Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Women of Lilac Street
Annie Murray has a gift of taking you right into the back streets of Birmingham with her books, and this book really does transport you back nearly ninety years with the story of three families living in Lilac Street in the the 1920s. All of them experience poverty. One family has a secret, another is trying to cope with illness and a large family, and the third is coping...
Published 22 months ago by bookworm18

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ~The Woman of Lilac Street
The Woman of Lilac Street
I found this book a depressing especially as a child was made to loose her childhhood
Published 20 months ago by trouty


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Women of Lilac Street, 7 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Women of Lilac Street (Paperback)
Annie Murray has a gift of taking you right into the back streets of Birmingham with her books, and this book really does transport you back nearly ninety years with the story of three families living in Lilac Street in the the 1920s. All of them experience poverty. One family has a secret, another is trying to cope with illness and a large family, and the third is coping with an unhappy marriage. Not all of them will "live happily ever after" though! If you have read Annie s previous BHam books you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Story, 29 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Women of Lilac Street (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It centred around three families on Lilac Street and each one had a story to them. Told their past as well as their life now. The only niggle i had was i wished she'd tied up one of the families more at the end. Wont spoil it by saying which one and it doesn't ruin the book. Would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The women of Lilac Street, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked it but a bit confusing at the start with all the names and families. I felt it could maybe have a follow on as not a proper ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another treat, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another historical treat from AM. Vivid and brilliant characters. A must for loyal fans. Immerse yourself in Brummie history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy this genre for light reading and was impressed with the "blurb". The book is skilfully written with different stories holding the reader's interest.

Overall, it was very enjoyable but a bit turgid at times, though not enough to want to stop reading. Indeed, I kept returning to it - the different character stories did hold my interest.

The first book read by this author and I would chose her again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the reliability of Annie Murray, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend introduced me to Annie Murray and I have loved every one I have read.Thanks Annie..If you're looking for a story which takes you to another place, this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this four stars because it was well written and I liked the twist and the way the author integrated the neighbours.
I would recommend to all women readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ~The Woman of Lilac Street, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Woman of Lilac Street
I found this book a depressing especially as a child was made to loose her childhhood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book touched the heart. The hardships and the births and deaths in such bad times. It felt very true to life. I would recommend this book is read with a box of tissues close by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good holiday reading, especially if you live in Birmingham. It depicts the era well. It does have similarities to author's previous books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Women of Lilac Street
The Women of Lilac Street by Annie Murray (Paperback - 23 May 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews