Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Stanhope - the best so far
Jenny Lister was perfect - a caring mother, a committed and principled social worker and, when DI Vera Stanhope opens the door to the steam room at a fashionable health club, perfectly dead. Vera doesn't believe in perfect people - and she's not that keen on social workers.

The investigation oscillates between the semi-private world of the health club and the...
Published on 1 Feb 2011 by hbw

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Having never watched the tv series but heard good things about it, decided to try one of the books. This is one of those occasions where the tv is better I think. Don't like the characters, the storyline was boring. Got to the point where I didn't care who done it.
Published 4 months ago by mrs ann tickle


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Stanhope - the best so far, 1 Feb 2011
By 
hbw (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jenny Lister was perfect - a caring mother, a committed and principled social worker and, when DI Vera Stanhope opens the door to the steam room at a fashionable health club, perfectly dead. Vera doesn't believe in perfect people - and she's not that keen on social workers.

The investigation oscillates between the semi-private world of the health club and the Tyne Valley village of Barnard Bridge, where Jenny lived. Both communities are hives of gossip, rumour, snobbery and infighting, but is there anything that would justify murder? And is there any connection with the death of six year old Elias Jones, the boy Social Services was supposed to protect?

This is by far the best Vera Stanhope novel to date, with the same strengths and none of the weaknesses. Vera is now well established as the sharp-witted, sharp-tongued detective who is not above using Miss Marple's tactic of a cosy chat over a nice cup of tea ("if you're putting the kettle on, pet"), even if she would prefer whiskey.

Once again, Cleeves maintains a brisk pace, using a well crafted blend of narrative and dialogue. She has a strong sense of place and a feel for the way in which landscape shapes the lives of the inhabitants of England's most sparsely populated county. This is used to dramatic effect in a final race against time when even the forces of nature seem determined to thwart the police as they close in on the killer.

If you haven't read any of the other Vera Stanhope novels, you could do worse than start with "Silent Voices".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Voices, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has been my favourite 'Vera' so far. Wonderfully real characters as usual and no way of guessing whodunnit. The interweaving lives of a small community with the coincidences and chance-meetings are absolutely believable and tantalising. And Vera,a bit more sympathetic in this one I thought, and a bit more appreciative of her team, but not so much that we lose the curmudgeonly reluctance to actually praise them. The usual red herrings of wierdos are cheek-by-jowl with long-buried secrets and skeletons in cupboards, with Vera eventually teasing all the threads into rather a sad conclusion that leaves you thinking about the characters left behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera, a very unorthodox detective, 24 Mar 2012
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope) (Paperback)
Had I known that this was about missing children it would not have been my choice of reading - a subject I tend to steer clear of. Yet once I had begun reading I was gripped. Vera is a strange woman and a strange detective with many "issues" emanating from her poor relationship with Hector her father and her own guilt and Hector's resentment that she is alive and her mother dead in childbirth. Hector is alongside her most of the time. She is unable to free herself from him and his cruelty with birds especially is a constant recurrence with her. That said her concentration on crime-solving, whilst not totally attentive, brings results with the help of the long-suffering Joe Ashworth. This story opens when Vera, an unlikely member of a gym club, finds the body of Jenny Lister, a social worker. Vera has no time for social workers but becomes involved with another, Connie, and thus begins so many twists and inter-relationships resulting in an unexpected denouement. I just love the way she "pets" everyone. Only someone so non-pc could get away with it. She's lovely. So sad she's never had a man - or a woman. Love has eluded her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another case where a definitive parenting handbook could have saved a lot of problems, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ann Cleeves has a fine feel for the dynamics of families and often writes about the consequences of family breakdowns. "Silent Voices" fits into that category--maybe bringing definition to it. Estimable protagonist Vera Stanhope, Detective Inspector in a northern English county, often deals with her own family issues as she dives into a case involving the murder of a social worker who is connected to the much-publicized killing of a child under the supervision of her services office. As DI Stanhope's investigation of the woman's murder broadens, a moderately large cast of walking wounded characters is added to the mix, each with some motive for the crime. A second murder removes one of the suspects, but doesn't immediately resolve the first killing. Resolution eventually comes down to the mysteries and pitfalls of parenthood and their potential for invisible damage to hapless offspring.

