Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars135
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 20 April 2001
This is Wilbur Smith's only thriller, but with this one book he has surpassed all other writers in the genre. It is peerless, nobody else comes near him. It also marks the beginning of his most fertile period. Anybody who likes this book should go on to read A Falcon Flies and the other books in the Ballantyne series, and then everything else he wrote in the following years. His account of the Matabele wars in the Ballantyne books must be as close as it's possible to get to Homer in modern times; doubtless being born in Zambia helped, nobody growing up in Europe could achieve that epic tone. In his most recent books, sadly, he has fallen off. He still spins a good yarn, but the power and depth have gone. In fact, I wouldn't recommend anything from River God onwards. But to go back to Wild Justice and the following books, if you haven't read them yet, then I envy you: you have hundreds of hours of the most intense reading pleasure ahead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 August 2013
another excellent read from Wilber smith. different to the usual African series but still a very good read.
recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on 7 July 2000
This was the first Wilbur Smith novel I read. I was aged about 15 or 16 and had a long train journey home ahead of me. I stopped off at a newsagents just outside the railway station and selected this from a selection of about 10 other novels in the shop. My reading habbits were never to be the same again. That train journey home was one of the shortest seven hours of my life, from the first page I was gripped and hardly glanced up and the English country side flashing past the train window. This was the first time I had been so gripped by a novel that the outside world faded into almost non existense. A top thriller featuring enough set pieces for a dozen books from lesser authors. Even now 23 years later I find myself waiting impatiently for the next Wilbur Smith.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 October 2011
I am rereading this after many many years. This book was written in a different age but the action is timeless. Once more Wlburs hero's and heroines are all super cool, excellent shots, best drivers, master linguists, stalions in the sack etc. And thats fine by me. The international terrorist based plot is fascinating to read through modern eyes. Still a great read in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Another fine story from Mr. Smith with a complex plot, likable characters and excellent levels of tension. Above all, 'Wild Justice' is full of adventure and deceit and rich detail describing all of the above !! The protagonist, Peter Stride, is a man you aspire to be, a true boyhood hero.

Wilbur Smith takes us on a long journey beginning over the Indian Ocean,taking us to Southern Africa, the UK, Europe, America and even the south Pacific before finally dumping us in the Middle East where the finale doesn't disappoint. You are never sure of the villain until the last few pages (and even then you wonder if all has been revealed) as Stride hunts down the evil genius known only as 'Caliph'.

One thing that I have come to really appreciate about Wilbur Smith are his characters. Heroes and villains alike are well described and at the peak of their game, but above all, it's Smith's ladies. Beautiful and powerful women who are never to be trifled with. I really enjoyed this story and will definitely read more of Wilbur Smith
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 25 January 2002
Wild Justice is as fast a book as only Smith can write it. The action and the sequence of events is so quick and unpredictable that literally doesn't let you take a breath. Smith has this ability to drag you in the center of the action, to make you read as if yourself were a hero of the story. Wild Justice is worth reading for the sake of it. It is definitely not the book that will make you think afterwards but anything you read will remain in your memory as if it was real, as if you were one of the book's heroes. This is Smith's power and that's why most people read his books. In Wild Justice you will be especially fascinated from the love affair that develops between the main characters and its twists. Also, since it is a book about the fight against terrorism, I think it is a very relevant reading in relation to the tragic events in New York last September.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2013
I've read nearly all Wilburs books.This was promising to begin with, but got lost along the way.The ending was predictable.

Hal Courtney,and the Egyptian novels featuring Taita are by some . Considerable . Distance . His best works so far.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010 all the other Wilbur Smith novels I have read over the years. A believable thriller with a good depth of the characters, and justifiably the "good win over the evil". The plot centres on beating the terrorists, and the two main characters, Peter and Magda, continue to weave their tactics through the book. The pair fall in love, but until the last few pages you are a little hesitant to go with them on their romantic journey, just in case there is a fatal twist to the story. And is there?
I enjoyed the pace of the book; yes, a quick tempo, but with a nice balance between narrative and descriptive passages.
The book will remain on my bookshelf, which in itself tells me it is worth a second read....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I really enjoyed this book. A third of the way in to the book it looks like it going to finish but twists into another direction. There are further twists later which keep you guessing. The locations are excellent, not just Africa but France, England and Israel as well. Elements of James Bond are visible throughout, a super villain, a femme fatale and an ex military man of action but tastefully done and set against the terrorist backdrop and energy crisis that was the 1980's. The actions scenes are very good, not quite Andy McNab but excellent non the less. Highly recommended for a holiday read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2013
Wilbur Smith at his best believable story line with great verbal picture. The type of book which we have come to expect and enjoy from a great writer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Vicious Circle (Hector Cross)
Vicious Circle (Hector Cross) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2014)

Desert God (Ancient Egypt 5)
Desert God (Ancient Egypt 5) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 7 May 2015)

Those In Peril (Hector Cross)
Those In Peril (Hector Cross) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 29 Mar. 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.