Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Winder does it again...
Another idiosyncratic, rollicking book, dealing with a highly complicated not to say confused subject: the history of the Habsburgs. Simon Winder achieves the virtually impossible: he manages to throw light on while retaining our interest in the doings of this family who exercised such enormous influence over large chunks of Europe through the ages. Obviously a sound...
Published 10 months ago by K. Catleugh

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading but a bit of a disappoinment
Bought this on the strength of Germania, and it does not compare well. The humour of the first book is lacking, as is an overall perspective - much of the narrative seems unconnected chapters. Interesting enough but not as good as expected.
Published 10 months ago by cpsw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe (Hardcover)
A stunning book in terms of research, insight and readability. I shall never forget some of the imagery, and what an understanding of modern Europe it draws from the horrors of the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Germania, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe (Hardcover)
Less successful than Germania, the patchwork approach is more of an irritation here. The author avoids telling us much about the more recent Habsburgs but the detail about the Holy Roman Empire became tedious to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough tongue in cheek, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Christopher Truss (Birmingham, Al USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe (Hardcover)
to make one of the most boring complex era's of western civilization readable. The Hapsburg Empire??? The Holy Roman Empire. I am actually enjoying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reading. Warmly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 13 Dec 2013
By 
R. Foster "Roger Foster" (Scarborough, North Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable and amusing approach to history, even if it is at times hard to know quite where or when you are meant to be.

I feel wiser, and a little better informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
he is a good writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rambling, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Subject seemed intriguing but the text seems rambling and confusing. Follows broad chronology but leaps about between obscure places with little background information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Peter Johns (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Managed to keep what could be a dry subject really readable. I had to read it again as soon as I had finished to try a get a clear picture of events in my head. It all seems a bit of a blur the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great subject, 7 May 2014
By 
Richard Berkeley-Dennis "Upstage" (Warsaw Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe (Hardcover)
But, self-consciously told. You wont remember much about the Hapsburgs but you will remember that Simon Winder is probably a party bore best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bryson without the humour, 18 Mar 2014
By 
AJS Sharples - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe (Hardcover)
The one star is for the historical material that is buried deep within the endlessly matey pile of style. The Hapsburg lands are desperately short of English studies in English, especially with the "border lands" beginning to move again, as in the Ukraine. There are interesting facts shovelled into this book and if you like Jeremy Clarkson you'll probably enjoy it. Others should wait for another Danube waterbus to come along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe
Danubia: A Personal History of Habsburg Europe by Simon Winder (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2013)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews