Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic novel of building tension and nail biting suspense
First published in 1983, Shrine was the ninth novel of Herbert's to be released. He was already a very well-established horror writer, with a collection of classics of the genre under his belt. Shrine runs for 544 pages (epic for our Jim), which delivers a tale of horrific suspense. The novel takes a break from Herbert's splatterpunk roots, instead opting for a more...
Published on 26 July 2009 by Chris Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy read but very disappointing ending.
Shrine is a nice, creepy and well written read but I found the pacing excruciatingly slow in the latter stages of the book because it's a bit predictable and the story took a while to catch up to my predictions. Nothing was ever really a surprise. But this is an old book, maybe I'd be more suprised if I read this when it was first published, maybe all other books borowed...
Published on 5 Sept. 2012 by Nurrie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic novel of building tension and nail biting suspense, 26 July 2009
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shrine (Paperback)
First published in 1983, Shrine was the ninth novel of Herbert's to be released. He was already a very well-established horror writer, with a collection of classics of the genre under his belt. Shrine runs for 544 pages (epic for our Jim), which delivers a tale of horrific suspense. The novel takes a break from Herbert's splatterpunk roots, instead opting for a more atmospheric and haunting approach. The plot gradually unfolds throughout the novel, building up the suspense from the start. The characterisation is carefully constructed, bringing about a convincing hero character, Fenn. Herbert examines and develops on the conflicts between the religious organisations and the commercial world that we live in with an intelligent and thought-provoking manner. The book builds towards a massive finale which is where the book fails for me. The ending, (don't worry, I won't give it away) although thought-provoking and unexpected, left me feeling cheated. The tension towards the end is outstanding as Herbert has built the novel up to a peak, but it really fails to deliver a conclusion worthy of the build up. Our hero character who has led us through the novel seems to be more of a by-stander at the end rather than involved. Once the novel was finished, I was left in a haze of unrewarded emotions about the book, wishing that the ending had offered me something more to chew over.

Although this review has come out very negative, I must emphasise that it is still an enjoyable read. Ok, I felt cheated by the ending, but the tension created by Herbert's build-up is outstanding. The whole novel is extremely well written, creating a haunting atmosphere that is a pleasure to immerse yourself within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it Shrine, 2 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Shrine (Paperback)
Some books have flaws, but I really still enjoy them. 'Shrine' is one such book. Fenn is your typical local town reporter and he does not think anything exciting is going to happen on his night shift. This can't be further from the truth when he stumbles across a small girl lying in the road. She takes him to a strange tree and turns and speaks one sentence; nothing odd about this? It turns out that Alice is a deaf mute and that her talking is a miracle. Alice becomes increasingly drawn towards the tree and slowly a following of people gather to see her. It seems that she can harness the power of Mary to heal the ill, but is this a divine power for good or evil?

I really enjoyed the concept of 'Shrine' as it was not only a horror thriller, but an interesting discussion how religion and the media would treat a modern miracle. The book does feel a bit dated, but the core still holds up really well. I found the gentle pace matched the story perfectly and that the action set pieces in particular were described well.

I can see why some people find this book average as the pace is slow, it's dated and the middle is better than the end. However, for me the central threads of the story make it a lot better than its parts and it made me think about the story long after I finished reading it. This is the best complement that I can give a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 out of 4, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
The first thing you need to know about this book is that it is one of James Herberts' longer and wordier books. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two thirds of the book, but my attention really waned after that and I had to force myself to continue reading. The problem was that as the book went on the author seemed to get more and more verbose and I found myself skimming through large sections of the book - for example, I must have clicked the page forward button on the kindle 7 or 8 times just to bypass a section where Gerry Fenn was parking his car. There were also a few other people in the book (Paula springs to mind) who were mentioned at the start, maybe in one chapter, who we never met again until the end and it seemed to me that they just acted as filler characters and didn't really add anything to the story.

The story itself I enjoyed and really got into it during the first two thirds of the book, it is a classic James Herbert storyline - this time it is a young ambitious journalist investigating what appears at first glance to be the miracle healings that are being carried out by a young deaf-mute girl, Alice. We see the whole media frenzy that ensues and the reader does get caught up in the whole circus. Of course what we have is something far more sinister and evil than people can imagine.

To sum up, a good story which was, for me at any rate, a little too verbose and dragged on a tad in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best Book so Far, 9 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Shrine (Paperback)
A very good book which is about a young girl who believes she has seen the Virgin Mary,and thats when the trouble starts,as the girl can cure people of whatever they suffer from with powers that she has been given by the lady,and people come in their droves to see her,as all she has to do is to touch them and they would be cured,but things go wrong after a while, so If you havent yet read James Herbert as yet you are in for a treat with this one............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good early James Herbert, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Jason Hanrahan (Mirfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
I've always thought that Herbert's novels were a bit twee and parochial, and this might well be one that falls into that category. Nevertheless it is an engaging read about a mute young girl who appears to have experienced a visitation from the Virgin Mary in the field beside the churchyard. Soon word has spread and the spot becomes the site of religious pilgrimages on a par with those at Lourdes. The main character, a jaded cynical journalist races against time and his own lack of religious beliefs to discover the truth and avert a disaster. All is not as it appears.

There are some great set pieces including the tanker fire and the final revelation. I initially read this as a teenager and recently revisited it following the untimely death of it's author and found it as enjoyable as I remembered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Creepy read but very disappointing ending., 5 Sept. 2012
By 
Nurrie (NE Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
Shrine is a nice, creepy and well written read but I found the pacing excruciatingly slow in the latter stages of the book because it's a bit predictable and the story took a while to catch up to my predictions. Nothing was ever really a surprise. But this is an old book, maybe I'd be more suprised if I read this when it was first published, maybe all other books borowed their ideas from this one. But if you're an avid reader or watcher of film/tv, you can see what is coming a mile off.

I also found some of the characters pretty boring such as the shopkeeper and his mistress and the ambitious holy man. I know they have a reason at the end just so you can compare them to the main characters, but during the middle, they were really quite tedious to read.

I also found the reason for all the events happening and the powers were quite weak and non-believable. The ending was disappointing, mainly for it's predictability, but it is also over before it even started getting interesting.

But I did enjoy the creepy atmosphere when it was created, and it starts off really interestingly. The writer manages to create some really horrific scenes like the Mary statue and the car crash scene, they sent a chill down my spine. So there are good bits but I can't really bring myself to recommend this book with such a weak ending, which is one of the most crucial parts to any story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tale of horror and suspense, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
A good read, but not as good as other books I've read by James Herbert.This was a long book, and a little long winded in places. I also found that the conclusion to the book whilst was suspenseful, I was a bit of a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geat scary novel, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book as a gift for my dad and he was really thrilled with the book. James Herbert books are really good because the descriptions that James uses in his novels, really draw you into the story. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrine, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
Always liked the slant James Herbert took when dealing with horror and the paranormal. It's a good read though in this instance the ending leaves you with a feeling that the latter part of the book was rushed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shrine (Kindle Edition)
Kept my attention completely! Excellent book. I first read this book when it was first published in paperback, technology advances, James Herbert needs no improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shrine
Shrine by James Herbert (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews