Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SURVIVOR
James Herbert is (was) a talented author and I will miss his terrifying stories and his scary characters but I never get bored of his books. This is a good story and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes a real horror story.
KARRIE.
Published 16 months ago by Karrie D

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average ghostly chiller.
Folowing on from the huge successes of THE RATS and THE FOG, James Herbert came up with this interesting story of a Boeing 747 crashing near the little college town Of Eton, shortly after its take-off. All passengers are dead, horribly mutilated and burned. All except one, our hero, Keller, who walks away from the crash virtually unharmed. The story follows his efforts to...
Published on 6 Sep 2012 by Quetzalcoatl78


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average ghostly chiller., 6 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
Folowing on from the huge successes of THE RATS and THE FOG, James Herbert came up with this interesting story of a Boeing 747 crashing near the little college town Of Eton, shortly after its take-off. All passengers are dead, horribly mutilated and burned. All except one, our hero, Keller, who walks away from the crash virtually unharmed. The story follows his efforts to work out what happened on board the plane, why it crashed, and, most importantly, why he was the lone survivor.

As Keller and the airline investigates, a series of bizarre and macabre events occur around the village. A courting couple are menaced by something outside their car. A fisherman is attacked by fetid rotting corpses from the river. A local priest has strange and terrifying visitations in his church. These events and more tell of how there is a shadow and a menace over the town, while Keller and Hobbs, a spiritualist, try to work it all out.

The central premise here is quite intriguing - why Keller survived? - and offers a good hook to get into the story. The writing, as usual, is very descriptive and some scenes and vignettes build up a good atmosphere. It is the ending which marrs the book, and the climactic encounter - though moderately exciting - isn`t a big enough pay-off for the mystery of the build-up. It is annoying also how the main supernatural threat is very barely linked to the conclusion, and instead just seems to disappear, rather than playing a part.

THE SURVIVOR is okay, but is not Herbert`s best work. At its most basic it is a ghost story, a theme that Herbert tackled later on in his career with more style and substance. A slow and slightly baffling film version was made, with Robert Powell in the lead role [famously, Herbert fell asleep when he watched the movie becauase he couldn't understand the story], but you`re better off with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SURVIVOR, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivor (Kindle Edition)
James Herbert is (was) a talented author and I will miss his terrifying stories and his scary characters but I never get bored of his books. This is a good story and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes a real horror story.
KARRIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars survivor, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivor (Kindle Edition)
This has to be the fifth or sixth time I have read this book, and it still is stunning in the way the story unfolds. Though the ending is known, it still holds a fascination . This is James at his best, the small inter related stories of individuals in addition to the main characters helps the reader come to appreciate what is happening in this story and that it aafects more than just one or two people. This is my favourite James Herbert book, and probably my favourite book. James leaves Stephen King standing, especially his early books, and his books are so filmable, though the film of this book was awful despite having the splendid Robrert Powell as the main character. Could do wit a remake withe a decent script writer and keep the story in England. I digress, Survivor is a great read and deserves the 5 stars I gave it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Stuff!, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
Keller somehow survives a plan crash which has killed over 300 people but somehow he just walks away but he has lost all his memories of the incident. Being the co-pilot he feels responsible in someway, frustrated with the fact he can't remember what happened or how he survived and a strange irresistible force pulling him to the town of Eton where the crash had occurred he is determined to find out what happened. While investigating and some help from a friend Tewson (who is involved in the investigation) he soon finds something unease about it all that nobody can put there finger on.

A spiritualist/medium called Hobbs turns up saying the voices of the passengers have communicated with him and that they are angry and confused and they need his help for whatever purpose. After Keller shows him the door and getting on with his investigating, strange deaths start occurring in the town and he soon decides to give Hobbs a chance and they discover that among the souls of the passengers there is an evil spirit who is committing the killings and is corrupting the other souls and wants Keller life.

To save all the souls of the dead passengers and to stop the killings Keller & Hobbs must discover what happened to the plane which means unlocking Keller memories which may cost them there lives.

The Survivor has been the best James Herbert book I have read so far it really gripped me I just wanted to know the mystery of the crash. Lots of creepy stuff i.e an evil girl who carries a doll around just great James Herbert as usual :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Crafted Suspense Horror, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
Hello all

Having read most of Herbert's work and the reviews on here it is noticeable that some people don't get this book. An aircraft crashes above Eton leaving only the co-pilot as a survivor who tries to piece together what happened if only to put himself at ease with the possibility of human error and his own feelings of guilt. Various threads interact these being the above co-pilot, an air crash investigator and his pet theory, a spiritualist trying to help the lost souls find peace, and a town subjected to hauntings and horror. For those who didn't get the child/doll part of the plot a black magician was using other bodies/souls to haunt the townsfolk and lure them to death. The ending that appears to leave some people cold was straight out of the Tales Of The Unexpected TV programme, and for me is the only ending that could have worked as all other possibilities are discounted in the story. The characters are well-crafted and it is an enjoyable book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most disturbing book I've ever read., 4 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
When I lent this book to a friend, she said she got very irritable and short-tempered while she was reading the book. Then when she went on holiday with the family, her son was acting the same way. She asked him if he was reading The Survivor, when he said yes, she immediately took the book away from him and told him he could not read it anymore until they were home. That's a great story about how this book can affect a person. It can disturb your mind. James Herbert is a fantastic writer. He is so graphic with his descriptions you almost feel that you're watching a movie as you turn the pages. This is the first book by him that I ever read and I've read everything since then. If you like horror novels, I guarantee that if you read this book you will become an avid James Herbert reader. He is the best. And The Survivor is his best. But be prepared. You just may have some strange reactions to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twists ,Horror and totally beleivable, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
A nightmare we all hope will never come true, but are aware "It could happen". The ferociousness and terror grips as never before,the why and who are essential in this tale from Herbert, I hope I'm never on the same flight as he is. completely entertaining , watch out for the heart palpatations though,a must for Herbert fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books Ive ever read, 2 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
I owned this books nearly 15yrs ago probably more it was a fantastic read ,
I remember I couldnt put it down every chapter left you wanting to know what happened next,
I loaned it to someone and never got it back Im so happy Ive managed to find it again on Amazon its every bit as good as I remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not One of His Best, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivor (Paperback)
The story starts off with some promise but just seems to get lost and never really delivers for me. Left me feeling that is was slightly pointless and none of the potential elements were really developed properly. Much better books by James Herbert out there to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gripping!, 29 April 2014
This review is from: The Survivor (Kindle Edition)
I read this in 3 days and found it hard to put down, I just had to see what happened next! Good story but did get a bit silly in parts but still enjoyable. I just had to know how it happened . I got this free but would have payed as its a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Survivor
The Survivor by James Herbert (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews