Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I live here!
I have grown up in the area which Peter Hamilton describes here. And it sounds so cool. I know the dodgy areas in and around peterborough where the story is set, and its quite an amusing excersize to imagine the street gangs and new political landscape for the country being run from my home city. It still felt like home even though it was drasticly different.
This...
Published on 31 Jan 2001

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Taking the Michael
I have enjoyed several of Peter Hamilton's books in hard copy but made the mistake of purchasing the Kindle edition of Mindstar Rising. The number of spelling mistakes or proofing errors have overwhelmed his best efforts. Had anyone as much as glanced through the pages before "publishing" the digital version? It seems that the copy was scanned by third rate software and...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by SteveW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I live here!, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I have grown up in the area which Peter Hamilton describes here. And it sounds so cool. I know the dodgy areas in and around peterborough where the story is set, and its quite an amusing excersize to imagine the street gangs and new political landscape for the country being run from my home city. It still felt like home even though it was drasticly different.
This book has cool tech stuff, bio-implants, black-ops warfare and a murder mystery style all wrapped into one. Its Ace. Wish I had neural-nanonics, it would help to pass my degree right now...
Although written a few years ago now all the stuff in it is still very relavent to todays issues, especially about advances in technology, human genering etc. and how we should use it. This is one authors bent on what we might do with some of that power.
I have ready everything Hamilton has writen but this was my first. Its no 'nights dawn', but its still great. This is much easier on the brain than any of the more complex works hes written. and is a great introduction to his writing.
This is the first of three Greg Mandel novels. Mindstar, Quantum Murder, Nano Flower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter!, 15 Oct 2006
By 
DMM (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
One of his early books and a good, easy read. Treats the future with a realistic view (especially in light of current politics) and the military aspects were believable and based upon rational actions. Problem with so many sci-fi books using military sub-plots is the total lack of reality when it comes to both military action sequences, dialogue and personalities. As an ex-soldier, you can see real events unfold and he stays away from the "stereotypical" protrayal of ex-soldiers.

If you're politically correct or of the liberal persuasion you won't like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book that would make a great movie., 6 May 2008
I really enjoyed mindstar rising, I found it a refreshing take on the cyberpunk genre. Being set in englans was refreshing and the use of global warming in place of nuclear conflict makes the premise seem more likely. The main character is very much a straight forward military type with added psychic powers. Some people have knocked the book for having flat characters, this isn't something I noticed or had any issue with. There is a fine balance between mystery and action here and it is never dull. Well worth all sci fi fans checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2nd Gulf war is over, the future is Mindstar, 6 Dec 1998
By A Customer
A detective story set in the near future, Mindstar rising is cast against a background of a Britain where the revolution has finished and the People's Constables are no more. The 2nd Gulf war left its scars on many people, one of which is the key figure Greg, one of the few survivors of the Mindstar brigade. Surgical implants of a 'gland' have left Greg with some psychic abilities which aid him in his role as a private detective. This book is one of the most enjoyable reads I had in a long time. Its cyberpunk without the constant net references or an American setting. Buy 3 copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uk Sci fi at its best !!!, 11 Aug 1999
By A Customer
The ten year rule of a far left government and global warming have taken its toll on Britain. The economy is just starting to kick into life again, but who is trying to sabotage Event Horizons plan to make Britain great again ?. Enter Greg Mandell a psi enhanced ex soldier with a decidely shady past. I enjoyed this book immensely. It romps along at a fair old pace with some stunning set pieces . Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic albeit a bit cheesey, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. E. Nzegwu "enwezor" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book that I never tire of reading.
It may not be the epic of the Reality Dysfunction and Hamilton's later works but the Greg Mandel universe is a great one to immerse oneself in.
So many interesting ideas come together for the first time: The Warming and the impact of the environment, the alternative UK future, the weapons tech and the hotrodding.
It's a fun universe and one that I keep coming back to. I'm sure Peter Hamilton does not think this is his best ever book but I think it's an absolute classic and one that I'll read again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British sci-fi, 16 Jan 1999
By A Customer
Having just finished reading The Reality Dysfunction and Neutronium Alchemist I couldn't believe that I had missed picking up these books before. This is his debut novel and is excellent with good characterisations, beleivable technological developments and a very British setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read from England's smallest county., 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
The "Warming" is here. The Nene is the Mersey of the East and Peterborough a sprawling metropolis of foreign and domestic industry. Enter an ex-solider with an enhanced "Psi" capability and the tale begins.
This booked added a dimesion which rarely is seen. A science-fiction novel that is based in a place where no-one else would set one, namely Rutland, South Lincolnshire and North Camdrigeshire. This story has twists and turns with a compelling urge to keep reading. A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Taking the Michael, 21 Jun 2011
I have enjoyed several of Peter Hamilton's books in hard copy but made the mistake of purchasing the Kindle edition of Mindstar Rising. The number of spelling mistakes or proofing errors have overwhelmed his best efforts. Had anyone as much as glanced through the pages before "publishing" the digital version? It seems that the copy was scanned by third rate software and not even checked for the simplest errors. Wen the word 'part' is changed to 'fart' and there are often two typos per page the authors work is ruined. The publishers should be ashamed of this poor effort. Peter, you deserve better than this.Mindstar Rising (Greg Mandel)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good first novel let down by awful Kindle proof-reading., 2 Feb 2011
By 
This is my first Hamilton book, after years of absence from reading novels due to a hectic work schedule.

The book is fairly well developed, a little slow paced and derivative but for a cybrpunk book i is very accessible. There are some very nice touches in the way the author has chosen to set much of the scene in "real" places and has taken the time to consider how time may have affected the locations.

One thing alone has lowered my grading of this book, the absolutely diabolical Kindle transcription. It is clear that after a spell checker was run nobody bothered to proof-read. "Stansted"(airport) is "Stanstead" throughout, "up close" becomes "up dose" and so forth. Sadly on the smallest print size I am having to word-guess practically every five or six pages and it is infuriating.
****.5 for the book.
* for the editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindstar Rising (Greg Mandel 1)
Mindstar Rising (Greg Mandel 1) by Peter F. Hamilton (Paperback - 7 Oct 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews