable but this adds a certain tension to the narrative. Suspense is well created and whilst you hurtle towards one predictable outcome there is another much darker and comfortable journey that is quite a shock.
Worth adding to your list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new author to me, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Safest Place (Paperback)
A really great book by someone new to me.I wouldnt say it was a gripping story but i enjoyed it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Safest Place
The Safest Place by Suzanne Bugler (Paperback - 14 Mar 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews