Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Former People
Although I have read many books about Russian history and, in particular the Russian Revolution, this is a story that I don't think has ever been told before. The term 'Former People' was, rather chillingly, applied to members of the Russian Aristocracy after the revolution and this book tells of how the Russian elite was dispossesed and destroyed in the years between...
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by S Riaz

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
This is a compelling book. It addresses the decimation and gradual erradication of an entire class of people in Russia. The tragedy is how greatly many of the upper class tried to fit in and welcome the changes of the revolution. Nevertheless they were uprooted, sent to gulags, tortured, imprisoned and murdered. This tremendous suffering was, for the most part, met...
Published 20 months ago by Godbless


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Former People' by Douglas Smith, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down I have no sympathy for the aristocrats who brought about their own demise BUT it was simply fascinating to read about the individual stoicism, and the extraordinary bravery among the survivors. A well researched book, and a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SICKENING, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
mark taha (LONDON,BRITAIN) - See all my reviews
I would really like the apologists for the Bolsheviks to comment on this.The Russian Revolution resulted in the mos reusiv tyranny in history-rule by the scum of the earth,the dregs of humanity,the lowest of the low.All revolutions are wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIghly recommended., 12 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Tolmie (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy (Paperback)
Fascinating subject....the writing could have done with a little editing, in places (quoting the same line from Trotsky - about it being appropriate to exterminate a class which has outlived its use - twice in the space of ten pages or so is clumsy, ; and in places the english is a little hokey .....for example, where the maid is described as having caught up with her erstwhile mistress 'down the road aways...'.) Heavy subject, and with little to redeem it, beyond the fact that it should not be forgotten. For the most part, though, what remarkable resilience of the human spirit it shows, in spite of everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy (Paperback)
very moving account
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Former People review, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Casey "Clark clan" (Lanarkshire,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good insight into the horror and terror the Bolshevik revolution brought to innocent people who were considered enemies of their own country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People (Kindle Edition)
Great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but too much autobiographical extract, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After all the excellent reviews I was disappointed and although I did get to the end by then I was irritated. For me, there's 1. too much autobiographical content with not enough background generalisation and 2. because of the volume and confusion of names - the latter part of the book is, basically, about two families but there are over 100 main characters! - you are personality numbed. Worth borrowing but not buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kindle download, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People (Kindle Edition)
former people is the book I'm currently reading and have learnt so
much from it already. I love Russian history and this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally gripping, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy (Paperback)
This book appears to be a heavy tome, but it is well written , readable and totally absorbing. IOt is full of surprising information and gives a clear view of the attitude of all sides of the Russian revolution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy (Paperback)
THIS BOOK WAS A GOOD READ, IF A BIT DISJOINTED AT TIMES. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE INTERESTED IN FINDING OUT THE TRAUMA BEHIND THE REVOLUTION AND HOW IT AFFECTED PEOPLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy
Former People: The Destruction of the Russian Aristocracy by Douglas Smith (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews