Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 November 2006
David Hosp follows the excellent Dark Harbour with a new thriller which contains enough political conspiracy theories to appeal to John Grisham fans looking for a different spin on the genre.

The Betrayed is by no means a legal thriller, and bears little resemblance to Dark Harbour (we are introduced to entirely new characters, Detectives Cassian and Train), but after a slow start, it becomes a very good story. We follow Cassian and Train as they investigate a murder, an investigation which proves far more complex than would first appear. There is no shortage of suspects and once the plot has got going, Hosp cranks up the tension very well.

As in Dark Harbour, there's an undercurrent of sexual tension between lead characters, as Cassian struggles to remain professional in his dealings with Sydney, the dead woman's sister. Sydney is a likeable character, albeit one who slightly stretches the bounds of credibility, and her own investigations are key to the development of the plot.

I mostly enjoyed The Betrayed, and the only irritating aspect was that I worked out the denouement. It's hard to tell whether this is a result of reading thrillers on a regular basis and getting to know how authors' minds work, or whether it was just too obvious. But that aside, I still recommend The Betrayed as a good thriller, and will be sure to read Hosp's next effort.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
...than Dark Harbour, his previous novel. I'd hoped for an improvement but instead of more I got less...page-wise certainly...and it's just as hokey and unbelievable in parts as its predecessor.

Actually, there were some inspired bits of business in Dark Harbour...there's none of that going on here. But instead, as with the first novel, it has an obsessive/irritating romance at its core with police procedure being compromised as a result. Compromised in a way that is not believable.

As a second effort it didn't show any growth except stunted. I won't be reading a third by David Hosp.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
I found this book difficult to put down. The start is a little slow but that doesnt really detract from the book which is one to keep you up at night or stuck in your deckchair on holiday. The plot has plenty of twists and the ending is comprehensive. I always like a detailed ending where you are not left to fill in the gaps. I hope his next few books are as good as this one. Well done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Enjoyable mix of police procedural and terrorist thriller, somewhere between David Baldacci and Lee Child.
But I still have no idea why this has the words "Scott Finn book 2" in the title/description on Amazon. There is a new Kindle feature to enable you to easily purchase the next book in a series in a couple of clicks without having to go to the store. Does this mean that anyone who reads Dark Harbour will get this one as a Scott Finn thriller? A book in which that character is not even mentioned once?
A perfectly reasonable holiday read from a pretty decent author, who should not to use this kind of misleading advertising to attract people to buy his books. Disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2006
When you start this book you think its going to be a typical detective story, but its not, its really intresting, the cops in it even thou under pressure to close the case no that all is not what is seems, and so carry on looking at other suspects, i couldn't put this book down, and the 2 main cops have got such a way about them, its just a really good read, i haven't read Dark Harbour YET!! But if you looking for a good read you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
Really enjoyed this novel. the Betrayed, for me, was more enjoyable than Dark Harbour. I tend to bypass anything that has the word "terrorist' in it. Give me a real good old mystery any day. I did guess the 'bad guy' but as a writer, that's par for the course.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Stumbled across this author by chance, and ended up buying all his books they were that good. If you like murder, suspense etc, you will love this...I highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
enjoyable story,had me guessing throughout the book.liked the 2 main police characters in it,enjoyed the banter between them.author always writes good reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
The book is excellent, and so was the service I received. He is a favourite of mine, but his books are not so readily available in the UK/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
after reading one of his books ,Ihad to read everything he wrote, loved them all.can,t wait for him to write another one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.