Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of Herbert book
Having previously read books such as "The Fog", "The Rats" and "The Dark" by Herbert, I found this book to be very different from the type of storie he has written in the past. The other books focuses on gore, violence and mass-destruction, whereas Moon tended to be more syspence-and-mystery type horror.

Jonathan Childes is a physic who helps the police...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by marky77

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I have read several of James Herbert's books in the past and have always been entertained, but I'm sorry to say that Moon really falls short on everything. The dialogue is cringeworthingly unnatural, the characters really quite flat and uninteresting, and the plot predictable, simplistic, and frankly a little bit boring. There are one or two sections that DID grip me...
Published 22 months ago by T. L. Robson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of Herbert book, 29 Mar 2009
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moon (Paperback)
Having previously read books such as "The Fog", "The Rats" and "The Dark" by Herbert, I found this book to be very different from the type of storie he has written in the past. The other books focuses on gore, violence and mass-destruction, whereas Moon tended to be more syspence-and-mystery type horror.

Jonathan Childes is a physic who helps the police investigate matters such as child murder. When he is called to an island to investigate strange goings on he witnesses a series of brutal murders, and shares a frightening psychic connection to the killer.

Good story when kept me gripped and had a good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 16 Jan 2013
By 
T. L. Robson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon (Paperback)
I have read several of James Herbert's books in the past and have always been entertained, but I'm sorry to say that Moon really falls short on everything. The dialogue is cringeworthingly unnatural, the characters really quite flat and uninteresting, and the plot predictable, simplistic, and frankly a little bit boring. There are one or two sections that DID grip me (though I'll keep them to myself to avoid spoiling anyone) but as a whole I was very unimpressed. I wanted to give Moon 3 stars, but couldn't bring myself to give a slightly below average book a slightly above average score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read - classic James Herbert, 24 Jun 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Kindle Edition)
I was quite surprised to find I had not read this book, I had avoided reading it for a number of years assuming I had already done so, so had a nice surprise. The book itself is classic James Herbert - in this case, the hero Jon Childe is living and working on an un-named, assumed Channel Island to escape from the rat race after events a few years previously, when he was involved, due to his psychic powers, in helping police catch a particularly gruesome serial killer. Life since then has trundled along nicely until the visions start again ...

Not a particularly unique storyline but James Herbert is a skilled storyteller and doesn't fail the reader here, the plot is engaging and the story moves along at a nice, suspense filled pace to the climax - you keep reading because you just have to know what happens next. The characters were realistic and well rounded, with the exception of Amy's father who did tend to come across as the stereotypical over protective father. The love angle between Jon and Amy was pleasant reading and provided a nice contrast to the more sinister happenings, given them more impact when they did appear (I don't like a shock a page, I like a bit of normal real life in between gruesome gory goings on)

Only a couple of things didn't sit right with me, there were two major parts of the story - including the surprise twist at the end which, although well written, lost their impact slightly purely because James Herbert, in later novels, used the same basic ideas again which just doesn't quite sit right when you are reading it in this day and age, especially for the twist at the end which I believe should be unimagineable and unique every time. In 1985, of course, it would have had more impact as being more original and that is how I have tried to view it here.

On the whole, however, it does seem to have stood the test of time, and is well worth reading, it will draw you in and keep you interested to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING TO MOON OVER..., 22 Nov 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moon (Audio Cassette)
Having read "The Fog", an absolutely terrific book by this author, as well as "The Magic Cottage", an alternately charming and scary book by this same author, I looked forward to reading this one. I am sorry to say that this book does not even begin to compare to "The Fog" nor to "The Magic Cottage", books that are superior in every way to this effort.
The plot is simple. A schoolteacher, Jonathan Childes, has certain psychic abilities over which he has little control. He can apparently meld his mind with that of a sadistic killer. Unfortunately for him, this killer is aware of Childes' mental intrusion and deduces who and where Childes is.
Some tension is created by having Childes become a suspect in a series of murders of which Childes' is aware due to his mind meld with the actual killer. His knowledge is a double edged sword. The killer then decides to bring his handiwork a little too close to home for Childes' tastes, and the plot thickens.
This book is mildly entertaining at best, as the tension does not really hold up. Moreover, the ending is somewhat ridiculous and disappointing, reminiscent of a promise unfulfilled. The author is certainly capable of better. If one is looking for a book of unrelenting horror, then this is not the book for which one is looking. It is more of a murder mystery with supernatural overtones, and a somewhat mediocre one, at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why have I missed this one?, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Kindle Edition)
All things are individual and subjective. As a long time Herbert fan I thought I had read all of his works including this. Seems I was wrong.
I have read some if the other reviews for this and other books by the author, some I agree with some not.
In my opinion this is one of the best. Forget intricate storylines, in depth characterisations if you want a plain and simple Herbert style horror, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping horror story, wonderfully performed., 13 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Moon (Audio Cassette)
I found the story to be very much a fun horror story. Not so stereotypical that it was Vincent Price camp at all, but more in a traditional -- small community on an island trapped with a secret murderer in their midst -- sort of thing. It also has elements of some more recent horror tales. "[He sees] dead people."
Our hero Jonathan Childs, has visions. In the opening scene, he is underwater diving when he suddenly finds himself swimming in blood. He knows it's not real, but it takes him by surprise, as it's been years since he was last siezed by such an event. The last time it happened, it ended his first marriage to Fran, took him away from his daughter Gabrielle and ended his career in computers. Now he makes a living teaching computers at a girl's school on an island. He had thought himself rid of the visions, had hoped he repressed the "gift." He had been on the road to finding peace at last.....
The new visions, as with the last, uncover the evil doings of a murderer. Childs is torn between keeping his new found peace -- trying to ignore the nightmare -- and helping the police to uncover the mystery and stop the killings. Surprisingly, his new love Aimée, a fellow teacher, turns out to be less fearful and more open to his "gift" than his wife had been, than indeed he is. Will the latest deluge of nightmarish visions undo his life yet again, or can he find his way through it, solve the mystery and accept who he is?
Mr. Herbert's narrative and James Frain's compelling portrayals are all that is needed to create the wonderfully dark and gripping atmosphere of Moon. There is no eerie music to listen to, no shadowy figures to look at, no spectacular special effects other than James Frain's voice, and yet all the elements are there. The literature is brought brilliantly to life as Mr. Frain creates a legion of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A MURDER MYSTERY WITH A SUPERNATURAL TWIST..., 28 Feb 2004
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moon (Hardcover)
Having read "The Fog", an absolutely terrific book by this author, I looked forward to reading this one. I am sorry to say that this book does not even begin to compare to "The Fog", a book that is superior in every way to this effort.
The plot is simple. A schoolteacher, Jonathan Childes, has certain psychic abilities over which he has little control. He can apparently meld his mind with that of a sadistic killer. Unfortunately for him, this killer is aware of Childes' mental intrusion and deduces who and where Childes is.
Some tension is created by having Childes become a suspect in a series of murders of which Childes' is aware due to his mind meld with the actual killer. His knowledge is a double edged sword. The killer then decides to bring his handiwork a little too close to home for Childes' tastes, and the plot thickens.
This book is mildly entertaining at best, as the tension does not really hold up. Moreover, the ending is somewhat ridiculous and disappointing, reminiscent of a promise unfulfilled. The author is certainly capable of better. If one is looking for a book of unrelenting horror, then this is not the book for which one is looking. It is more of a murder mystery with supernatural overtones, and a somewhat mediocre one, at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Kindle Edition)
A good story, just wanted to keep picking up the story to see how it ended. I always enjoy James Herbert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the faint hearted, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Kindle Edition)
Excellent another frightening read from the master without a doubt horror at its best another one to put into my top 100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over 20 years I have read every James Herbert book. I am reviewing my top 5 favourites of his and this is one of them, 27 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Newcastle upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moon (Kindle Edition)
Jon escapes to a quite Island off the coast of the uk, hoping to escape the horrors in his mind.
Jon is psychically linked to a serial killer and he witnesses his horrific crimes. The police don't believe him, believing his knowledge of the crimes make him their prime suspect.
Suspenseful, chilling and scary as hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon
Moon by James Herbert (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews