Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet stunning
Alison for www(.)bigbooklittlebook(.)blogspot(.)com

This is a picture book perfect in it's simplicity. The illustrations are set against a stark white background using a colour scheme of black, pink and red. The colours that you may well associate with the circus. This makes the pictures very clear and they tell the story alone. This is a picture book where...
Published on 7 May 2012 by Big Book Little Book

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rework of the Three Pigs
In this story the 3 pigs catch a wild wolf and then proceed to humilate him in the circus ring, taunting him with "wolf won't bite" at the end of each activity, but of course at the end he bares his sharp teeth and they run away scared. Not keen on the story or the type faces used and not that keen on the illustrations. However kids will probably love the repetition and...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Book chatter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet stunning, 7 May 2012
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Paperback)
Alison for www(.)bigbooklittlebook(.)blogspot(.)com

This is a picture book perfect in it's simplicity. The illustrations are set against a stark white background using a colour scheme of black, pink and red. The colours that you may well associate with the circus. This makes the pictures very clear and they tell the story alone. This is a picture book where the words are there to add to the pictures rather than the other way round. Child or adult you know how the story will end but you still want to carry on to see just how far the pigs can push the wolf. Its simplicity means that this could be read to a fairly young child and they could understand and enjoy it, but it's also perfect for children a bit older too, the repetition of lines within the story should appeal to them. This is another one that will be coming home to read to the four year old when shadowing is finished.

Verdict: Simple you stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 pigs triumph, 9 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Hardcover)
Beautifully illustrated and quirky - the sort of story that a child will love. Cannot praise it too highly. The story is brilliant but the illustrations really make it a first class winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf Won't Bite!, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant book by the very talented Emily Gravett, this has rapidly become a favourite with my little nephew and is bound to be a hit with any child aged 2+. The Three Little Pigs are proud to present their circus show – “Wolf Won’t Bite!” So, roll up, roll up to see the Wild Wolf do a huge range of tricks – from jumping through hoops, being ridden like a horse and being shot out of a cannon. As ever, Gravett manages to convey wonderful humour and emotions through her illustrations and the background is white, allowing very young children to focus on the picture without distraction. There is also a great twist to the tale. I think this will have huge appeal to small children, who will enjoy this book and you may find it is one that you have to re-read quite a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rework of the Three Pigs, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Hardcover)
In this story the 3 pigs catch a wild wolf and then proceed to humilate him in the circus ring, taunting him with "wolf won't bite" at the end of each activity, but of course at the end he bares his sharp teeth and they run away scared. Not keen on the story or the type faces used and not that keen on the illustrations. However kids will probably love the repetition and the humiliation. Shortlisted for the 2012 Kate Greenaway medal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Gravett's best, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Hardcover)
Emily Gravett is one of those authors that I get on blind faith, she has a unique writing style, a wonderful sense of whimsy within her artwork and always brings something novel to the table. That said, this is perhaps her weakest title to date and one that left me feeling that she could have lost part of her magic appeal that has always ensnared me before. The illustrations are still beautiful, the colours just as vivid but the overall story really didn't accomplish anything, it felt more as an after thought than her usual story telling style almost as if the images were created first without any real journey to achieve due to a books deadline fast approaching which made this release a sad shame, in my opinion, had they had the last page as a moving pop up that might have made a difference. Of the Gravett titles out there get your hands on the Blue Chameleon, the Odd Egg or even Spells. These really will set the standards for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous kindle download, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
This was my first kindle app download and I have been very impressed. We also loved the story. Never again will I be caught out with a bored and fractious granddaughter. The illustrations are big enough on a mini ipad for the wonderful facial expressions to be enjoyed and the story is perfect for my 3 year old. I'm not sure if she has grasped the full moral implications of the story, but she was able to express concern and empathy for the wolf and to thoroughly enjoy the ending. She reads this to herself with great relish and no longer seems worried about wolves lurking around corners which was starting to become a minor issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
Another great book by Emily Gravett. My son who is 3 years old, loves reading her books and calls her Emily Grabit, lol. I would recommend her books to all preschool children. Thanks Emily, keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
Fab story & lovely illustrations. My only tiny criticism is that I would have loved the ability to "play" the story using an audio file as my little person is just starting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Or will he?, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
Of course we love the pictures, more than that, we love the hint of menace. Any child owner with a dog will recognise when the teeth will be shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
peter sandford (huddersfield, w yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Won't Bite! (Kindle Edition)
i would give it a score of close to 5 out of 5. not sure what else to say. that's all really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf Won't Bite!
Wolf Won't Bite! by Emily Gravett (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2012)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews