Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asher at his best!
I, like some others found a certain ambivalence towards the first "Owner" novel, "The Departure" Not down to Neal's writing, but the new universe we were in. I had become so comfortable with the polity that I initially couldn't settle into this new place and time. As the action increased along with the body count, I felt much happier. Now with the second book "Zero...
Published 20 months ago by Bascule

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars getting there
A lot of reviews prefer this book to the first. For me this wasn't as good as the first . However I like the future world Asher creates and some of the concepts are all too easily implemented even with today's technology . I will buy the third book ...
Published 6 months ago by Simon Harris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asher at his best!, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, like some others found a certain ambivalence towards the first "Owner" novel, "The Departure" Not down to Neal's writing, but the new universe we were in. I had become so comfortable with the polity that I initially couldn't settle into this new place and time. As the action increased along with the body count, I felt much happier. Now with the second book "Zero Point", it feels just right. Neal is on top form, the story flows along nicely, the body count is astronomical, the action good and gritty. The politics is once again going to offend certain people but Google "Agenda 21" and see if "Zero Point" doesn't seem a little less far fetched.

All in all a cracking read, possibly one of his best! If I could pre-order book 3 today I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil on top form as always, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Damon Doyle "damonde" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neil writes another sf stormer in a new universe. This second book continues on straight after the ending of the first "Owner" novel which is rare in itself and as usual with Neils books its a roller coaster ride of action, politics, personal relationships and a very interesting take on technology. It reads easily and the action never relents. Alan Saul the central character is an interesting mix of cold logic and human emotions. As said before in another review if part three was avalable now id buy it.

One notable subject in this book which is the most though provoking of all is Neils take on the future of Earth. You can see the extrapolation from these times of austerity to the dystopian future Neil paints so well in this series and its frightening. Highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Science Fiction, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first owner novel was a massive change in scope for Asher. Being constrained to one solar system has not stifled his prowess however. The stakes get ever higher in this next book and if you like space warfare things ramp up very quickly. Looking forward to the next instalment and the direction it will take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once more, with feeling, 18 May 2013
By 
Gareth Simon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2) (Paperback)
Zero Point, Neal Asher, 564pp, 2013/2012

This is the second instalment of the `Owner' sequence of novels. These are set on a near-future Earth where the European Union bureaucracy has spread out and taken over the world, stifling creativity, allowing the population to grow to 18 billion, and establishing itself as the ruling elite in the worst possible Stalinist tradition (or the best possible Stalinist tradition, depending on your view of humanity and bureaucracy). Fortunately, thanks to advances in technology, the superman has appeared (as this is a Neal Asher novel) and cut off the head of the bureaucracy - the Committee, killed many millions of its senior staff, stolen a space station, and set off to Mars to look for his long-lost sister - see Departure.

In this volume, we meet a survivor of the bureaucratic leadership who immediately sets out to re-establish control of Earth, taking advantage of the chaos caused by the destruction of the rest of the hierarchy to unleash a manufactured plague that kills off eight or ten billion of the `zero asset' population - those at the bottom of the social ladder who contribute nothing to the system - while blaming it on our erstwhile hero, Adam Saul, and quickly demonises him in the best Big Brother tradition (the other one (though now you come to mention it...)). She quickly establishes her control by killing off her rivals, and anyone who knows about her control over the plague - the `Scourge' - and starts rebuilding the damaged ecosystems of the planet, which usually involves killing off a few hundred million people here and there when no-one is looking. Unfortunately, the world's gene bank was on board that stolen space station, and so has to be retrieved. Fortunately, as mentioned in the previous episode, the late Committee Chairman (or former dictator of Earth, depending on your view of bureaucracy) had been building a space warship for emergencies, which is soon put into commission and sent off after the runaway space station.

This is all very Neal Asher, with advanced killer technology, population megadeaths, and lots of individuals meeting gory ends as the new Dictator of Earth does her best to save the planet from centuries of bureaucratic incompetence and human stupidity and greed (depending on your view of humanity and bureaucracy) while killing anyone who annoys her. This could all just be a satire on the rise of bureaucratic international agencies and the loss of freedom and power of the individual who must resort to terrorism in order to overthrow the oppressive state, something that we can see happening in Europe and may already have happened in the USA - and Russia and China never even got past the front door of the western way of life - which a lot of readers might not realise is just what a lot of right-wing loonies keep warning us about: quite worrying isn't it?

Anyway, unfettered by bureaucratic control, both parties are able to harness new technologies that have been bubbling away just below the attention-level of the previous authorities to give us space battles, killer robots and new forms of cybernetic life - AI was so last century - while moving the grand story forward, ready for the next instalment - Jupiter War.

This is an excellent read - helped if you have read the previous volume, but it is not essential, as many of the characters in that were killed off, and we have a new set of baddies established in this - though you have to admit that their motives are good, for isn't `saving the planet' worth sacrificing other people for?

If you are a regular reader of Neal Asher's work than it is all here, advanced technology, lots of killing, super-heroic figures who will save us all in the end - though the end is not yet nigh - even some intelligent robots turn up, and all as well-written as ever. It does seem as if his Cultur..., sorry Polity novels had reached a technological level - singularity, a term used in this novel - where there was nowhere left to go except to evolve. This series begins at a technological ground level and starts to work its way up, giving the author the chance to do it all again, but not in a repetitive way, while also encouraging readers to vote No to Brussells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I hope Book 3 isn't too far away, 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since my favourite author (Asimov)died I struggled for sometime to find replacements Neal Asher is one of them. The key to good science fiction for me is story first, science second and Neal tells a good story but then backs it up with credible science. I look forward to the last in the series and wonder which of two directions the story will go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good brain candy, 12 Aug 2012
I tend to regard Neal Asher as a frequent provider of dense brain candy. His writing and characterisations are technically poor (though much better technician onwards) - however his books are also tremendously fun - not good for you just nice and fun. I just devour them. I typically manage to finish one of his books in a day (and that includes work!) - this does involve being very antisocial for 24 hours and losing a bit of sleep!

Zero point carries on from the fantastically nihilistic first book in this series. Every terrible possible manifestation of centralised socialism and totalitarianism is carried onto the most extreme extent - and then some. What makes this so entertaining is the way in which you can see apply the prinicples behind these attrocities every day from the the way in which little hitlers are born and raised in meaningless beurocracies to the dumbing down of education systems.

It is still a little hard to identify with Alan Saul - there is very little to like about him other than his ability to 'kill the bad guys'. Of more interest in the novel is the slippery slide into insanity from the new rulers of earth and the ongoing martian plot. Newer characters on argus station have the potential to develop into something really quite cool in the third novel.

if you are expecting something substantial in the genre of scifi e.g. early (phlebus aside) iain m banks then you will be disapointed

However if what you want is trashy fun scifi then you can't get better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, 13 Aug 2012
By 
DMM (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read from Asher, and gets into my top 5 for his works. I am a huge fan of Neal Asher, particular his refusal to confirm to SF stereotypes and grandstand moralising. A great book for conflict and moral dilemmas but agree with some that the characters need a bit more depth and the Alex sub story sort of lost me. However, his grasp of human nature and how so called logical and righteous people can inflict such misery on others (man's inhumanity to man) is born out by history. Heartily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marquis de Sade goes Sci-Fi, 7 Mar 2014
By 
M Rabson "MartinR" (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first book in the series I enjoyed very much, the world Asher portrays is vivid and although dark quite fascinating and I felt myself shuddering at how I could imagine it becoming reality.
Much the same for book two, but descriptions of all the killing and torture was just to detailed and upsetting for my sensitive soul and found myself skipping through these events, didn't effect my enjoyment of the book as a whole, so I look forward to book three...
Loved the Sci-Fi aspect, disliked the suffering and torture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2) (Paperback)
I read the first part and this one is a gift. They told me it was very good a little bit grim; but good. Personally N. Asher have become one of my fav Sci-Fi writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good as the first., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2) (Paperback)
I left it quite a while to go for the second book as the first was so good I was wary of being disappointed, needn't have worried it was great. I can't wait for the final one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb33724b0)

This product

Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2)
Zero Point (Owner Trilogy 2) by Neal Asher (Paperback - 14 Mar 2013)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews