Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!!!!
I've read a great deal of books about Dogs and their owners. This is the best so far. I challenge anyone not to be emotionally moved by this story of Steve and his best friend Lou. Steve's and Lou's story touched so many dogs and people's lives and will continue to do so through the pages of this great book. It's a great read from the first to the last page and I urge you...
Published on 24 Dec. 2010 by Von Gutersloh

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrote already summary
I did already comment on this book. It was not as promised neat and clean but dirty
The reading itself was very good.
Published 20 months ago by ank alexander


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!!!!, 24 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
I've read a great deal of books about Dogs and their owners. This is the best so far. I challenge anyone not to be emotionally moved by this story of Steve and his best friend Lou. Steve's and Lou's story touched so many dogs and people's lives and will continue to do so through the pages of this great book. It's a great read from the first to the last page and I urge you to give it a go. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs a lou in their life., 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
The story of a lucky dog rescued from almost certain death. The right time and the right place for the even luckier author Steve Duno. A Happy - Sad, Humorous, and very emotional tale of one mans relationship with his ultimate best friend. Everyone should have a Lou in their life. If this story doesnt pull at your heart strings, you have never known the love of a good dog. Read it and weep !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Dog on the Hill, 24 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
This is a wonderfull book, reading it changed my life, I had determined never to have another dog after having to put my last dog to sleep; the pain was just to much, but this book gave me the strength to buy another dog, it is a great read, both funny and sad in good measure, it shows how much greater a persons life can be when shared with a well behaved dog, who will become your best friend. All dog lovers should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars last dog on the hill, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
Until you have given your heart to a dog you can never understand the bond between dog and human. This book is amazing - written in a very matter of fact and very down to earth style - and the love shines out from every single page. This man was proud to have a dog like Lou, and Lou was proud to have a human like Steve Duno, and while i was reading this book i actually felt i was sharing some of what they shared in their life together. Its entertaining, its funny, its heartbreaking but you will leave it feeling uplifted. Make no mistake though, if you have loved and lost a dog, this book will have you re-living every moment - from those first precious days with your new pup, through the ups and downs of adolescent dog, to the wonderful understanding that follows and on until the final chapter where your tears will fall with the authors tears. highly recommended.Last Dog on the Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !!, 4 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
I wouldnt normally read a book like this, Strictly an action fiction man normally but there was just something that made me want to pick this up and give it a go. Steve Duno writes about the amazing Lou with such affection that you feel like you're there with him for their amazing adventure. Just brilliant, go on meet Lou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Rescue Dog & Man's Best Friend, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
"Last Dog on the Hill" is the story of 'Lou' who is a real rescue dog. Anyone who has ever had a dog will love this book. Anyone who is contemplating getting a dog should also read this book so they will be aware of the hard work involved in dog ownership but also of the huge rewards that a dog gives to it's humans. Steve Duno's style of writing is brilliant and the book is one that you cannot put down as you want to turn the page to find out more about 'Lou' and what he is up to.
Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of a "Heart Dog", 31 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
Just finished reading this in what seemed like minutes... What a great story. Never sentimental or mawkish, not anthropomorphic, it's the tale of man (Steve) and dog (Lou) who "find" each other and their ongoing relationship.

Steve's writing style is easy and pacey; his descriptions of Lou's behaviour and body language (conversation, even? "Rower!") are as good a characterisation of a dog as I've ever read. Even if you're not a dog lover you will feel you know him and those of us who share our lives with dogs find ourselves nodding and smiling throughout. There are also descriptions of some of the problem dogs Steve and Lou worked with and snippets of information useful to those of us who live with less than perfect specimens.

Once in a lifetime there comes along your "heart dog" - the canine equivalent of "The One" - and it seems that Lou was Steve's. The sense of wonder and gratitude that Steve has for Lou's presence in his life is powerful throughout the book, but it's also Steve's story with its highs and lows. I can recommend "Last Dog on the Hill" as a thoroughly good read for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for Last Dog on the Hill... Rower!, 5 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
I read this a few weeks ago and was totally captivated by every single page... I loved Lou, and I loved Steve! Lou reminded me of my beloved GSD Rotti cross, and Steve eloquently captured the incredible bond a human can have for his (or her!) canine family member... his writing is fun, fast paced, honest, descriptive, heartbreaking... I recommend this book to any animal lover out there... it brought back, acutely, so many memories of the times I had with my Soba... it is my TOP favourite animal book of all!
Maria (Abu Dhabi)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Dog Books Ever!!, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
What can I say that hasn't already been said...NOTHING just BRILLIANT, A MUST FOR ALL DOG LOVERS. Makes you aahhh, laugh, cry and look at your own dogs and love them even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything is possible, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Last Dog on the Hill (Paperback)
This is just a wonderful read about a guy that was talked into rescuing a puppy. They quickly became best friends and the author tells of their trials and tribulations. They became a successful team helping other dogs and people. Incidents to make you smile and laugh out loud. Through Lou, Steve Dunno finds his path in life........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Dog on the Hill
Last Dog on the Hill by Steve Duno (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews