Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bipolar 101
This was the first book I read, on the advice of my psychiatrist, after being diagnosed with bipolar. My life was in shards and this book gave me comfort that I could rebuild it. It also gave me the sense that I was not alone.
One year post diagnosis, I re-read it to discover it is somewhat oversimplistic in it's summary of the illness and consequent social, mental...
Published on 10 Mar. 2004 by gekko

versus
93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, engagingly written but short of the mark.
I found this book to be readable and vivid in parts but did not feel that it described the essence of her subjective experience of manic depression. I would not say that Kay Jamison was particularly 'brave' in going public with her illness as she had already 'come out' to many of her academic and professional colleagues, the people whose reassurance and acceptance she...
Published on 21 April 2002


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Bought on recommendation, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
and I must admit, was not as good as I thought it would be. I thought I would be reading about a woman's journey with bi polar, but I must have had different expectations. Still and interesting read though, but not what I was expecting sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Mar. 2014
By 
D. Frost "D.C.Frost" (York, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
This book answered a lot of questions for me. My late wife suffered most of her life from Manic Depressive Illness, and this book give me an insight into her mind. A must read for anybody interested in Mental Illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Unquiet Mind, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
Another book I'm only half way through. Hoping it will help me understand a relative with problems and so far it is. Book arrived in good condition and promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly incite full, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
My husband is bi polar and this book really showed me it from the side of the sufferers. Frighteningly graphic but a must read if you need to understand it. Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A difficult subject to write about, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a colleague and I am very much looking forward to reading it in order to try and understand the subject matter a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the life of someone with manic depression, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
This book offers a great insight into the life of someone who has manic depressive illness, who knows about it clinically but also from first hand experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 27 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. Mackinnon (Glasgow-Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
This book is excellent - gives you such a real perspective on mental illness, especially as the author has experienced it for herself-highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind broadening, for those who suffer this illness as ..., 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
Mind broadening, for those who suffer this illness as much as those suffering alongside. So much is still not known, misunderstood, or misdiagnosed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful book, 21 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
This book is a very good read letting us in on a personal story dealing with bipolar disorder. It's good to see this from someone who understands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness (Paperback)
I found this a compelling and informative read. It was dispassionate yet very moving. It helped me understand about bi-polar depression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness
An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness by Kay Redfield Jamison (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews