Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracking good read.
Tess finally makes a break from her overbearing Husband and moves into a friend's flat with her young son Oscar.
The flat is old and Tess feels that there is something not quite right with the atmosphere in the place. Richard who has lent her the flat tells her to expect a Joiner to arrive to sort out his bookcases as the floor is so crooked. The Joiner turns out to...
Published 2 months ago by Pyewacket

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars utterly gripping
I read the previous book along this theme that this author has written, and as another reviewer has put I enjoyed it so much that I eagerly awaited this one. I found the tension cranked up so unbearably at times that I had to put the book down and have a break from it. I think that it was the violence to women I found very unsettling and disturbing though it formed the...
Published 8 months ago by Gilly


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracking good read., 10 July 2014
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tess finally makes a break from her overbearing Husband and moves into a friend's flat with her young son Oscar.
The flat is old and Tess feels that there is something not quite right with the atmosphere in the place. Richard who has lent her the flat tells her to expect a Joiner to arrive to sort out his bookcases as the floor is so crooked. The Joiner turns out to be an old flame called Luke.

Back in Elizabethan times Nell is in love with Tom Maskewe who has to complete his Apprenticeship before they can marry. However, things go badly wrong when her Father tells her that he has agreed to her being betrothed to Tom's older Brother Ralph. He has in fact blackmailed Nell's Father by telling him he will write off the debt he owed to the Maskewe family. If Nell doesn't agree then her family will be thrown out of their house and effectively left to beg on the streets. Nell has no choice but to marry him. He turns out to be a cruel and vindictive man getting pleasure out of humiliating and demeaning her.

Tess keeps finding herself slipping through time and living life through Nell's eyes. Eventually she tells Luke what has been happening and is surprised when he believes her.

This was a well written and researched book with an ending that comes as a big shock. The story is loosely based on fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting story, 13 Jan 2014
By 
J. Wilson "JUPETER" (SOUTH WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved "Times Echo" so was delighted when this second book set in York was published.
York is my favourite city and being so familiar with the streets makes the book really come alive for me.
Pamela Hartshorne writes in such an evocative way that the characters leap off the pages and the sights and sounds become real.
I really loved the first book and hoped that this second one would be as good. It is even better. A brilliant read, the characters and story so hauntingly real that they stay with you long after the book has been finished.
Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once I started this book I was unable to put it down. It is a fascinating tread and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 27 July 2014
This is a very haunting book. I chose to read it because it was set in York and the time slip element sounded intriguing. I read quite a lot of it sitting in York railway station (waiting for a bus - not just hanging around there for no reason)!

Tess's story is interesting and, in places, frightening because of the unpredictability of when she slips back to the past. Her husband, Martin is a serious nutjob.

Nell's story is horrifying! Her husband, Ralph, makes Martin look like Mr Sanity. I saw some of it coming but it didn't make it any less traumatic.

The characters were richly realised and the descriptions of the past were vivid and interesting.

This is a good book. It will make me look at York in a different light the next time I'm there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written gripping book! Emotionally charged, and a delight to read if you enjoy historical and/ or ghostly fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 28 Nov 2013
I had not heard of this author but read the reviews and thought I would try this book. I honestly could not put it down. I was drawn in from the start of the story and found the transition from past to present easy to follow and interlinked v well together. I wanted to find out what happened next but also didn't want to finish this book and I would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good mix of today and yester year. The ease with which the author can seamlessly transport you through the centuries without you losing the sense of the storyline is done extremely efficiently. Loved this, her 2nd book, and hope there are more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful piece of escapism!, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A scholarly yet eminently readable and utterly enthralling story.
We meet a young woman in modern times who seems to live another life...in another century. This book describes clearly the way of life lived by those of Tudor times in the city of York,(England)and weaves it cleverly into her present life. For those interested in social history, as well as those who just want an absorbing and interesting tale to read, this book has it all, from the ordinary to the extreme of human experience.
I found the epilogue particularly interesting and I heartily congratulate Pamela Hartshorne.
Val
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great, gripping mystery story, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Memory of Midnight (Paperback)
This is a great, gripping mystery story. I loved reading it for two main reasons: it is set in an English town I love for its beauty and history, and it conveys with vivid realism the stories of two extraordinary ordinary women.

The supernatural element, a constant travelling through time, is the device Pamela Hartshorne chooses to connect the two story-lines. The narration quickly shifts from Elizabethan York and Nell's hard, tragic life enlightened only by her passionate love for Tom, to present-day York, where Tess struggles to overcome the wreckage of her marriage and to protect her son and herself from the rage of Martin, the man she is hiding from, her husband.

The rich descriptive pattern and the care for the details let the readers live in their minds the changes of landscape Tess herself experiences, comparing and contrasting the charms of present and past York. Tess finds herself distressed and displaced, when she realizes that what is happening to her is not simply "dreaming" another person's life, Nell's life in the 16th century.

In York, her shelter while trying to escape from her abusing husband, Tess finds the reassuring presence of Luke, a man she deeply loved in the past, and the disquieting reality of frightening, mysterious sounds coming from walls of the old house she moves in. Haunting and demanding, Nell enters Tess’s life that way and won't leave it before she gets what she wants.

The Shambles - York, England
The two women, despite their differences and the barrier of hundreds of years between them, share a tragic destiny: both married to abusive husbands: Nell was forced to marry sadistic Ralph Maskewe and to forget her dream of marrying his younger brother, Tom, instead; Tess was deceived into an un happy marriage by charming, handsome, but pathologically narcissistic, Martin. The violence Nell experiences is physical and brutal, in Tess’s case, it is more subtle and psychological. However, in both cases, the two women are alone and prisoners of their fears as well as of their husbands' powerful and unsimpathetic grip. The worst is that nobody seems to actually see or understands what really happens to them.

Incredibly enough, Tess and Nell, prisoners of the past, bound by love and fear, will help each other. Nell needs Tess to reveal the world what happened to her and to be finally re-united with her daughter, somehow. Tess will grow up and find the strength to choose what is right for her and her son Oskar, she will decide to stand up and to react to Martin, and all that thanks to Nell.

It's an intense story which takes the reader on a thrilling, dramatic journey, blending romance and brutal domestic violence, supernatural and accurate historical fiction, psychological insight and action.

I gave this book 5 well deserved stars out of 5 on goodreads. (see my post about the book at FLY HIGH! http://flyhigh-by-learnonline.blogspot.it/2014/08/the-memory-of-midnight-by-pamela.html)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb read, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never heard of this author before until an e.mail recommendation from amazon (thank you amazon) . I liked the sound of the story so decided to give it a go. A very good move. The story had me gripped from the first page. I loved the way pamela eased the reader back through time it was done in such a way that there was no confusion whatsoever in the storyline. It was a real page turner and I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes bit of history with a touch of romance and a helping of the supernatural. Can't wait for more from pamela hartshorne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Memory of Midnight
The Memory of Midnight by Pamela Hartshorne (Paperback - 10 Oct 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews