Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this one
I enjoyed this one. From the very beginning, reading the prologue, I thought "Right then, chaps. Here we ruddy well go! Let's 'ave it!" and sat up with anticipation. I read the first few chapters and then hit the hay, but with great enthusiasm. I went to my mate's house for the weekend (without my book) and every now and then found myself thinking "Corr, I wonder what'll...
Published 1 month ago by A.J. Waters

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb first half but disappointing second
When I started reading this book I thought it was superb, exactly the type of horror book I love, eerie tense supernatural, more 'evil presence' rather than a 'monster book'.

But am only giving 3 stars because the second half lost my interest, it got a bit predictable and almost boring. also in the later part of the book the lead character's dialogue started to...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
As if it were possible Adam Nevill's books just get better and better. It's a long time since a book had me looking over my shoulder at the growing shadows behind me as I read, but this one had me transported straight back to my childhood nightmares.

a brilliant writer who knows how to write chilling suspense into his books, who takes you into the plot with his totally believable characters whom you want to drag back to safety as you peep through your fingers at what you think might be coming next.

a fantastic book i can't recommend enough! ... just keep the lights on when you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Nevill goes from strength to strength, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
Last Days is the latest and beefiest tome from British horror scribe Adam Nevill. It's clear from the outset that this is Nevill's most ambitious project to date, and in some ways, it's also his most fascinating.
The story revolves around independent film maker Kyle Freeman, a man down on his luck as well as being in severe financial trouble. He is approached by a wealthy eccentric, Max Solomon, to produce a film about the infamous Sister Katherine and her cult The Temple of the Last Days. The cult was known for sexual depravity and acts of violence long before its bloody end in 1975. Max Solomon wants Kyle and his colleague Dan to interview the last few survivors of the group and piece together the story of the paranormal aspects of the cult's existence.
The storyline of Last Days is just as gripping as the opening pages of The Ritual. Nevill has a real gift for hooking his readers in from the very first page. He quickly gives them something to chew on, building the intrigue and tension steadily from that point on. The book is excellently paced and the way in which Nevill drip feeds Kyle information from an increasingly shifty Max only adds to an already excellent premise.
Last Days grounded in meticulous research and planning. The details and techniques of independent filmmaking are put forward in a believable way. The back story surrounding The Temple of the Last Days is both dense and fascinating, being truly horrific yet plausible. However, the only real downside of the novel is that the last third of the story is somewhat slowed by the need for a quite lengthy period of exposition. It must be said that this section was genuinely interesting but it did detract from the build-up to the excellent ending.
The characters at the centre of the book are expertly painted by Nevill. Kyle is believable and largely sympathetic - the way he becomes engrossed by The Temple of the Last Days is alarming yet realistic. It's Max Solomon who is the most interesting character here, though: he's charming and duplicitous, yet strangely endearing at the same time. He's an enigma and the way Nevill plays out this character is one of the key factors in the book's success. It must be said that, aside from the two main characters, Kyle's colleague Dan (who plays an important part) is left quite underdeveloped. Whilst he is meant to be sympathetic and innocent, it was hard to feel involvement with a character that isn't as well-delineated as the other figures are.
The set pieces in Last Days are wide-ranging yet equally successful throughout. The experience that Kyle and Dan have at the first location, an apartment building in Clarendon Road, London, is a very chilling example of what is to come. The scene is the written equivalent of a set piece from films such as The Blair Witch Project or Paranormal Activity. Translating something so subtle and visual via the written word in such a terrifying way is truly a triumph. Equally the interviews that are interspersed throughout the book hold as much terror and interest as the paranormal experiences do. The way Nevill describes the treatment and degradation of the cult members is also very effective.
In Last Days, Adam Nevill has managed to create a fusion of the Charles Manson mystique, the occult and a found footage documentary that is both a magnificent and gripping read from the very first page. The "old friends" mentioned throughout the book are truly terrifying and, as in The Ritual, Nevill demonstrates an unrivalled flair for describing the brutal and the obscene. Last Days is an ambitious, scary and remarkable step forward in the career of one of Britain's finest horror writers, and one that that should already have readers looking forward to his next book.
DAN HOWARTH

For more news on Adam Nevill's work and the horror genre please check out [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nevill's Best Yet, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
Last Days is that rarest of creatures - a book that delivers the pace and accessibility of compelling genre fiction along with the rich rewards of the best literary novels. I'll say nothing about the plot, other than to warn that it grips from the outset and doesn't let up until the story's disturbing conclusion.

Nevill's success is founded on a unique imagination and an exceptional writing talent that creates dialogue so natural and descriptions so vivid that the reader's disbelief is rapidly and permanently suspended. The book also seems thoroughly researched and this adds a real authenticity to both Kyle's film making and to the Mansonesque commune that is his subject - so much so that you might have to look up cults of the 60s and 70s on Wikipedia to separate the truth from the imaginary.

The author has been compared favourably with some of the biggest names in horror and whilst it's true to say he's that good, to say he is anything like them is not. Last Days does not resemble the work of "Britain's Stephen King", but it might be that of M R James on acid transcribing the nightmares of Cormack McCarthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Adam Nevill, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
Adam Nevill is undoubtedly one of the best horror writers of our time, and this book confirms that. While this would be a good introduction to his work for new readers, fans will be equally satisfied, as the book bears all the signs of Nevill at his best. The main character, Kyle, is a typical Nevill hero - a bit of a loner, trying to finally realize his ambitions and doubting himself and others in turn as he begins to see that this attempt to turn his life around could well be the end of him.

Like others, I found the story most gripping in the initial sections; however, the book is overall a thrilling read that never loses its pace (I read the whole book in three days). As always, the best feature is the atmosphere of claustrophobia, fear of the known and terror of the unknown that slowly builds up - a refreshing thing in a genre overrun by gore and vague threats. This is strengthened by the amount of detail, both researched and fabricated, that gives the story a layer of credibility.

If you only read one book this summer, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The narcissist devours people, consumes their output, and casts the empty, writhing shells aside", 15 Jun 2012
By 
Miss Matthews "Nicky Matthews" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
And so does Sister Katherine in this story of a complete narcissist who preys on the weak and vulnerable for her own self fulfilling propechy.

This story delivers great characters that seem consistent in Adam Nevills books, the weak, the vulnerable, the ones left wanting. People at stages in their lives where their dreams haven't been realised and they are in the pit, scrabbling to find a way out. And so they're hunted, used and eventually discarded or maybe become sole survivors? The character of Sister Katherine, an ex madam who doesn't care that she strips people of their identity, their most innermost thoughts, secrets and fears, purely to fuel her own power as she obviously isn't powerful enough to do it alone. Max, a weak and beleaguered figure who heads Revelation Productions, a character who again seeks and uses the needy to help him make amends for what he had begun, but unlike Sister Katherine it seems his intentions are always for the greater good, but the greater good never prevails from his actions and becomes his own demise. Kyle and Dan, both dissatisfied with their amibitions never being realised and at what cost it has been to them, taking chances on things then ultimately questioning their own and others motives, questioning what is real and what they think isn't real. Jed, a gun slinging hard man who takes no crap from anyone but eventually takes a whole lot more than he ever thought anyone would dare give him. And finally Lorche, the pretender who sucked people in to a belief in order to create his own vision of himself, a Prophet who could save his world by total domination and massacre. All so believable as aren't there so many people in the world like all of these characters?

Last Days takes you on a journey into history, the mystical and the occult where it is so rich with definition and artistry that you can't help but ask yourself, what if? Read it with an open mind.

Again as with The Ritual and Apartment 16, this story didn't have me hiding under the duvet with terror at night but had my mind opened and horrified at the depths of evil from the past, present and without a doubt the future. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read at night, 14 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
This book scared me thoroughly. I had to hum cheerful tunes before I went to bed and practically had to sleep with the light on. After that I tried to only read it during daylight hours.

A terrifying read for lovers of supernatural horror. It's refreshing to find a writer of stories as terrifying as this that isn't American, as it gives it something different. Finally, this side of the pond has produced someone that we can compare favourably with Stephen King.

I'm looking forward to his next already. I've no doubt I'll devour it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word - BRILLIANT!!!!!, 11 Jun 2012
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Kindle Edition)
I always read Adam Nevill. He's becoming one of the best authors of this genre and his novels are terrifying. This is a guy who can spin a plot so fast it makes you dizzy. Nevill injects so much tension and horror into his novels you're on the edge of your seat. Last Days is about distorted reality; what it's like to find yourself trapped on the wrong side of the looking glass with seriously nasty creatures. Nevill's gone out of his way to include almost every haunted house/horror/mystery theme you can imagine; cults, supernatural beings, cold spots, terrible smells, haunted buildings, set-ups, snakes, man-traps, different locations, out of body experience, modern day technology, revulsion, fear, rage, his usual ghastly old people, anger...he never stops in his attempt to cram it all in but; it all fits together and works. Nevill's characters are people who aren't necessarily normal, they're loners, oddities, people who are just on the right side of sanity and only need a shove before they explode into an altogether different reality and, in Last Days, they're not so much shoved as flung into the abyss. Dark and surreal, there's nothing ordinary here, I found Last Days an incredibly creepy, brooding page turner and I enjoyed every word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it I dare you., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Kindle Edition)
When reading this book keep the characters/ description vivid in your mind giving you a realistic 3D perspective.....And keep the light on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 May 2012
By 
Anna (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
I've loved Adam Nevill's work since reading the amazing 'Apartment 16' and his latest book 'Last Days' doesn't disappoint. Masterfully crafted, the author has a real skill for characterisation - even the characters who appear only briefly are interestingly presented and leave you wanting to find out more about them. I don't want to give anything away but the plot is thrilling and weirdly credible - I even checked on-line after reading to see if the terrifying 'blood friends' were based on any kind of old mythology! They appear to be entirely the author's creation and are truly disturbing. I read the majority of this in one sitting as I just had to find out what was going to happen and (somewhat embarrassingly) had to sleep with the light on afterwards! A thrilling read. strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days (Paperback)
Im new to this author but he is so good at setting atmosphere and building character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Days
Last Days by Adam Nevill (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews