Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 April 2012
After a hard day's work you'll be tired. The last thing you'll want to do is read a bedtime story over and over and over again to your energetic kids who just won't go to sleep until you have. Well that's what this book is about.

The book starts with a child dragon who wants a bedtime story to be read to them by their mummy/daddy/guardian dragon, who obliges. Then the child dragon wants it read again. The mummy/daddy/whatever dragon reads it again, a slightly different version. Then the child dragon wants it to be read again. And so on with the parent dragon getting more and more fed up/tired and the child getting more and more frustrated resulting in chaos at the end, hence a hole in the back of the book.

So this is the ideal bedtime story because you and your child can relate to the story. And hopefully it can aid your child's understanding that parents don't have unlimited energy, especially at the end of the day, so don't necessarily want to continuously read them bedtime stories. But the book says all this in a fun way, which is why my daughters and I love it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Apart from Julia Donaldson, one author that I aways keep an eye out for is Emily Gravett, I love her sense of whimsy and the wonderful illustrations that back her style of storytelling as well as enjoying reading the titles time and again to my nephews who find something new to enjoy with each reading.

Add to this bright colours, full of movement illustrations as well as some wonderful twists and the reader really will get a blast (literally looking at the back cover) from this title as it goes to show that patience has its own virtues. Magical.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I loved the illustrations which show Mum getting more and more weary with each new demand and the young dragon becoming more red/angry and demanding. Lots for parent and child to talk about to develop the child's understanding that adults do not have an infinite supply of energy and that they have needs too. Great for 2 to 5 year olds.

All the books in this consignment which I ordered from Amazon had been put loose in a large box with a heavy item and they had moved in transit which meant that some corners were badly bashed. The books were intended as Christmas presents for grandchildren and it was too near Christmas to have this issue resolved. Badly done, Amazon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Another book shortlisted for the 2013 Greenaway medal. A young dragon sits down with mum, for a bedtime story, but wants it again and again. Mum however is tired and each time she re-reads the story it changes until she finally falls asleep. This doesn't please the young dragon, who gets so annoyed she turns red, starts fuming and ends up breathing fire, with disastrous consequences, which are evident to see!!! Very clever ending which you don't seee coming. Lovely, clear, large pictures which do complement the story very well and a story that is long enought to read to older children as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
This was bought for my 4 1/2 year old grandson. He is just beginning to read so it gave him great pleasure to be able to help me with 'again'. The story is so simple and yet captures the comfort a child gains from re reading a story again and again and again.....! What completes this book is the illustrations which give endless opportunities for discussion including the need to go to bed before Mummy and Daddy get too tired! A book that can be read AGAIN and AGAIN.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
I only need to see the name Emily Gravett to know that a treat is in store. Her illustrations are captivating and the text is charming. I am so pleased with this delightful book that I have bought it not only for my own grandchildren but for my friends' grandchildren as well. This wonderful story appeals to children and grown ups alike with an extra special surprise at the end. Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
Another irresistible story by Emily Gravett - the perfect book for young book-lovers everywhere Cedric has brushed his teeth and had his bath, so it's time for his favourite story to be read again... and again... and again! But Mum finds it all too tiring. The hilarious consequences of a fire-breathing dragon can be seen in what happens to the book..... Clever and unusual, children will find it hilarious. I love the way Emily manages to tell a story in such an apparently simple way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Emily Gravett has a wonderful imagination, excellent artistic and colourful pictures to keep young readers wanting more, keeping them interested enough to want it read to them time and time AGAIN. Every book has been individually designed to deliver an exciting and brightly coloured storyline, and can keep the attention of children looking for other things in the pictures, and taking part in the recognition of easy-to read words. Julia Donaldson, you have a real competitor here!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
This perfect for little ones and older ones alike, who'll want to hear it again and again. I love all of Emily Gravett's work, her illustrations are beautiful both the characters and the composition of every page and they are humorous too. This one is a particular favourite with my grandchildren and great nephew and a particular favourite of mine too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
This is my 3 year old's favourite book. We found a copy in our local library, and loved it so much we bought one of our very own (the library wanted theirs back). It gets read at least once every day, and she knows it by heart already. It's the tale of a small dragon who can't always control his temper, and his favourite bedtime story. We would recommend it to anybody with bad tempered, dragon-loving little children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.94
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.