Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars t Shouldn't Happen to a Vet: The Further Adventures of a 1930s Vet, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great. The stories he tells are fabulous as is his way of telling them. Would recommend the book to anyone any age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Try these books out, you will mot be disappointed., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stories from James Herriot are amazing, they are true life experiences. and wonderful to read.i would recommend to any avid reader to try them, they are serious, but there is always a touch of humour., well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh... I nearly cried laughing, 8 Feb 2014
Well I may be showing my age by reviewing this James Herriot book, the second in the series, which I first read in 1978! But really these stories have stood the test of time and I hope new generations will continue to discover and love them. James Herriot writes about the animals and people he encounters in a compassionate and insightful way. The stripes are peppered with humour and then, of course thee is the wonderful description of the Yorkshire Dales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading Herriot for my whole life I started with the little children's books and am now on the big ones and I still love them all so much, they make you laugh but at the same time make you realise how hard life was and still is for yorkshire farmers and vets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very well writen, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
liked the book, ordered because my mum read it in Czech language and said is hilarious.... will buy the othrer books as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Books, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet: The further adventures of a 1930s vet (Paperback)
Enjoyed the book very much, have rated four star, as was very pleased with it.
Arrived on time, and would certainly recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet: The further adventures of a 1930s vet (Paperback)
If you have not read any James Herriot you are in for a treat. This book should be included in the list of books every one must read before the die!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual James Herriots takes us to his charming journeys on his life as a vet. Heart warming stories and so well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It shouldn't happen to a vet, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely book with eloquent descriptions of the wonderful Yorkshire Sales amongst the glorious stories of life and love of a country vet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, laugh out loud stories, beautifully told!, 8 July 2010
By 
Michelle B "Michelle B" (Sheffield, S. Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet: The further adventures of a 1930s vet (Paperback)
The warmth and wit of the author are on every page, with that rare ability to take the reader from laugh out loud funny to slightly wet behind the eyes and back again. I have read all the Herriot books, at least a dozen times each, they are like old friends I come back to again and again. Buy this book twice, once for yourself and once for someone else, and I hope you both enjoy every word! At the risk of sounding like I am related to the author (I'm not!) I absolutely adore these books - it's a pity that the TV series was nowhere near as good as the books actually, because I didn't like that at all! So forget the video series, grab the books, and have yourself an old-fashioned good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Shouldn't Happen to a Vet: The further adventures of a 1930s vet
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews