Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sets a precedent
I love crime novels and so as a result they make up the majority of my reading list. Consequently I do find that a large number follow a set formula, which can become slightly monotonous. Dark Harbour really breaks that mold, I'm not saying it is devastatingly unique but it is extremely well written and executed.

There are no cliched cliff hangers at the end...
Published on 17 Aug 2006 by Hugh Sutherland

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great...
The novel starts off well. An engaging opening and for the next five or six chapters I was hopeful that I'd found a superior thriller but then it quickly degenerated into your bog standard crime yarn with lots of implausable plot twists and characters whose behaviour lacks credibility.

All the clues were in place well before the big finish so no surprises to be...
Published on 10 Feb 2008 by Catblack_uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sets a precedent, 17 Aug 2006
By 
Hugh Sutherland "hughs1206" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Harbour (Paperback)
I love crime novels and so as a result they make up the majority of my reading list. Consequently I do find that a large number follow a set formula, which can become slightly monotonous. Dark Harbour really breaks that mold, I'm not saying it is devastatingly unique but it is extremely well written and executed.

There are no cliched cliff hangers at the end of each chapter but instead it unfolds itself gradually, creating a steady build of tension that carries you along in it's wake.

I really hope the authors next book is as good if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile debut thriller., 27 Aug 2011
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Harbour (Scott Finn 1) (Paperback)
For a debut novel, this is a very assured piece of writing indeed; as a work of crime fiction there is nothing particularly original in the plot components, but the way in which Hosp combines the various elements of a serial-killer, big city corruption, organised crime and a legal thriller in one twisting plot is highly ambitious and in the main, he pulls it off very well. You will probably guess some of who did what, how and why, but part of the enjoyment lies in seeing just how all the strands pull together in the conclusion. My one criticism - which is just my opinion, you may feel differently - is that the final scenes are rather long and drawn-out before we reach the denouement. Aside from this it is a well-paced, nicely crafted thriller with good and interesting characterisations.
This is the first in a series featuring the character of Boston lawyer Scott Finn; if the other volumes maintain this standard I'll be well pleased; as it is, this is a pretty good stand-alone read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Thriller, 26 July 2006
By 
K. C. heduan "Kate Celia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Harbour (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this. It was a fresh modern thriller with all the required twists. If you enjoy these kind of staple thrillers you won't be dissapointed. Great book to pass the time on the journey to work or keep you occupied on the plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great..., 10 Feb 2008
This review is from: Dark Harbour (Paperback)
The novel starts off well. An engaging opening and for the next five or six chapters I was hopeful that I'd found a superior thriller but then it quickly degenerated into your bog standard crime yarn with lots of implausable plot twists and characters whose behaviour lacks credibility.

All the clues were in place well before the big finish so no surprises to be had - though it was taughtly executed even if it was hokey.

A first novel (?) so hopefully the author will build on this workmanlike effort and get better with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just read two books by David Hosp, this being the second and thoroughly enjoyed both. He writes very well, easy to read and gives clear descriptions on 'goodies' or baddies' Loved it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Hosp is a great author one of the best thriller writers I have read.
I am into his books from the by first page and would thoroughly recommend all of his books so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Harbour (Scott Finn 1) (Paperback)
Couldn't turn the pages fast enough! What better accolade for a crime thriller could I offer? Set aside time to flash through without being disturbed - perhaps on a deserted beach?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Hosp, 12 Sep 2013
By 
fransgirl "tich" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only just discovered this author and will continue to read anymore of his books, there is always a lot of different situations going on not just a main event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suspense from start to finish and good that there is a follow up of characters that you can then relate too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed but the story line is a bit thin and predictable. Next of kin is a better read. Still enjoyed it however and would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Harbour (Scott Finn 1)
Dark Harbour (Scott Finn 1) by David Hosp (Paperback - 1 Oct 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews