Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars263
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2013
I really enjoyed this book. It centred around three families on Lilac Street and each one had a story to them. Told their past as well as their life now. The only niggle i had was i wished she'd tied up one of the families more at the end. Wont spoil it by saying which one and it doesn't ruin the book. Would definately recommend it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I liked it but a bit confusing at the start with all the names and families. I felt it could maybe have a follow on as not a proper ending
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Yet another historical treat from AM. Vivid and brilliant characters. A must for loyal fans. Immerse yourself in Brummie history.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I enjoy this genre for light reading and was impressed with the "blurb". The book is skilfully written with different stories holding the reader's interest.

Overall, it was very enjoyable but a bit turgid at times, though not enough to want to stop reading. Indeed, I kept returning to it - the different character stories did hold my interest.

The first book read by this author and I would chose her again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
This is the story of three families and is set in the twenties in working class Birmingham. They live in the same street - hence the title of the book. The first family's story is told from the point of view of 12 year old Aggie Green. She is looking for excitement and wants to be a spy, but in reality her Dad is ill and the family are struggling.

The Taylor family headed by matriarch Phyllis are outwardly decent, god fearing and pillars of the community but they are hiding a secret.

Rose Southgate is in an unhappy marriage. She embarks on a friendship with a man that calls at the house that is to have far reaching consequences.

As ever Annie Murray weaves it all together with her usual attention to detail, and meticulous research, and you are transported back to the time and the story holds your attention totally. You want it to all work out in the end but does it? Highly recommended as always.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Annie Murray has a gift of taking you right into the back streets of Birmingham with her books, and this book really does transport you back nearly ninety years with the story of three families living in Lilac Street in the the 1920s. All of them experience poverty. One family has a secret, another is trying to cope with illness and a large family, and the third is coping with an unhappy marriage. Not all of them will "live happily ever after" though! If you have read Annie s previous BHam books you will enjoy this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I found it very difficult to put the book down, I was sad when Rose' s man was killed, I wanted them to be happy.
It's a book you need to read, when I saw how many chapters there were, I thought it would take me ages to read, but I was wrong, it took a few days, absolutely brilliant,
Janet Davies
Falmouth
Cornwall
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Brilliant as usual. This author knows her stuff. Every book she writes comes from deep inside and bubbles over to give her readers the feeling of being in touch with her main characters, sometimes feeling so frustrated at life throwing the dirt, but so glad it all comes good in the end. Thank you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Not bad, a bit slow at first and a bit vague in parts.
The plot takes time to become clear.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Was really looking forward to reading this book, took a while to actually get into the story but once i did i was hooked.
I feel that the story has been left for a follow up and look forward to see what happens to Aggie when she grows up
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.