Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars155
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2013
great book that illuminates the inability of humans to change their morals irrespective of their technical progress It takes an alien to show us the way. great story line that was spoilt for me by introducing too much of the super natural.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
New to the genre of sci - fi fiction, but this book I truly loved. The story really pulls you in and moves at a good pace. The way Arthur C. Clarke describes things in his novel will blow your mind. The mans imagination is incredible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
I would loved to read this book in 1953 when it was first released but this was way before my team. Although themes have been taken and reused since, the book is still shockingly current and imaginary. A great read for scifi lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Heard of this book from the sky 1 trailer 3 part series. I thought this looks like a great book o could read and it was. Fast paced. Keeps you wondering right till the end. And the people who made the tv series did it no justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
One of Arthur C Clarke's best novels now in a nice Kindle version. This is one of the science-fiction books I read as a teenager and which made me understand that mankind can have a future an a grander scale. Will we?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Really liked it, good book well written. I like Clarke's style and this book was a good read, the ending felt a little flat, i guess they were trying to make a point but it felt a little rushed. Its quite short too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
One of the most melancholic science fiction books ever written. It could be viewed as envisaging an optimistic end point for mankind but few readers will really feel that way at the end of this SF classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Quite possibly the best Sci-Fi novel I have ever had the pleasure to read. Incredible depiction and storyline arc of alien visitors to Earth and the outcome of such an event. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
A true classic of science fiction. Just as relevant today as it was when it was first written in the 50s. A TV version is in development by the Syfy channel. Hope they make a good job of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Had heard of Arthur C Clark but never read any of his books. Apparently this was his best one. I will let you know when I have read all of the others. I am officially hooked on his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.