Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survivors - talented ones!!
A fabulous book detailing the Nolans own personal views of their lives to date. Its all there too, with every emotion showing the many highs and equally as many lows during their time in the spotlight.
The book is more about their family lives than their showbusiness careers and each girl gives a candid inside story about her own feelings and perspective on the many...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Pete Molloy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1st Time Buyer
It was my first purchase,you get what you pay for!!! Ok for starters!!! Do the job but feel a little cheap
Published 23 months ago by Bentley


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survivors - talented ones!!, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
A fabulous book detailing the Nolans own personal views of their lives to date. Its all there too, with every emotion showing the many highs and equally as many lows during their time in the spotlight.
The book is more about their family lives than their showbusiness careers and each girl gives a candid inside story about her own feelings and perspective on the many major events that have touched their lives.
With some lovely pictures included in the book as well - it's a real must for Nolan fans but more importantly, for anyone who would like to know more about the amazingly talented Nolan ladies. You dont survive in showbiz as long as they have without a lot of talent and Survivors is a great title for many reasons, all becoming clearer with each passing chapter.
Highly recommended - get your copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 16 April 2011
By 
F. Williamson "Witchy fee" (Kirkcaldy, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
As a Nolan fan of 33 years(!!), I didn't think there was much I didn't know about the singing sisters, but having finished this book within 24 hours of having received it in the post, I can honestly say, that it goes to show, that there is always something new to learn!!

I particularly love the way it is written - each sister, starting with the lovely Maureen, giving their own version of their collective lives, and personal stories, from childhood. Although a lot about their childhood is already public knowledge, having already had an official biography published in 1982, the main difference is, that their official biography was written ABOUT them, making it somewhat impersonal, whereas this is all the stories we may have heard about, or read in the papers over the years, from their own perspectives, and that's what makes this book well worth a purchase!

Their own personal traits shine through in each chapter that they have written, and as I was reading it, I could hear each of their voices in my head.

Having met most of the sisters, Maureen most of all, I know for a fact that the Nolan sisters are indeed the most down-to-earth, and friendly people, that they come across in the book to be. They have had fascinating lives, and fascinating careers, and this book is well worth a read, whether you've been a Nolan fan in the past, or not.

I guarantee, once you've started reading, you won't want to put this book down until you've reached the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 10 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my mother who is named in Bernie's chapter, which really made my mums day. I just so happen to be the one who is still her best friend till this day. Brilliant book & makes a great read because its ALL true!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A story of abuse, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does what it says on the tin. Because each sister is telling their own story of their life in show business a lot of it overlaps as they were having the same experiences. It is a very simply written book. I dont want to say anything negative about the book because I feel these girls did not have anything like a normal life. If you forget that you know them so well from being in the public eye,and just view their story as a story of a large family growing up, you might say they were all abused in some way. They never had a good nights sleep when they were young because they were out singing every night and did not get to bed until 2 or 3 am. They were then sent off to school each morning and from I can read this was just taken for granted and no sympathy was ever shown to them.None of them had a proper education and I felt that this made them make some bad choices in later life They all spoke of their love for their Father who struck me as a horrible man and a bully. He was violent, beat their mother and actually sexually abused his oldest daughter. He should have been in jail instead of out crooning Frank Sinatra songs in working mens clubs! He drove them all home from gigs while he was drunk.I think the girls are all still under his influence in their heads because he is now passed away and they still cannot see too much bad in him. This puzzled me a lot. Maybe this is the real message of the book, that you can never off lay family abuse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 24 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
Having been a fan for over 30 years , I was thrilled that the Nolans were going to put down their life stories in a book. I was not disappointed and would recommend this book as a must read . Each one has their own perception of growing up in a showbiz family and its amazing to read the different attitudes even on day to day events . It is well written and has some very poignant stories of troubled times . It just proves that even though they worked their socks off from a very young age and should have been by rights fairly rich by the end of it , indeed they were not due to being ripped off by all and sundry. Ive been proud to be a Nolan fan all these years and this book just confirms my belief in them . Way to go girls !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Nolan Survivors: Our Story, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: A Powerful Story of Secrets, Betrayal, Love and Hope (Paperback)
Good easy reading with real honesty by the family. The chapters are so easy to follow and although there is lots of sadness there is also some good humour along the way and l admire each member of the family for being so open and honest about their lives. Some of the stories are truly inspirational and as l have recently been diagnosed with breast cancer myself, the sharing of both Linda's and Bernie's experiences have been a great inspiration. In particular Bernie's openess and truthful account of her cancer journey, which is so similiar to the one l am currently experiencing has been a great comfort and support to myself and even after finishing the book l often find myself referring back to Bernie's chapters. Bernie's and Linda's courage, strength and positivity is so admirable and l would really recommend others in a similiar situation to read their stories.
Overall, a very good and well written book which l enjoyed reading and one which did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surviving The Nolans, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors: A Powerful Story of Secrets, Betrayal, Love and Hope (Paperback)
Given the highs and lows of their lives, Survivors is a very apt title. Coleen, Bernie, Linda and Maureen take us through their story, which begins with a childhood full of love, but also affected by family violence and the strain of performing at a young age.

Success came early, with guest appearances on many popular tv shows in the mid 1970′s, followed by a string of hit singles. But harder times were round the corner, and as the hits dried up each sister had their own problems to face.

From broken relationships, battles with breast cancer, bankruptcy and family feuds, there have been plenty of dark moments, but the triumphant reunion tour of a few years ago shows that their belief that the best is yet to come could be well founded.

With the sisters alternating chapters, Survivors is a inspirational and warm account of four eventful showbiz lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars personal, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
read-along-with-sue "sue" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: A Powerful Story of Secrets, Betrayal, Love and Hope (Paperback)
I really good read! each chapter is told by a different member of the family and they all interconnect with each other.

I hadn't realized so much sadness had to be endured by these different sisters, three of them having breast cancer and having to fight it. And one loosing her husband in death, its a bit of a fun read and also a tear jerker in parts of their lives. I really got into each sisters head and how each of them felt about things.

Its even touched on the relationships that went wrong between some of the sisters right to date. Such a shame.

I gave this a 5 star as it was very well written and just like they were sat chatting to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 15 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
I have read all of the Nolans biographies and have enjoyed every one of them but this more than the others,its really good to have 4 of them writing about their own experiences in the same time zone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 April 2011
By 
Ms. J. White (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors: Our Story (Hardcover)
wow unable to put down its about them at home not to on the road i cried and laughed, the love,and determenation shines through in all of them,they are there for each other .any fan like me from the middle 70s who have grown up following their careers ,this is for them to read and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survivors: A Powerful Story of Secrets, Betrayal, Love and Hope
£6.39
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews