Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bipolar 101
This was the first book I read, on the advice of my psychiatrist, after being diagnosed with bipolar. My life was in shards and this book gave me comfort that I could rebuild it. It also gave me the sense that I was not alone.
One year post diagnosis, I re-read it to discover it is somewhat oversimplistic in it's summary of the illness and consequent social, mental...
Published on 10 Mar. 2004 by gekko

versus
93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, engagingly written but short of the mark.
I found this book to be readable and vivid in parts but did not feel that it described the essence of her subjective experience of manic depression. I would not say that Kay Jamison was particularly 'brave' in going public with her illness as she had already 'come out' to many of her academic and professional colleagues, the people whose reassurance and acceptance she...
Published on 21 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bipolar 101, 10 Mar. 2004
By 
gekko (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
This was the first book I read, on the advice of my psychiatrist, after being diagnosed with bipolar. My life was in shards and this book gave me comfort that I could rebuild it. It also gave me the sense that I was not alone.
One year post diagnosis, I re-read it to discover it is somewhat oversimplistic in it's summary of the illness and consequent social, mental and pharmacological effects. It also possibly even over-confident in terms of the return to 'normality' one can hope to achieve, though I admit it is early days for me.
But by goodness, I needed it's message then, I still need it today from time to time, when the going gets tough. It is a good book, a good start. Don't make this the only book you read, but please make it one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably helpful, 28 Feb. 2007
By 
Shelagh (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
After being diagnosed with manic depression (bipolar disorder as it is known these days) I felt like I was desperately flailing around for some support and understanding.

The sad truth is that no matter how good your doctors are or how understanding your family is, you feel as if no one really gets what's happening to you. "An Unquiet Mind" was recommended to me by a fellow manic depressive and listening to her was one of the best moves I've ever made. I was so relieved that someone else had a similar (no one's is ever the same) experience and more importantly had managed to come out the other side !!! What a moment of hope.

Without a doubt I would recommend that anyone who has depression of any form, or knows/lives with someone who has depression reads this book. It'll help stop the world from spinning out of control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating, thought-provoking and revealing., 13 May 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
Jamison provides the definitive first-person narrative of the effect of manic depression, and all mood disorders. She manages to intelligently discuss medicating an 'uniquiet mind' whilst not reducing the questioning this invokes. She combines a lucid account of psychotic and depressive symptoms and their pull, whilst not down-playing the suffering this produces for sufferer and family. Most importantly, she gives the sufferer hope that extreme traits can be moderated whilst remaining the same person. The book is a superb read, and the issues it raises can be extrapolated to everyone's life, not just those of the mentally ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helping you to understand, 6 Aug. 2006
By 
lmhh (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
Living with someone who is living with mental illness is not an easy place to be. This book will not stop the roller coaster you sometimes feel you live on, but it will give you insight which might help in coping. with the impact As someone who has lived in this position for 20 years I recommend this book and - for the very darkest days - anything by Dorothy Rowe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to get a glimpse of what it's like to have bipolar?, 2 Jun. 2006
By 
Eclipse "suz29" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
This is a fantastic true story of Kay Redfield Jamison determination to live her life for herself rather than give into illness. If you have bipolar(like myself)you will find this book inspirational and it will leave you with a feeling of hope.

This book genuinely helped me come to terms with my diagnosis. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who want to step into the shoes of someone dealing with bipolar or to gain piece of mind that bipolar needn't dictate you life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Well that explains a lot"., 21 Nov. 2002
By 
James McGinley (Glasgow, Strathclyde United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
A must have book for anyone suffering manic depression. Having suffered MD for 14 years I could never fully explain what it was like. Kay Jamison does this brilliantly. She has helped me understand the importance of Lithium and Psychotherapy to stay well.
In short she has given me hope, for which I will be forever grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My own madness, 2 Sept. 2004
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
This was the first book I read about Bipolar Affective Disorder (Manic Depression) after my own diagnosis and near loss of my own life! I found that at times it was like looking in the mirror as Kay and I seemed to be sharing so many experiences. It helped me to understand what was happening to me and it helped friends and family to understand the illness and why I had behaved in such bizarre ways in the past. I wasn't alone - when I first purchased the book I had to give up university because I just couldn't function with the disorder - now like the author, I'm back at university, and this time as a mature student training as a registered nurse (mental health). Definately a book worth reading if you have BP or are supporting someone who is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unquiet Mind, 5 May 2009
By 
Peter Habermann (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
An Unquiet Mind The subject of Bipolar is a condition that one of my four daughters suffers with. As a family we have never been told how best to deal with it, how to be supportive and what it must be like. This book has provided the answers to many questions and is now regarded as the most frequently read manual. A thought provoking insight into the troubled mind and a must for everybody who has contact with this problem, whether it be as a patient or family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and moving, 21 May 2007
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
An excellent read, a remarkable account of a journey through manic-depressive illness. Anyone diagnosed with manic-depression or has an interest will find this a moving, eye opening and inspiring book. Kay Jamison's shares her honest heartfelt thoughts and feelings, a lady to be truly admired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful insight, 29 Sept. 2008
This review is from: An Unquiet Mind (Paperback)
This book gives a very interesting insight into how people can live with a bi-polar mind. The fact she is very successful and appears to cope with life might surprise some but then when you look below at some of the compulsions the reality of this illness shines through.

Yes the book is a bit over the place but that is how the mind works. This might help anyone who lives or knows anyone with this illness. It also gives a good insight into how difficult it is to medicate and why the patient might rebel from medication.

If you want an introduction to the world of someone whose mind doesn't tick quite the same as most people rather than or before getting medical books then please have a look at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness
An Unquiet Mind: A memoir of moods and madness by Kay Redfield Jamison (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews