Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will gnaw into your mind
Big black rats that gnaw eat and chew.

The first of the Rats trilogy, I tore through this book in a matter of days. The way it is written is very clever indeed, an easy read that is gripping with the advance of the Rats and the increase in frequency of attacks. No punches are pulled and the writing style is tight and compelling. After reading this you WILL want...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Love Halloween!

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rats by James Herbert
I read this over Halloween and I was actually getting just a little chilled by the experience. Not frightened, certainly, but it made me look at rats in a different way.
In The Rats, Herbert's first published novel, a new breed of rat appears in London, larger and more ferocious with a taste for human flesh. London is attacked by the beasts and it is up to a select...
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by Mark Barlow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rats - James Herbert, 21 Aug 2008
By 
S. Sutherland (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rats (Paperback)
Being the first "Horror" book I've ever read, "The Rats" really does live up to it's genre, I've never found it so difficult to bite my nails and turn the page at the same time.

Set in East London in the seventies, the young art teacher - Harris, plays our leading man. Harris finds himself in working with the Minister of Health and the police force after a surge of decease carrying rats the size of dogs mercilessly attacked and devoured the public.

This horror novel comes with so much shocking gore I couldn't put it down, I really enjoyed it, even though it gave me the heebie jeebies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Paperback)
love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!, 6 Jan 2004
By 
Sharon (British Isles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rats (Paperback)
This isnt the first book of Herberts i have read (haunted, magic cottage) but it is definetly the best so far!!!! I went on holiday to mexico and ended up reading this book!! I swear i couldnt put this book down, and i have just finished reading the lair and that isnt as good but, excellent all the same.
An excellent book that you wont be able to put down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
A book you'll want to read to the end. Lacks any great depth but is quick and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rats, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this story, good read, would recommend this book to any one who likes a good chilling story. Thought it would be a bit lame tbh but was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rats, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
Compelling reading, you will not want to put it down, edge of the seat reading from start to finish,brilliantly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rats- classic, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
Rats is an amazing book. Timeless. I could read it over and over again. Reading it makes you feel like you 're there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Kindle Edition)
Always brilliant no matter how many times u read it....there is always a part u forget and it hits u like a brick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Herbert, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rats (Paperback)
Following the death of James Herbert I have started reading his novels. This one is particularly gruesome. I am intrigued by the imagination that he must have had. The book reels you in with every page. It will keep the reader up all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rats
The Rats by James Herbert (Paperback - 5 Mar 2010)
£6.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews