Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!
As her other two books have proven, Jana Oliver is a fabulous author. When the third installment in this wonderful series came to me, I was so excited! Read it in a day! Was brilliant! The story flowed on from the last two, and did not just feel like a 'filler'
Wonderful writing, realistic and lovable characters, good twist on 'paranormal' genre for teenagers. Every...
Published on 26 Feb. 2012 by J. Bullock

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pages missing
I was disappointed as the first few pages of the book were missing and found it hard to follow on from the last book.
Published 16 months ago by karla judge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic improvement, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Russ Pickles "Russ" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me you found the second book a bit of a chore, then here's your reward.…
The characters are more interesting and filled out. The Blackthorne girl doesn't whine as much (praise be). Beck's character could do with a kick in the nads' but deffo getting the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great continuation, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really bought the story forward, kept you on edge not knowing what go expect next And left you wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drama..., 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Each book gets more and more addictive... The book was filled with action, love and heartbreak. Beck and Riley are meant for each other, but this book shows you that love is hard and isn't a fairy tale....great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demon Trappers: Forgiven (Paperback)
Love the story line to these books great set of four that make a good read that has wee twist and turns that keep you guessing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Demon Trappers: Forgiven (Paperback)
Having now read all of the series i would highly recommend this series to anyone because there is something for everyone in the series. A bit of romance, a bit of supernatural behavior and multiple wars between Heaven, Hell, a rebel army from with Hell and between necromancers and witches. Plus if that isn't enough there are some losses, and a good old competition between the Demon trappers and Demon hunters who are ultimate rivals. Oh and don't forget the tv show, that of course, gets it all wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this series! riley is a strong character dealing with so much at such a young age, i love the character beck they belong together and it finally looks like they will be. can't wait to read the next one although it's a shame that it will be the last in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition to the series, 3 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Demon Trappers: Forgiven (Paperback)
Forgiven starts off exactly where Forbidden ended, putting us straight back in the middle of the action again. Riley is on the run from the Vatican's demon hunters and is left to hide in a very unexpected place. So much has happened to Riley over the course of the first two books so her emotions are a bit all over the place. She doesn't know what to think or do anymore and she certainly doesn't know what the best way of doing things is. Even though Riley isn't exactly like other teenage girls, she is still easy to relate to. She questions herself and the things she does and she makes a hell of a lot of mistakes and punishes herself for them. Even though she is far from perfect, she always throws herself straight into any problem she may encounter and gives her everything to sort it out. She's a really strong female character but is still able to show her emotions.

Forgiven definitely doesn't lack action and excitement. From the very beginning of this book, something is always happening and Jana Oliver doesn't give her characters much time to catch their breath. Whether it be demons being killed or the Vatican making crazy decisions, the action never stops. The demon rating system has been explained in the book one but Forgiven also gives more insight into the way that the demon world works alongside the fighting and battles. I loved how fast paced this book was in regards to this but Oliver also made time for romance and for friendships to be explored. Although I do love the amount of action in this series, it is also nice to get other things as well so the mix for me was perfect.

Introduced in Forbidden was Ori, the Fallen Angel. While he doesn't have a big a part in this book as the previous one, there is an underlying theme of good vs evil with Heaven and Hell. Forgiven asks a lot of questions about which side is the right side and who should prevail in the great war. I thought Oliver's reasoning behind her decisions was fantastic and extremely interesting. This way of seeing angels and demons has never been done before so it was nice to get a very fresh and exciting look at something that has been done over and over again. Nothing is what I expected with the addition of angels in this crazy world full of demons but I definitely wasn't disappointed with the way that the story went in this regard.

The ending was a complete heart-stopper. Just as I thought things were going well, a spanner is thrown in the works and everything changes. I was shouting at the book in my head as I was reaching the end because I didn't want the story to end this way. Luckily, there is a fourth book being released in August and I don't think I'll be able to get my hands on it quick enough. I need to know that some things in particular get resolved and hopefully have the outcome that I was wishing for. While I wasn't too pleased with how this book ended, it was a good ending that was certainly shocking and unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still good, 12 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again this series of books keeps getting better for me, as ive fallen for the relationship between beck and rieley and the whole world the autor has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise, 11 May 2012
This review is from: The Demon Trappers: Forgiven (Paperback)
In Forgiven, the third in The Demon Trappers' series by Jana Oliver, Riley Blackthorne is back. She's not the naive girl from Forsaken anymore. Since her father's untimely death, she's had to do a lot of growing up. Although she has friends that she can depend on, time and again, loyalties and relationships are tested.

Riley's life is made more complex due to the suspicions mounting against her. The Demon Hunters think she's working for hell. She's really working for heaven. Can her life become any more complicated? Turns out that yes, it can. Beck can't forgive her for her mistake and Ori won't let her forget him.

Forgiven was a fantastic addition to The Demon Trappers series. After the shock and joy of finally finding her reanimated father, Riley has to face her mistakes. She isn't one to sit and sulk over things that have gone wrong- and there was plenty going wrong- she picks herself up and moves on.

What I liked about Forgiven were the explosive action scenes- I wish there were even more of them and that Riley had learnt some more skills. It was great that so many more characters were developed in this book such as Mort, Ayden and Peter.

My favourite parts to read were pretty much every scene between Riley and Beck. It was wonderful to see their relationship growing. The turn of events at the end is a great set up for the next book where Riley's life is going to become more even more difficult.

There was a fair amount of action at the climax of Forgiven, but I'm expecting even more from the next and final book, Foretold. I can't wait to read more about Riley and Beck, about Beck's mysterious past and about the other characters, especially Ori. I really enjoyed Forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 April 2012
By 
Bille (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great third book of the Demon Trappers series. I can't wait until the last one comes out.
There better be some love for Beck and Riley ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Demon Trappers: Forgiven
The Demon Trappers: Forgiven by Jana Oliver (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews