Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars48
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2010
I hope not.

But after this VERY good story, where do you go with him?

He is invincible......so where do you take a character like that.

(Make him evil......do the Darth Vader thing......imagine it. AIs teaming up with all the other characters across the universe to bring him down - maybe even risking the use of forbidden technology to save life as we know it?)

Anyway, it is very good, but hopefully not the last of Ian.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Great author!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2008
the cormac books have always been very good and this 5th novel brings them all to a conclusion. whilst newcomers might be somewhat bewildered (you really have to read the others first), fans will be able to dive straight back in to the author's wonderful sci fi future - a.i.s, spaceships, battles, carnage on a huge scale are all hallmarks of his universe and this one certainly doesn't disappoint. the writing is clever, the characters nicely developed and the universe is one of the most vivid and fully-realized i have ever encountered - i loved it.
11 comment4 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I like the storyline and having read the series I would suggest that although this stands alone as a novel the Polity series should be read from the beginning to really enjoy this novel at its best. I dislike the graphic details of the death of many of the characters in the book but will persue the rest of his books regardless
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Brilliant!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
This was a very good read, managed to keep me away from watching movies on my PSP. The action is fast and straight to the point, the build-up was in some places wordy, but all round it was a good read. Lets hope for some more of the same when Cormac returns!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Ended on a high , our hero is now the conscience of the AI's he is watching .
But gawd I wish there was more .... Be great if we could have some stories about ex human Golem's Gant etc.

The only thing I would moan about is that it's over .
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
If you like his books you will know whats coming. Mid-way and enjoying this latest romp with old friends and enemies back in unwinable situations on far flung remote destinations and wisecracking AI's getting it right and seemingly wrong. Must read on...
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Fantastic
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2008
My fifth ASHER read and just as good quality as the last 4. A good read, well established story and a fitting conclusion to the series with a more solid ending than the others - will he be following on?
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.