Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books in the Inspector Banks series
Peter Robinson keeps getting better. This book, the latest in the perennial Inspector Banks series, is certainly one of the best. Combined with the usual police procedural are Banks' problems and tribulations, making him one of the most human mystery characters around.
The story itself is about fire (hence the title), and Robinson keeps you guessing throughout the...
Published on 28 Dec 2004 by Kirk McElhearn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Running out of gas?
I didn't find this as satisfying as earlier Banks titles. Too didactic. At times it read like a manual on the forensics of fire, or police procedure and since most of this was done via the medium of reported conversation it felt rather unrealistic. People kept telling each other things they would already have known. And the plot, the characterisation and the procedure...
Published 9 months ago by Niblick


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars hard for me to put down., 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
only recently discovered Peter Robinson, this one as usal was a gripping read. I will definetly be reading more.Already have on my wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robinson does it again, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How can anyone not like the DCI Banks books. They are great cos they not only cover the police crime aspect but also his personal life so much so that after reading so many you feel that you know him. Lots of twists and keeping you guessing right to the end. Absolutely brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars playing with fire, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another superb book from peter robinson with dci banks i would recommend also dont forget there is a series on itv of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am a fan of peter robinson and dci banks series this book lives up to my expectations , a very good read very pleased with the story line very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Nov 2012
Ive read most of the Banks novels and this live up to expectations. The plot unfolds and holds you in such a way that its impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing with fire, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story as usual in this series, didn't want to put the book down. Look forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 17 April 2012
By 
Peter Wiley "wonker" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i would have given this book which is well written , a 5 star rating, but i`m probably too catholic in my tastes , and don`t need an overly reliance on sex.even so a good read, perhaps i`m in the wrong century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These stories suit me just fine. The right mix of humour, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These stories suit me just fine. The right mix of humour, sadness and really deep emotions. I wanted it to carry on. I will read all of Peter Robinson,s books. I like the subtle references to previous storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I had seen this on TV before I read the ..., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had seen this on TV before I read the book and the story is slightly different but Robinson never disappoints with his writing style and Banks' complex character is changing with each story. Still a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DCI Banks at his best, again, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DCI Banks at his best, again. Peter Robinson maintains the mystery and suspense of a major criminal investigation right up to the last pagd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DCI BANKS: Playing With Fire (The Inspector Banks Series)
DCI BANKS: Playing With Fire (The Inspector Banks Series) by Peter Robinson (Paperback - 19 Aug 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews