Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cave baby
Julia Donaldson has been busy lately, with both this and "Zog" out at almost the same time. The illustrations are by the wonderful Emily Gravett, which gives a slightly different feel to her work than usual. Cave Baby lives in his cave, with his parents who create wondeful paintings on the walls. When Cave Baby gets hold of the paint pots, his parents are cross at the...
Published on 10 Aug. 2010 by S Riaz

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Illustration amazing, substandard writing
I love Julia Donaldson books and have been blown away by the quality of illustration in Emily Gravett's works. So this should have been a match made in heaven.

Unfortunately, it's Julia who lets the side down. There is no real plot or development, no exciting discovery or twist, and the rhyme is somewhat pedestrian. He worries about being thrown to the big...
Published on 5 Jun. 2011 by TM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cave baby, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
Julia Donaldson has been busy lately, with both this and "Zog" out at almost the same time. The illustrations are by the wonderful Emily Gravett, which gives a slightly different feel to her work than usual. Cave Baby lives in his cave, with his parents who create wondeful paintings on the walls. When Cave Baby gets hold of the paint pots, his parents are cross at the mess he makes. That night a mammoth comes and takes Cave Baby away. At first, Cave Baby is afraid, but then they go to the mammoths cave and he is allowed to paint all he wants, before mammoth takes him back home - after playtime is over. The story is quite simple and celebrates the creativity of babies in all their joyous messy ways! Great book, lovely story and beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Julia Donaldson Masterpiece!, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
Julia Donaldson never dissapoints! I am a real fan of all her picture books and have always thought that her cooperation with Axel Scheffler was a match made in children-books-heaven. So, when I saw that this book was illustrated by Emily Gravett, I was at first a little apprehensive. No matter how great Julia Donaldson's stories are, if the illustrations don't match up, I won't buy the book. However, after browsing through 'Cave Baby' in one of the stores, I was besotted! Beautiful! Your collection would not be complete without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 12 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
This was an instant hit with my three year old and myself. the story is great - i think Julia Donaldson is a genius, but it was the illustrations we really loved - they are absolutely beautiful and so clever - we enjoyed searching for the big brown bears - one of them took a double take to see that it wasn't what it appeared to be! buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia and Emily-a new team, 30 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
I loved this book and Emily's illustrations rival Julia's usual great illustrator, Axel Scheffler. The only critisism is that on some of the pages, the print is difficult to read since it is on dark pages. I read books to primary grade children and like to hold the book up while I read. This print keeps me from doing that. Julia Donaldson is my favorite author and doesn't get the recognition she deserves here in the U.S. I have her last four books and have yet to see them published here.
Love her website and share it with all my favorite little people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cave Baby, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
Mrs. A. M. C. Smith (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
This book is just wonderful. Our five year old granddaughter has been going to see cave drawings since she was a baby!! Hence, she loved it as did her Mum and Dad!!

The words so descriptive and funny and the illustrations wonderful and the difference between the dark and bright pages underline the story to a great extent.

Well done to both the Author and Illustrator - books by both have been bought in the past and this book is up there with the best of them.

Recommdation is given unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, 19 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
Got this from the library first as wasn't sold on it, after a quick flip through in the shops. But after reading it once, which turned into 3 readings in a row!!! We bought our own copy. The illustrations are wonderful, full of little hidden details that denotes a truly good picture book. The story rhyme is great, and so easily committed to memory, ' if you don't take care, a mammoth's going to throw you to the big brown bear' quickly became part of our vernacular. The story's repeated rhyme allows for full participation from the little ones, with full panto vigor!!! the 2yr old only wanted a mammoth on the birthday cake. we got 4 months bedtime reading, every night, from it. And luckily no wall paintings either!!! As an aside, another reviewer mentioned negative depictions of mum and dad in it, I didn't get that feel at all, mum washes off the baby's painting on the wall and dad wags his finger; nothing sinister or degrading there i found, and i'm pretty sensitive about depictions of figures of authority for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated Kids Book, 22 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
We bought this for our 2 year old daughter for Christmas and she loves it. It is a beautifully illustrated book by Emily Gravett with a good story by Julia Donaldson. The book is hard back (A4 size so a bit big for little ones to hold themsleves). When you remove the paper cover, the exterior of the book is also illustrated which is a nice touch. One to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's good to be creative, 16 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
I love the message in this book that it is good to be creative. When the mother scrubs out the cave baby's additions to her paintings my heart breaks, but he gets his chance to shine when the mammoth takes him to decorate his cave with his colourful paintings. It is a good message to children and parents alike (unless you paranoid your kids will start painting on your walls!). Emily Gravett's illustrations re wonderful as usual. However, I think I might love this book more than them as it hasn't been requested that often but I am hoping it will grow on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect solution!, 14 Sept. 2010
By 
R. Woodhouse (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cave Baby (Hardcover)
Beauitful illustration, my children love this book. Emily done a very good job and make the story come alive. This story depicted the parents' nightmare very well, and have found a perfect solution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 21 May 2011
This review is from: Cave Baby (Paperback)
My 15 month old son adores this book - he loves pointing out the baby on each page, does splashing actions for the mammoths' bath, and does his best elephant impression every time he sees a mammoth. It's a delightful little story with beautiful illustrations that I think he'll continue to enjoy for quite a while. Though I hope it won't encourage him to draw on the walls...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cave Baby
Cave Baby by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 6 May 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews