Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail James Herbert
The master of horror has been brought back into my life like a ghost from my past! I read all his books as a teenager and I never tire of the way he can bring his books to life through words and a lot of imagination.
Published 14 months ago by Angela Dawson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Jonah.
The Jonah is an enjoyable yarn from James Herbert, but like a couple of the other reviewers here I would have to question whether this is a horror or supernatural story or whether it is a plain old fashioned thriller.
In fact it is the actual composition of the book rather than the storyline itself that has led me to this conclusion. The first of the book is all...
Published on 14 Jun 2005 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail James Herbert, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
The master of horror has been brought back into my life like a ghost from my past! I read all his books as a teenager and I never tire of the way he can bring his books to life through words and a lot of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates, drugs and a ghoul!, 21 May 2002
This review is from: The Jonah (Paperback)
I loved The Jonah. Set in a sleepy village, one gets the vibe of that old Hammer movie The Reptile.
This is a departure for Herbert, but an excellent one. If you want out-and-out horror this isn't for you, however, if you like your horror thought-provoking and intelligent, this along with Sepulchre and Others, is what you're looking for.
The Jonah is a subtle novel that builds up to the usual Herbert finale, and what with pirates, drugs and a ghoul, you certainly get your money's worth from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regarding the jonah, 11 Feb 2014
By 
debby (birkenhead,merseyside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book,as is everything by James herbert. Its a real good read and I highly recommend it.go on,you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Jonah., 14 Jun 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jonah (Paperback)
The Jonah is an enjoyable yarn from James Herbert, but like a couple of the other reviewers here I would have to question whether this is a horror or supernatural story or whether it is a plain old fashioned thriller.
In fact it is the actual composition of the book rather than the storyline itself that has led me to this conclusion. The first of the book is all plot background and story setting. We see detective Jim Kelso transferred into the drugs squad after a run of bad luck incidences in the serious crime squad and we then see his subsequent posting to the small coastal town to investigate a possible drug trafficking incident. This part of the book is pure thriller, competently written and thoroughly enjoyable as is the plot development when customs and excise officer Ellie Shepherd is assigned to the same case. The blossoming romance between the two main characters, whilst being obvious and not unexpected is never the less well written and a great addition to the story line.
What happens then is a series of flashbacks to Kelso's past showing his run of bad luck experiences and strange goings to those who threaten him. Whilst again they are well written I don't really like this well-worn Herbert tactic of interspersing the live action with the flashbacks. The flashbacks tend to be quite short and as such you don't really get into them before being transported back to the present time.
Likewise at the conclusion to the book, in order to set the scene with the huge storm hitting the coast, Herbert writes several short snippets of scene description as various new characters fall foul of the bad weather. Again because they are short you don't connect with the characters and although they passages are relatively exciting you don't really care what happens.
The final twist in the tale is good although it is only at this very last gasp you actually get any pure horror writings.
All in all and fun and enjoyable book but by no means a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More thriller than horror, 23 Aug 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Jonah (Paperback)
Even more than The Spear, The Jonah is a book packaged as a horror novel, yet reads for much of its length like a straightforward thriller. The supernatural element concerns the lead character Kelso, with the fact that he is a Jonah (i.e.: a walking bad luck magnet for those around him) being due to the malevolent influence of the ghost of his stillborn twin.
For the bulk of the novel however this aspect is kept very much in the background, with only a few flashbacks to previous tragedies in Kelso's past peppered amongst the regular chapters. Instead the first 200 pages concentrate on policeman Kelso going undercover in a fishing town trying to uncover a drug ring. This section is readable but fairly standard thriller territory, with no new ideas or twists. The initially frost pairing with a female agent that leads to a romance is obvious and predictable, and the identity of the local drug lord is never really in doubt.
It's only really in the last 50 pages that The Jonah picks up, with some great action scenes courtesy of some freak weather conditions, (though this does seem a little like a convenient deus ex machina to save the hero from otherwise certain doom). The final full-fledged appearance of Kelso's malevolent twin is fittingly macabre though, and there's a nice sting in the tale ending.
Some of Herbert's novels, even when enjoyable, can seem a little formulaic, and to his credit The Jonah doesn't feel like a retread of any of his previous books, but for my own personal tastes I could have done with a little more supernatural horror, and a little less mainstream police investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whale of a Good Book, 27 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: The Jonah (Paperback)
'The Jonah' is a not a thing, but an undercover Detective called Jim Kelso. Throughout his life and career, bad luck has followed him to the point were other police personnel are no longer willing to partner him. It's this bad luck that has forced Kelso to go undercover in the back of beyond to investigate the strange drugging of a normal family. Is Kelso's bad luck all in his imagination or are there supernatural powers at play?

I really enjoyed 'The Jonah' even though it was not the horror novel that I expected from James Herbert. In fact, it is a thriller and only small parts hint at something other worldly. Herbert is deft at creating a good, fast thriller and as a reader you care what happens to Kelso. The mystery itself was also well written and although the book is almost 30 years old I felt that it was not too dated. I recommend this to thriller fans that want something a bit different - Herbert fans may find it too much of a departure from the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jane, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
Brill book as expected by this author. I expected a second book but we will wait, maybe one day soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
I have read nearly all the James Herbert books and although there are others I prefer this has a good story and twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
Love the story line as a man thinking he is cursed/or just having bad luck.but finally finding out the true meaning of his life brilliant.the pace of the book keeps you turning page after page.would highly recomend.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EDGE OF THE SEAT, 26 July 2013
By 
Andy (Worcester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonah (Kindle Edition)
This is one of his best books without a doubt. The excitement just never stops from start to finish. The last few chapters rush by in a blur leaving one short of breath. Do not want to spoil anything but the ending was a real surprise and a little unnerving. Overall, this is a fast paced exciting book that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

The Jonah
The Jonah by James Herbert (Paperback - 13 Sep 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews