Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking read
I had been slightly put off autobiographies after reading some fairly dire efforts, for example Freddie Flintoff's, but decided to buy this one as Vidal sounded like an interesting character; and I haven't been disappointed. He has had an amazing life, from a very humble upbringing to becoming a worldwide hairdressing success, rubbing shoulders with some amazing star...
Published on 17 Oct 2010 by Matthew Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
I love biogs so this was an Interesting read if rather slow, he was obviously a character and met some amazing people and you get an insight into that in the book. I downloaded from kindle and didn't realize I got the text only version until I was on holiday. Was able to look at it on my i pad also which showed all the pictures after I'd read it.
Ok if you want...
Published 15 months ago by Kiplingfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking read, 17 Oct 2010
I had been slightly put off autobiographies after reading some fairly dire efforts, for example Freddie Flintoff's, but decided to buy this one as Vidal sounded like an interesting character; and I haven't been disappointed. He has had an amazing life, from a very humble upbringing to becoming a worldwide hairdressing success, rubbing shoulders with some amazing star names from the 60s and 70s along the way; some hilarious accounts of the 60s London scene are a particular highlight. So if you are looking for a well-written inspirational life journey, look no further than Vidal: he's done it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING FACE OF FASHION, 20 Nov 2010
I was trained as a haircutter in the Vidal Sassoon technique by hairdressers who also trained at Vidal Sasson. I worked at Crimpers in Baker Street London so this was a fascinating insight into how Vidal began his fabulous career. Born in the East End of London in a poor Jewish home Vidal had to go into an orphange with his brother in Bethnal Green for a number of years as his family were so poor. His mother insisted he train as a hairdresser which he reluctantly did. In between he fought in the Jewish war in the late 60s in Israel.

I found this a very interesting and discreet biography as Vidal did not share any intimate secrets of his many famous clients. Yet at the same time it was an insight into how his cutting genius evovled and how the Vidal Sasson empire blossomed. I wish I had know when I was haircutting that Vidal rewarded those who worked hard and were talented. This clearly provided many opportunities for many top hairdressers.

Vidal was married a number of times and he obviously met many beautiful ladies in his salons. That he 'loves his wife with a tenderness he had never known before' (his words)is a memorable insight into the man. He comes across as a warm and likeable man who clearly enjoyed meeting many people around the world because of his ability as an innovative haircutter. As an ex haircutter it was particularly interesting to learn how Vidal's reluctant career began and how his empire expanded around the globe. In time his partners sold off the business - something he never anticipated would happen - although the brand name of his salons and products remain. A well written biography chronicling the life of a very interesting man who is still thriving at 82. Sotirios Christou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glossy, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Vidal: The Autobiography (Paperback)
This is a glossy rags to riches story that covers Vidal's early years in the East End of London, his early days training to be a hairdresser, National Service, the building of an empire, and along the way, models, fashion designers (particularly Mary Quant), film stars, photographers, artists, family and his jewish faith and love for Israel. This is a very postive book, but I feel only scrapes the surface of his amazing life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vidal Sassoon story was all & more of what I expected to read., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidal (Kindle Edition)
Talk about poor boy made good. He's such an interesting character. Vidal's achievements in the hairdressing world are outstanding and the name dropping is very interesting. He really lived a very interesting and full life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crimpers, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this half way through a haircut at Vidal Sassoon's as it was laying on the side. I bought a copy as I knew nothing of the man and thought I should considering I was getting my haircut at his place!

It's a surprisingly good read. Without giving too much away the story starts with Vidal in East London growing up during World War 2 in almost poverty, his mother eventually puts him into a orphanage. Later he fights Fascism on the streets of London before joining the Israeli Defence force and fighting in the Arab Israeli war. During all of this he's flirting with the idea of cutting hair and eventually starts off as an apprentice, moving from barbers to barbers all over london honing his skills and creating his own looks. Eventually he opens his first salon and starts to get real recognition mainly from the work he produced for the fashion shows on the catwalks and magazines. Along the way he rubs shoulders with countless movie stars and celebrities all the while growing his business nationally and internationally.

I like this autobiography as it gives you a glimpse of London 70-80 years ago and shows you how much the people and places have changed.

Vidal shows us you can go far with drive, determination and hardwork. Inspiring stuff. Thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing biography., 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: Vidal: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Life affirming, world changing,
Vidal shows why we are afforded the gift of life.
Absolutely brilliant.
Beyond inspirational.
To be read yearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidal (Kindle Edition)
For a man who had such a high profile interesting life this book is so boring and tedious very dissappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life of an Icon, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidal: The Autobiography (Paperback)
A fantastic life in fun exciting times of fashion, film and travel. Its really well documented with plenty of flavour of the personalities and places, a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight not only into Vidal's life but also the swinging 60's, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidal: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I bought this as part of my research into he cultural changes and shift in mood of the 60's, I think this book really captured that. Not exclusively captivating for hair dressers/ stylists, it is quite an inspiring tale and would urge anyone to give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vidal., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidal: The Autobiography (Paperback)
The sheer force of the man to succeed from such poor beginnings which change the way hairdressing was viewed. Made very interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

Vidal: The Autobiography
Vidal: The Autobiography by Vidal Sassoon (Paperback - 15 April 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews