Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, thought provoking SF which is still relevent today.
A brilliant book in which Clarke explores the theme of man's position within the universe. Unlike a lot of Clarke's work which draws heavily on scientific principles this is not a factually based novel.
A highly fantastic plot sees a race of aliens take control of earth and outlaw all immoral acts, instantly producing world peace, through use of their superior...
Published on 11 Nov 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it and hated it at the same time
I liked it because it kept me guessing, because I really wanted to know who or what the Overlords were; because I wanted to find out what happened to the children and because I wasn't prepared for the ending until reasonably close, to the ending. Which is generally how I like my endings to manifest.
I hated it at the same time because I loathed the characters. I...
Published 2 months ago by Mel Powell


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sad Evolution, 24 July 2007
By 
Jeffers (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
This was one of the 1st Science Fiction books I read as a child. It gave me a powerful jolt at the time and has left a lasting impression.

It may be short, but I sometimes think this is an advantage, but few science fiction books, I have since read have been nearly so good.

Maybe this book, has dated slightly in some ways, but the ideas and concepts remain unsurpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on and still fresh., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the first of Sir Arthur's works that I read around 1967. It's just a joy to read and really does put the human project into perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastuc fiction, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's amazing even a story 60 odd years old still entertains.. The author catches you with his imagination and makes you believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the Classic Radio Sci-Fi range, 12 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a big fan of radio sci-fi (both old and new), I was really pleased to see this released as I'm a fan of the original written version. It's pretty close to the original, and thoroughly enjoyable. Nice to see (or hear!) that Steven Pacey (he of Tarrant fame in Blake's 7) is still keeping his hand in on the old science fiction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking classic but..., 23 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Childhood's End (Paperback)
this book is a must for all serious SF fans! When I first read this book it made a profound impression on me, however it hasn't stood the test of time well and on a recent re-reading it seemed dated and perhaps a little melodramatic.
Having said that, however, this is still one of the classics of SF, imaginative, thought provoking and very readable.
The ending is poignant and unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any scifi fan, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever had one of those books you cant put down?
No?
Then buy this now.
2001 might be Arthur C Clarke's most famous story, but this is his best story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best works of science-fiction., 25 July 2013
Fantastic, imaginative science-fiction. Arthur C. Clarke at his best. Deals with the massive question of Mankind's place in the Universe and blows away the idea that the Earth is important when placed in the context of a Universe which is unimaginably vast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb and thought provoking but dated, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Childhood's End (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. Written in the early fifties, it involves an alien invasion that turns out to be benign. The aliens stay out of sight, apart from the huge ships parked over each of the cities of the world. They end all war, create a utopia over all the earth and bring a golden age of peace and prosperity. It's unbelievable that this could happen so quickly but the book is about ideas and possibilities rather than pragmatic realities. The aliens are here to help the human race transcend to the next level of consciousness. A stowaway travels to the home world of the aliens, 40 light years away, at near light speed and is only six months older when he returns. Meanwhile the Earth has moved on by 80 years, a device to give a human perspective of the changes on Earth in the interim. These numbers are garbage unfortunately but again the book is about concepts. It's well worth reading and will certainly stimulate thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No much else to say other than the Headline!.... Sci-Fi at its pinnacle. Great story, great characters and a very very poignant ending!...What more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Childhood's End
Childhood's End by Arthur C Clarke (Paperback - 7 May 2010)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews