Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit
Rory is shocked to find herself single and out of her own home after an argument with her long standing boring boyfriend of 11yrs.
Moving in with her Aunt Lydia at her boarding house she finds herself trying to figure what happened and who she is without Martin. Having only had the one suitable boyfriend she is talked into dating a series of unsuitable men. This...
Published on 18 Mar. 2012 by Suzanne Moore

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID
Possibly the worst book I have ever read.
Predictable but yet not believable.
You know exactly who the girl is going to end up with but yet there isn't enough interaction between the pair, and the interaction that there is is very boring, not believable, and doesn't make you remotely excited about what is to come.
The concept of the book is actually very...
Published 23 months ago by Beth


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit, 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory is shocked to find herself single and out of her own home after an argument with her long standing boring boyfriend of 11yrs.
Moving in with her Aunt Lydia at her boarding house she finds herself trying to figure what happened and who she is without Martin. Having only had the one suitable boyfriend she is talked into dating a series of unsuitable men. This leads to various hilarity as she dates a man over double her age, a sex crazed intern years younger, a war correspondant and an unemployed musician. Whilst trying to figure out where things went wrong for her and Martin, if the gorgeous helpful nice plumber is really up too or is simply a nice guy whilst struggling to keep her job.

This is definitely a chick lit book. It won't set your world on fire but it will give you an enjoyable read and a good giggle, especially when the Rory drops the sex starved intern in it, and if you've been dumped then you'll completely understand where Rory is coming from.
If you want a book that doesn't require too much deep thinking and has a happy ending this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suitable Read, 16 July 2012
By 
Jay Rainbow (bolton england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Blissful reading that had me within 4 pages, a well written peice about the traps we set ourselves. Pacey enough to keep pages turning but it never runs away with itself. So well written you can even forgive the bits that are predictable. Read in 2 sessions and enjoyable all the way. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 April 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The term Chick Lit is an umbrella term that covers a huge range of books -frothy improbable fairy stories, raunchy stories about new women verging on soft porn and intelligent books about women living the sort of life that most of us could identify with in some way. The only things they have in common are that the main characters are female and they all have similar covers.

Unsuitable Women is up the intelligent end of the spectrum. I read it on a vile Saturday in April - torrential wind, howling gale and as dark as a day can be - and I enjoyed it hugely. After eleven years Aurora (Rory) has been dumped by her lover, Martin. She moves back to her Aunt Lydia's boarding house, where Lydia, an ex-actress, and her two lodgers Percy and Eleanor, welcome and comfort her.

Rory works for an upmarket magazine called Country House. She feels insecure, believing that she is not posh enough to fit in. When her column is axed she uses advice from one of colleagues, that because her suitable boyfriend has cheated on her perhaps she ought to try out some unsuitable men, as the subject matter of a new column. The fallout from this decision forms the basis for the rest of the story. The results are funny, poignant and highly enjoyable.

The one weak point was, I thought, the character of the boyfriend, Martin. We have met him so many times before. He is the flip side of the masterful hero - dictatorial, one dimensional, humourless and boring. I do not believe that Rory would have stuck with him for eleven years, no matter how besotted she was when she was eighteen. However, it's a minor flaw. The other characters, aged thesps Percy and Eleanor, the editorial staff at Country House, Jim the plumber and the ghastly unsuitable men are all great. This is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every girl needs to kiss a few frogs, 16 Feb. 2012
By 
M. Bray "Mia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory has only ever dated one guy, Martin, boring dependable takes control of everything Martin who dumps her in favour of another woman. When emotional vampire 'Ticky' (one of many ridiculous posh nicknames at Country Life magazine) suggests that she wont know what Mr Right looks like until shes dated a few Mr Wrongs to know the signs,and when later pressed for an idea for an article she combines the 2 goals with a column of guys not to date (Yes it is as much like a loose version of the the plot from 'How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days'!) and so with mr unfaithful already under her belt sets out to intentionally date all of the cliche unsuitable men. Cue dating of the fauxmosexual, the pensioner, the toyboy, the unemployed musician and the guy with mental baggage etc etc which whilst mostly platonic in nature also present a welcome melody of comedic moments and feel good awkwardness which are watched with interest by the elderly actress aunt and tennants she lives with and her aunts plumber. Its hardly a spoiler to suggest that the unfaithful comes begging and the plot starts to become a little predictable but its never the less a good one as Rory learns that sometimes finding the person whos suitable means opening up wat your looking for.

The first few chapters took a bit of getting into as having been comfortably in a relationship Rory has never really connected to her colleagues and so is written very much as someone mocking posh people lots of excessive aaahs and connecting-words-togetherisms. However this is quickly dropped as she starts to become a part of her team. Theres still a class divide but its not glaring and Rory becomes quite likable. I wouldnt be surprised if this becomes a chick flick at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, down to earth totally relatable reading. x, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Vivienne Thompson (BIRMINGHAM, W Midlands, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Kindle Edition)
What did I like about this book?
Everything, I was gripped from page one. The way Pippa, the way she approached it was so relatable in many ways..

Who would I recommend this book to?
Anyone who needs, and I mean needs to smile, have a little giggle. Family, friends, work colleagues, heck friends of friends of whom I've never met!

Why did I choose this rating.?
I've recently been at the lowest point in my life that I think I could ever be at (terrible grammar, I know) in fact, I still am.. Also had to spend a week in a damn awful hospital, with terrible care, lousy bedside manners and crap doctors.. I'm in a terrible relationship and life's s***. Pippa's book made me laugh so hard, it was actually painful and had to press the nurses button! Really! I looked forward to opening up on the page and reading about these wonderful, colourful characters and the surroundings Rory found herself in, feeling for her, wanting so much for her Mr oh so wrong, to be just who she needed.. Jim, and he was, what a satisfying ending to Rory's plights.. When your at your lowest to the point where the sides of your mouth are permanently turned down, and you read this book that forces you to forget and be transported into another world and make you smile, how can I not give the very best of ratings and the highest of praise. I guess Pippa may not see my 'review', and it may seem long winded and out there, but well, Thank you for helping me through some of the way of a very tough and bumpy painful road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny chicklit, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this as there were some really funny moments and the unsuitable dates were so comical. Although I did suss out who Rory would end up with quite early on it didn't put me off reading it. However I do agree with another reviewer that Rory's character was flawed and not consistant that se was so pathetically submissive with her ex Martin, yet bit the head off other characters. Didn't get that at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Unsuitable may just turn out to be Mr Perfect, 15 April 2012
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory works for posh magazine Country Home, but without a double barrelled surname, an enormous trust fund and titled relations, she feels somewhat of an outsider. When her regular column is axed, she is talked into dating unsuitable men and writing about her experiences. Cue potential sugar daddies, toy boys, jobless musicians and tortured war correspondents.

"Unsuitable Men" turned out to be an easy, entertaining read with some laugh out loud moments. Although I did initially want to slap Rory hard and tell her to stop pining for the useless, unfaithful Martin, she did win me over by the of this book. She finds out that he was seeing someone else whilst still with her yet she spends the majority of this book moping about waiting for Martin to see the error of his ways and take her back. Yet as Rory dives (somewhat reluctantly) into the world of dating, she regains her confidence and self-respect. There are some real moments of humour and fun as Rory dates a series of unsuitable men; the sexting teenage intern, the nearly 70 year old who thinks Rory has the hots for him and the randy musician who proves rather inept at the one thing he's after. The only man Rory isn't dating is handsome plumber Jim, with his ridiculously tight t-shirts, buff body and blond highlights yet he may prove to be the most suitably unsuitable man of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Feb. 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book about Rory, who has just split up with her boyfriend Martin after 11 years together. She is understandably heartbroken but believes it is just temporary until Martin realises he wants her back. Even though he has cheated on her, Rory's low self esteem still leaves her feeling that the breakup was her fault and that Martin was too good for her. This makes the book sound like it could be depressing, and for the first part of the story Rory is moping around barely making it out of bed and into work, but the book is made by the variety of wonderful characters she encounters. Rory goes to live with her Aunty Lyd, who runs a boarding house for actors, and her two boarders, Percy and Eleanor. She works for Country House magazine with her ambitious boss Amanda and her eccentric colleagues. She meets a series of unsuitable men and, in an effort to improve her prospects on the magazine, begins to write an internet column about her dates. But she begins to realise that some of her ideas about herself, her career and her ideal man may need a rethink. Maybe one of the Mr Wrongs she meets could be her Mr Right? or will Martin change his mind about the split? This is a great read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Possibly the worst book I have ever read.
Predictable but yet not believable.
You know exactly who the girl is going to end up with but yet there isn't enough interaction between the pair, and the interaction that there is is very boring, not believable, and doesn't make you remotely excited about what is to come.
The concept of the book is actually very good however, not enough 'unsuitable dates' took place, and the very few that did occur were very boring. I didn't laugh once.
The title of the book is actually pretty misleading.
When I began the book and realised how this 'Unsuitable Men' idea came about, I was expecting a funny book similar to the film 'How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.'
Had I not been on holiday with limited books to read I would have ditched this right away.
Can't fault how well written the book was, just glad it was an easy read with multiple paragraphs in which I could skim read.
There's not one thing I enjoyed about this book and I was highly disappointed.
Next time I will stick to Lindsey Kelk, Jane Costello, and Paige Toon.
Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicklit at its best, 19 April 2012
By 
elkiedee "elkiedee" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory has been dumped by her first and only real boyfriend, and a colleague suggests that she needs to get some dating experience with a few unsuitable men. Somehow she finds herself writing a column about her experiences for the website of the magazine she works on.

I was tempted by this as I really enjoyed Wright's first novel, and this was just as much fun. This is definitely chicklit but Rory is no bimbo, but an intelligent, likeable and warm character learning more about the people around her and herself.

While there is an obligatory romantic story, this is a social comedy with a great cast of interesting and entertaining characters, particularly at Rory's work and home. Rory works on a country house magazine, one of the few staff members who is not very posh and well-connected, and I enjoyed the terrifying boss Amanda, the posh girl Ticky and the precocious work experience boy. Even better is Rory's home life, as she moves from her boyfriend's home to live with her beloved aunt Lydia, landlady to several other elderly actors. I found many of the scenes at home and work much more interesting than the outrageously unsuitable men.

Brain candy at its tastiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unsuitable Men
Unsuitable Men by Pippa Wright (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews