Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat from the 70s
When an apparent earthquake, in a sleepy Wiltshire town, creates a rupture in the road, a fog escapes. Holman, a government worker looking into potential misdeeds by the MOD, breathes it in and turns insane, before being successfully treated. The fog then makes its way along the south coast, turning everyone who encounters it into a maniac, until it reaches London...
Published on 17 May 2011 by Mark West

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars READABLE...................
I read it in bed but it didn't keep me awake. As with all the James Herbert novels I have read, it is horror at its tamest. Yellow fog emerges from a crack in the ground. Those who came in contact with it go off their trolleys and do things which at the time this book was written, may have shocked the reader as Herbert was touching on quite naughty, naughty subjects...
Published on 25 Oct. 2009 by Saturnicus


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat from the 70s, 17 May 2011
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
When an apparent earthquake, in a sleepy Wiltshire town, creates a rupture in the road, a fog escapes. Holman, a government worker looking into potential misdeeds by the MOD, breathes it in and turns insane, before being successfully treated. The fog then makes its way along the south coast, turning everyone who encounters it into a maniac, until it reaches London. Published in 1975, my memories of this (read when I was in my teens) encompass three key set pieces - the gym, the pigeon fancier and the sex scene and as a more world-weary 42 year old, the gym sequence still works very well. The pigeon fancier suffers the same fate as many other `incidents' - you get to know the characters, in the full knowledge that they're going to die shortly - and the sex scene is remarkably coy (so much so that I wondered if I'd missed one). There's also a lengthy section in the middle, where Holman goes to a meeting at Whitehall, that is so full of exposition it literally stops the story dead. Having said that, this is full of terrific sequences - the church attack, the madness-induced fight that Casey (Holman's girlfriend) and Holman have and the superb Bournemouth sequence, which is truly brilliant, whilst making you cringe at the sheer scale and terror of it. The climax descended a little too much into 50s/60s sci-fi tropes for me, but a good read nonetheless and it still packs a solid punch. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT GET CAUGHT IN...THE FOG, 19 Jan. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with a quite original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the depths of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and taking away all restraint. Suddenly, all formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno. It is a disaster from which there is seemingly no end.
As the fog moves from place to place, it leaves in its wake a swath of grisly devastation, as murders, rapes, mass suicides, and looting become a way of life. Even animals succumb to the fog, as treasured pets turn on their owners. Only one man has managed to emerge with his sanity still intact, and a group of scientists in an underground laboratory are laboring to find out the reason for his seeming immunity. For in him lies the secret to the fog's destruction and the liberation of mankind from the effects of the fog. Time, however, is of the essence and is running out.
This is really a terrific novel, well paced, tautly written, and totally absorbing. It is an absolute page turner, with scenes of horror matter factly written, making it all the more believable and horrific, while tinged by a trace of dark humor. The tension is crisply maintained throughout the entire book, from start to finish, and makes for a riveting read that is hard to put down. This is a must read for all those who love a good horror story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant example of horror writing. A total classic., 17 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Fog: NTW (Paperback)
As a childhood fan of every horror film from Nightmare on Elm street to Dawn of the Dead, I never had any trouble with any form of horror. Most books I had read completely failed to scare me. Until a friend recomended James Herbert's books to me. I went out and bought The Fog the next day, not believing that a book could ever be so scary. But when I started reading I found that not only could I not put the book down, reading for several hours straight, but I was near terrified! I had never read a book so bleak, so impossible, yet completely believable ,due to the brilliant descriptions of the events which take place. If you have not read it, buy it. If you have read it, don't you think it's time you read it again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BE AFRAID...BE VERY AFRAID..., 22 Nov. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fog (Hardcover)
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with quite an original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the bowels of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and removing all restraint. Suddenly, formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno. It is a disaster from which there is seemingly no end.
As the fog moves from place to place, it leaves in its wake a swath of grisly devastation, as murder, rape, mass suicide, and looting become a way of life. Even animals succumb to the fog, which turns treasured pets into killers that their owners cannot control. Only one man has managed to emerge with his sanity still intact, and a group of scientists in an underground laboratory are laboring to find out the reason for his seeming immunity. For in him lies the secret to the fog's destruction and the liberation of mankind from the effects of the fog. Time, however, is of the essence and is running out.
This is really a terrific novel, well-paced, tautly written, and totally absorbing. It is an absolute page turner, with scenes of horror written in a spare, no nonsense, matter of fact style, making it all the more believable and horrific, all while tinged by a trace of dark humor. The tension is crisply maintained throughout the entire book from start to finish, which makes for a riveting read that is hard to put down. This is a must read for all those who love a good horror story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Workmanlike British Sci-Fi Horror, 18 July 2011
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FOG BARGAIN CD AUDIO (Audio CD)
A gripping story of an accident and its aftermath. The central character is well realised and there is empathy generated for all of the characters which are the strongest part of this novel. The idea of a government-military mistake and the attempt at cover up contrasted with the bravery of all those trying to deal with it, is described better than most novels. It is a bit dated being clearly set in the 1970s but that does not detract from the story. However do not expect too much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BE AFRAID....BE VERY AFRAID..., 7 Sept. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog (Audio Cassette)
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with quite an original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the bowels of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and removing all restraint. Suddenly, formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno. It is a disaster from which there is seemingly no end.
As the fog moves from place to place, it leaves in its wake a swath of grisly devastation, as murder, rape, mass suicide, and looting become a way of life. Even animals succumb to the fog, which turns treasured pets into killers that their owners cannot control. Only one man has managed to emerge with his sanity still intact, and a group of scientists in an underground laboratory are laboring to find out the reason for his seeming immunity. For in him lies the secret to the fog's destruction and the liberation of mankind from the effects of the fog. Time, however, is of the essence and is running out.
This is really a terrific novel, well-paced, tautly written, and totally absorbing. It is an absolute page turner, with scenes of horror written in a spare, no nonsense, matter of fact style, making it all the more believable and horrific, all while tinged by a trace of dark humor. The tension is crisply maintained throughout the entire book from start to finish, which makes for a riveting read that is hard to put down. This is a must read for all those who love a good horror story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Hebert R.I.P., 5 April 2013
By 
Kez (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
I have been a James Herbert fan since picking up 'The Rats' as a teenager. In fact 'The Rats' was probably the first book I ever read properly. Prior to that it was the stuff that you had to read at school, 'Far from the madding crowd' etc... (I am not knocking that book it just wasn't the sort of thing that cut the ice with a teenage boy) So it was with great sadness that I read of his death.

My reading habits have changed over the years. As a teenager I loved books like 'The Rats' and 'The Fog' I now read a much wider range of books, but I have always looked forward to the publication of the next James Herbert book.

So it was interesting re-reading 'The Fog' over 35 years later.

In the forward to the book James Herbert said the book made him a lot of enemies and a lot of friends when it was published and he considered rewriting it at one stage. I am glad he left it alone, it is still a great story. A story of madness, mayhem and murder. I found it totally engrossing and a real page turner. There are some horrific scenes in this book and I can think of one scene in particular that still makes me cringe after all these years. But it isn't all mindless violence, there is a fast paced absorbing thriller in there too. A great read.

So thank you James for many a sleepless night over the years, you will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror At Its Best : The Reason I Read These Books, 13 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
Hello all

I am re-reading my way through the works of James Herbert while waiting for the next Wheel Of Time book and I am beginning to enjoy myself. This is probably one of Herbert's best books with a strong opening of a government agent driving through a Wiltshire village that suddenly suffers an earthquake. Saved initially by his car and then by climbing out of the hole the agent goes mad having had a major dose of the creeping, climbing yellow mist making its way to the surface aka The Fog. Having had his life saved by doctors who inadvertantly make him immune to the fog, he then searches for a way to defeat it. Others caught in the fog are not so lucky and madness and death abound with old grudges revenged, schoolboys running amok in a gymnasium, the mass suicide of a major seaside town and a descent into madness of most of London. This is a fast paced action book which leaves you wanting more and although a little gory and not for the faint hearted any horror fans out there yet to read it, it comes well recommended. One of the best. (From James Herbert The Fog 1999 Pan Books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes other horror seem tame., 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I started it with trepidation. I erroneously associated with a good but rather tame John Carpenter film. This book is much more visceral than I expected. However, it is not the gore or level of violence that makes this novel work it is the pacing. From the very beginning we are quickly brought into the character's individual worlds only to watch them become twisted and warped both physically and mentally. A much recommended book that thrives on its portrayals of madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars READABLE..................., 25 Oct. 2009
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
I read it in bed but it didn't keep me awake. As with all the James Herbert novels I have read, it is horror at its tamest. Yellow fog emerges from a crack in the ground. Those who came in contact with it go off their trolleys and do things which at the time this book was written, may have shocked the reader as Herbert was touching on quite naughty, naughty subjects.
Why the author has to go into the finite details of our hero's nocturnal "goings on" in the midst of a horror novel, is beyond me and I could have done without it. Such detail is better suited to, and better written by Jackie Collins.
The plot was rather simple and I have driven in worse fogs many a time, but never without remembering my favourite "Ghosts of Sleath", and never in a Renault. (You will have to read that book to understand what I am going on about). Some of the characters were quite promising but never got off the ground - the lady scientist - a very nice person indeed.
However, I quite enjoyed it and overlooking his much later and rather disappointing "Crickley Hall", no doubt I shall read more of Mr Herberts work. Anything scarier frightens me too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fog
The Fog by James Herbert (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews