Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Poet and an excellent service, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Love Poems (Hardcover)
After attending a reading by the author at The Royal Exchange in Manchester, you simply could not fail to fall in love with the Passion and humour contained within. Each poem was placed into its context and was delivered complete with everything the author intended. This not only inspires you to read more of her work, but helps you understand her very clever perspectives. Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Poems - brilliant, 13 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Love Poems (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I had read the poem Valentine and loved it. This book only has poems with the theme of love or relationships. It's brilliant, has lots of poems, and each poem has a different theme/emotion to it. It's hardback and the cover is great as well so it would make a good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 16 Feb 2012
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Poems (Hardcover)
This is a compilation of some of the most popular love poetry of Carol Ann Duffy. It includes the wonderful "Warming her Pearls", "Mrs Lazarus", and "Hour". The poems are taken from Selling Manhattan, The Other Country, New Selected Poems, Mean Time, The World's Wife, Feminine Gospels, Rapture, and The Bees. If you are looking for a poem to write to a Valentine, then this would be a good choice. But this is a book both of love poems, and poems about the hurt which remains when love has left the building, leaving the shells of people behind, such as "Disgrace" or "Adultery".

It is a book worth getting. The poems are excellent, and you could spend hours chewing over the words and phrases in some of the poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another addictive volume of verses/poems, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Jay Rainbow (bolton england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Hardcover)
I love Carol Ann Duffy and was not disapointed in anyway with this collection of poems even though I already have most of them in other books its a lovely read to have them all together. If you enjoy her work and love to spend an hour relaxing witha volume then buy this book its not gushy love its real raw emotional love,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful gift, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Paperback)
If you love poetry this poet has contemporary poems to delight and you will not be disappointed with this little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Paperback)
Quick dispatch, great quality. No damages on the item. I absolutely love this book, it contains one of my favorite poems, Valentine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Love Poems (Kindle Edition)
This is such a beautiful book I had just finished reading The fools poetry Stories Of You and i now have the bug for poetry. This book would make a great present for someone special in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought as a gift, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Paperback)
Bought as a birthday present for a female friend who is a fan of Carol Ann - she loved them, although the paper quality wasn't the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Paperback)
Just the perfect gift for a sweetheart,, Poems by C D are all goo and seem honest and moving, great ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exam work, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poems (Paperback)
I am not very fond of Carol Ann Duffy but am going to hear her read her peoms at the Guardian next week - they are also part of my AS studies. I think that hearing her read her poems will open a new was of understanding and feeling about them for me then I will enjoy having her book much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Poems
Love Poems by Carol Ann Duffy (Paperback - 3 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews