Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for YA readers.
Apart from Julia Donaldson, one author that I aways keep an eye out for is Emily Gravett, I love her sense of whimsy and the wonderful illustrations that back her style of storytelling as well as enjoying reading the titles time and again to my nephews who find something new to enjoy with each reading.

Add to this bright colours, full of movement illustrations...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever and original!
It has a very clever and original theme but unfortunately my almost two-years old daughter doesn't have the patience to listen to the whole story properly. I believe that the fact that her native language is Greek doesn't help either. I think she doesn't get all the words in English and she get's bored.
Yet, she loves the dragon, she loves the hole at the end of the...
Published 19 months ago by Anastasia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for YA readers., 1 Oct 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
Apart from Julia Donaldson, one author that I aways keep an eye out for is Emily Gravett, I love her sense of whimsy and the wonderful illustrations that back her style of storytelling as well as enjoying reading the titles time and again to my nephews who find something new to enjoy with each reading.

Add to this bright colours, full of movement illustrations as well as some wonderful twists and the reader really will get a blast (literally looking at the back cover) from this title as it goes to show that patience has its own virtues. Magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ideal bedtime story, 27 April 2012
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
After a hard day's work you'll be tired. The last thing you'll want to do is read a bedtime story over and over and over again to your energetic kids who just won't go to sleep until you have. Well that's what this book is about.

The book starts with a child dragon who wants a bedtime story to be read to them by their mummy/daddy/guardian dragon, who obliges. Then the child dragon wants it read again. The mummy/daddy/whatever dragon reads it again, a slightly different version. Then the child dragon wants it to be read again. And so on with the parent dragon getting more and more fed up/tired and the child getting more and more frustrated resulting in chaos at the end, hence a hole in the back of the book.

So this is the ideal bedtime story because you and your child can relate to the story. And hopefully it can aid your child's understanding that parents don't have unlimited energy, especially at the end of the day, so don't necessarily want to continuously read them bedtime stories. But the book says all this in a fun way, which is why my daughters and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely illustrations, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Paperback)
I loved the illustrations which show Mum getting more and more weary with each new demand and the young dragon becoming more red/angry and demanding. Lots for parent and child to talk about to develop the child's understanding that adults do not have an infinite supply of energy and that they have needs too. Great for 2 to 5 year olds.

All the books in this consignment which I ordered from Amazon had been put loose in a large box with a heavy item and they had moved in transit which meant that some corners were badly bashed. The books were intended as Christmas presents for grandchildren and it was too near Christmas to have this issue resolved. Badly done, Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 5 Feb 2012
By 
rbj (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
I only need to see the name Emily Gravett to know that a treat is in store. Her illustrations are captivating and the text is charming. I am so pleased with this delightful book that I have bought it not only for my own grandchildren but for my friends' grandchildren as well. This wonderful story appeals to children and grown ups alike with an extra special surprise at the end. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AGAIN please Granny!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Mary Bead "Booklover" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
This was bought for my 4 1/2 year old grandson. He is just beginning to read so it gave him great pleasure to be able to help me with 'again'. The story is so simple and yet captures the comfort a child gains from re reading a story again and again and again.....! What completes this book is the illustrations which give endless opportunities for discussion including the need to go to bed before Mummy and Daddy get too tired! A book that can be read AGAIN and AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, clever book, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Again! (Paperback)
Another book shortlisted for the 2013 Greenaway medal. A young dragon sits down with mum, for a bedtime story, but wants it again and again. Mum however is tired and each time she re-reads the story it changes until she finally falls asleep. This doesn't please the young dragon, who gets so annoyed she turns red, starts fuming and ends up breathing fire, with disastrous consequences, which are evident to see!!! Very clever ending which you don't seee coming. Lovely, clear, large pictures which do complement the story very well and a story that is long enought to read to older children as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever and original!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
It has a very clever and original theme but unfortunately my almost two-years old daughter doesn't have the patience to listen to the whole story properly. I believe that the fact that her native language is Greek doesn't help either. I think she doesn't get all the words in English and she get's bored.
Yet, she loves the dragon, she loves the hole at the end of the book but that is just about it at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars again and again, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Paperback)
This perfect for little ones and older ones alike, who'll want to hear it again and again. I love all of Emily Gravett's work, her illustrations are beautiful both the characters and the composition of every page and they are humorous too. This one is a particular favourite with my grandchildren and great nephew and a particular favourite of mine too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emily Gravett - AGAIN!, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
Emily Gravett has a wonderful imagination, excellent artistic and colourful pictures to keep young readers wanting more, keeping them interested enough to want it read to them time and time AGAIN. Every book has been individually designed to deliver an exciting and brightly coloured storyline, and can keep the attention of children looking for other things in the pictures, and taking part in the recognition of easy-to read words. Julia Donaldson, you have a real competitor here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Again.... and again....and again, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Parents in Touch - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Again! (Hardcover)
Another irresistible story by Emily Gravett - the perfect book for young book-lovers everywhere Cedric has brushed his teeth and had his bath, so it's time for his favourite story to be read again... and again... and again! But Mum finds it all too tiring. The hilarious consequences of a fire-breathing dragon can be seen in what happens to the book..... Clever and unusual, children will find it hilarious. I love the way Emily manages to tell a story in such an apparently simple way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Again!
Again! by Emily Gravett (Paperback - 13 Sep 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews