Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 5, marvellous
Chelsea Cain has, yet again, written a gripping thriller, bringing back Detective Archie Sheridan and his nemesis, Gretchen Lowell.

There's a slight change of style in the way this book is written. It is a little more light-hearted though, be warned, Cain's ability to pile on the gruesome has not diminished at all. Amongst the carnage there is a little humour...
Published 23 months ago by Michael Watson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I could put this one down unlike the previous 2
I was so looking forward to this book being released however, felt a little let down.
How many times can Gretchen escape? I just feel its a little extreme now and am not sure if I would read the next sequel as I'm sure there will be one seeing as she has disappeared yet again !
Published 13 months ago by Kathryn Rogan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I could put this one down unlike the previous 2, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
I was so looking forward to this book being released however, felt a little let down.
How many times can Gretchen escape? I just feel its a little extreme now and am not sure if I would read the next sequel as I'm sure there will be one seeing as she has disappeared yet again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Time has come for Gretchen's Departure - 6 Feet Under..., 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Paperback)
... she would fit in fine!

In the fourth book of the series Night Season C. Cain let us take a mere peek at Gretchen just at the end, when trialed. And a changed Archie took his stand in a way that let me hope that he (and we with him) can finally set sails and make his (our) way to other, more pleasant destinations.

But no, also in this 5th book good Chelsea goes on with (ab-)using the relationship between Archie Sheridan, healed from his painkiller addiction and the Beauty Killer, Gretchen. Obviously Archie has finally recovered from their insane relation, too. Yes, he really seems to beam at the notice that the 'Beauty' looks more like a 'Beast' in this days ...
Our madwoman is locked into a 'High Security Mental Health Institution' for natural lifetime being. Drugged and deformed beyond recognition she spends her days on the way to some kind of reformation. As if a character like hers could ever be straightened out!

In the meanwhile Archie and his partner Henry are tasked with stopping another violent killer terrorizing the Portland, Oregon area. This very special murderer is taking particular pleasure in torturing his victims, for example skinning, mutilating and burning them alive. There is a detail - naturally not revealed to the Public - that links several killings to make the killer a serial one ...
Then around comes Gretchen, with insisting the killer is an old acquaitance of herself, a man that is using the pseudonym of one Colin Beaton. This Colin person shares a past with Gretchen, as they both were in care of the same foster parents for some time in their youth.
And Archie has to realize the extent of the damaged individual's psyche that he is up against. The question which becomes vital for him and Henry is, will Gretchen help him to catch and stop Colin or is she planning to contact in some way her former foster brother and help him in his sick killing spree?
To make matters worse, Colin believes he is on a spiritual mission and this makes him the more difficult to stop.
Then an accident happens which turns the whole story upside down, confining to the incredible ... I don't want to spoil here, but because of this twist of the story the book makes it in my scale to 3 stars only.
Because the more the merrier is NOT the right formula to keep the readers close!

In this thriller also the peripheral characters like Susan the now ex-reporter and her boyfriend who seems to be the heir of a Number One Drug Thug play their very important roles and the surprises do not stop as their individual agendas will be revealed.

For sure I have given some very intense thoughts on the direction this series will be moving forward. One of the truly satisfying aspects of this book is Archie's liberation from Gretchen's control. But with this one we have already had five books that basically revolve around that sick relationship.
It would have been better to send Gretchen to her Final Destination, her body Six Feet Under and her soul - if she ever had one - to THAT place some steps downstairs and much, much 'hotter'...

The book is a solid thriller and a good read for those who like the serial killer genre.
If, yes if ... Chelsea Cain wouldn't have spoiled the pleasure of the read at a certain point, she could have gained minimum one star more ...
Let us see what comes around in the next thriller Chelsea Cain will produce.
Yes - produce, because it seems to be a production line assembled to deliver a good deal more of Archie/Gretchen stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 5, marvellous, 31 July 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Paperback)
Chelsea Cain has, yet again, written a gripping thriller, bringing back Detective Archie Sheridan and his nemesis, Gretchen Lowell.

There's a slight change of style in the way this book is written. It is a little more light-hearted though, be warned, Cain's ability to pile on the gruesome has not diminished at all. Amongst the carnage there is a little humour and I think a straightfaced irony when she said the morgue was working with a skeleton staff seemed a missed opportunity.

Gretchen Lowell is very much incarcerated, suffering the rigours of a regime plying her with drugs to try to cure her desire for killing - and killing in the most agonising and horrific manner. But a serial killer is out there nontheless and Gretchen knows who he is, since he seems to be copying her routines.

Despite the traumatic treatment Sheridan suffered at the hands of Lowell, he still has an almost uncontrollable need to be close to her much to the apprehension of his long-suffering partner, Harry and let's not forget Susan Ward, the investigative reporter who adds the humour whilst tripping up the way the investigation takes shape. She, too, has more than a soft spot for Archie.

There are a few red herrings, some neat twists that have now become synonymous with Cain's books and just when you thought it was all over, it wasn't.

This is a stand alone book in its own right but it would be a minor crime if new readers don't begin with 'The Night Season' and follow the course of Archie's treatment at the hands of Gretchen Lowell. We learn a lot more about her in this book, her family background- well, some of it pertinent to the actions of the serial killer on the loose in this story and frankly, it's yet another example of how to keep a reader hooked. I wish other less qualified authors would take note.

Cain introduces a few more characters or, at least, gives those who have played some role previously, a larger playing part here. Susan's mother is suitably whacky, hence the character of her daughter who shines through, does her best with an innocent charm and leaves Archie with a dilemma. Thankfully, we know there must be a book 6 next year but where will that take us? Gretchen has dictated the storylines up to now in each book, whether on the loose or in prison. Can the author continue to make this work? I think so, definitely yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cain on the slide?, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all the previous novels and Gretchen has developed into an infamous and intriguing serial killer. However I felt the writing and story line here were below par, with almost amateurish and sloppy writing. Chelsea Cain can and should do a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
Never tire of this series. Gripping storyline & just Love the relation ships between all the main Characters. Can't wait for her next one to be released on kindle :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
I think if you are new to this series you will really enjoy this book as it has plenty of action and is quite compulsive with Gretchen Lowell, a convicted serial killer, pulling strings from her psychiatric ward bed - no, I didn't say it was realistic, just compulsive. I, on the other hand, have read all the books in the series and feel that the well has run dry on the Archie/Gretchen thing. Ms Cain proved herself more than capable of moving beyond this tired, sick relationship in her previous novel, The Night Season, but has chosen to go back to it. It's just more of the same - Archie can't resist Gretchen and Gretchen, the master manipulator, uses that to yank his chain and pursue her own agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars so nearly made it to 5 stars!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
As always a very good read but spoiled for me in a very far fetched and impossible to believe conclusion . It won't stop me from signing up for the next edition, I have no doubt ere will be one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read, keeps the pace up. Compulsive hero and protagonist. Little too heavy on the gory details for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars First CC novel, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
I read this as my first CC novel - I should have read in sequence. However, good pace and decent characters. Spoiled by 'thin' ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill You Twice (Kindle Edition)
Good exciting book with getting to know the characters involved. I will certainly purchase another book by this author shortly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill You Twice
Kill You Twice by Chelsea Cain (Paperback - 14 Feb 2013)
6.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews