Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2014
When i bought this for Kindle I realised I first read it in the early 60's. I enjoyed it then in late childhood, but on rereading now find myself marvelling at Richmal Crompton's gift for depicting vividly the behaviour, codes and perspective of young boys. Some of the arguments between William and his Outlaws in this book are outstandingly good pieces of comic dialogue. Her eye for the comedy of adult life features as well, notably in a masterful story featuring William's brother's desire to set up a society of (all male) poets, and the ensuing rivalry and politicking. Crompton was a shrewd observer, and the stories are never sentimental or naive. Crompton's use of language, and in particular perhaps the learned but never out of place vocabulary she uses, help to make these satisfying reading.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Excellent reading, up to the usual standard of all the Just William books.

A light hearted read, even for adults, certainly enough to cheer one up in these trying times.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Another great book. They all recall the early 30s and Thomas Henry`s illustrations are a superb comment on the period.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Who could not be delighted with William's adventures? Although some references may date the actions it does not detract from the charm of a mischievous and surly lad with a sense of adventure and a loose interpretation of what to do and what not to do. Wonderfully charming and hugely amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
The usual brilliant tales of William, just more of the same fun and laughter I'm sure. Haven't read it yet though - perhaps Amazon could give people a chance before asking for a review as soon as the parcel is delivered? It's for my son's birthday and he hasn't opened the present yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
How can anybody give a bad rating for any William books? This one is as hilarious as all the rest - brilliant antics that transport you to an era when boys really were boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
fast response - a journey into my childhood - will hope to explore the full list of kindle william books - would recommend to friends and family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Does exactly what was required. Reads well and mother enjoyed reading it. No complaints from us and 5 stars given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Top comic stories from the pen of Richmal Crompton whose humour does not date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Absolutely great book, brings back happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.