This is a deftly written story with characters that outweigh the storyline in importance and interest. The intrepid Vera is onstage virtually every page, and while her own preoccupations with her less than stellar appearance are close to excessive here, her integrity and humanity compensate for the frequent self-absorption. This a good read with only the occasional red herring/false note to annoy fans of the genre. Cleeves is a terrific writer who is definitely up there with the best in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pet, 24 July 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I first met Vera Stanhope in the television series, 'Vera', played by Brenda Blethyn. I liked this series annoy because of the bedraggled Vera, who is large and obese, and knows it, and doesn't give a darn. She has her trusted colleagues who follow her ,and who know she is the best detective they will ever work with, even if she is annoying at times.

In this novel, Vera has been told by her new physician she must exercise or some unwanted, awful thing will befall her. She knows it is the right thing to do and joins an exercise club. She swims, and on this day decides to have a steam bath. Instead she finds a dead woman in the steam bath, and her new case begins. The woman, a social worker, has led somewhat of an exemplary life, but there are many other characters who knew her who have unsavory pasts or things to hide.

I like Ann Cleeves writing, the characters come to life and are very believable. . Vera seems to be able to run her investigation as she pleases, which does not seem to be the real life of a detective. Vera is very clever, she knows how to get under the skin of the people she talks to, and she knows when to be kind and motherly. She calls everyone, Pet, which conveys several meanings, and you have to be able to pick the one that fits the situation. The conclusion is smartly done, and since much of Vera's life revolves around food, the final chapter is at the Inn where thevmurder took place in the dining room. Vera and her colleagues celebrate their good choices.

Recommended. prisrob 07-24-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having never watched the tv series but heard good things about it, decided to try one of the books. This is one of those occasions where the tv is better I think. Don't like the characters, the storyline was boring. Got to the point where I didn't care who done it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Ms. Wk Kelsall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic new novel from Ann Cleeves. Really love Vera, I had read all the Ann Cleeves novels before they were televised and really enjoyed them all, not just the 'Vera' ones. Keep writing Ms Cleeves, I am ready for the next one and thank you.

Wendy K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunites, 14 Oct 2014
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspector Vera Stanhope is played to perfection in the TV series by the wonderful Brenda Blethyn and thus I was interested in reading this book when offered on the kindle daily deal. Vera is not like other detectives who tend to have affairs and problem home lives. By her own admission she is large and shambolic with bare legs and blotchy skin and never wears makeup. There is a comical, even touching scene when Vera interiews the main suspect in the murder of social worker Jenny Lister, and there is a stirring of lust within her...."He smiled again and sat on the floor facing them. The movement was fluid, very graceful, and it came to Vera, unbidden, that he'd be very good at sex. The physical stuff. Was that part of his attraction? She felt a moment of panic, of the old regret that time was slipping past. Then something close to lust."

The story however is somewhat stilted and apart from this wonderful portrayal we are reduced to chapter upon chapter of police procedural as the team gathers together suspects in an attempt to find not only the murder of Jenny Lister but teenager Danny. DI Stanhope is helped in her investigation by Sergeant Joe Asquith a colleague she is jealous of with his settled home life and trendy "Ikea" furniture.

I believe this story would have been more attractive if greater attention had been paid to the unravelling of the main characters and their flaws together with a better use of the setting...the beautiful rugged Northumbrian coast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 25 April 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over the two books I've read featuring Vera Stanhope, I've become quite fond of the character. Middle aged, overweight, likes a drink, occasionally curmudgeonly, sartorially challenged and a discerning eye for a younger man, she's the antithesis of so many of her male counterparts in crime thriller series. Although she often seems slightly out of step, there's a comfortable feel about her. The apparently shambolic appearance and attitude hides a razor sharp mind and acute psychological insight which takes the reader through every twist and turn of the plot.

Vera discovers a social worker's body at the local health spa. She was involved with a case where a child was murdered. The finger of suspicion swings back and forth; Anne Cleeves is adept at both dropping clues and throwing in red herrings. A diverse range of characters could have opportunity and motive. Characterisation is excellent and I felt as if I were sitting in on the interviews and discussions as the story both develops and unfolds.

Part of the joy of these stories is the apparent simplicity. They seem to roll along what could be a dull investigative route. In fact, there's a lot going on, all character driven and there is insight and perception in the telling. People are the main players; their troubles, aspirations, motivations and shortcomings are carefully built up and dissected as the tale progresses. I'm looking forward to reading further books in this series. Very different to the Shetland books, equally enjoyable and, for me, will remain unsullied by TV adaptations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky double murder mystery - little bit slow but great characters., 13 Jun 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like Vera. I think she's been cleverly created. Middle aged, fond of a drink, overweight, dressed in a shapeless overcoat, an eye for the younger man and a brilliant detective in a completely random, cranky way. With Vera this author has taken all that's familiar and popular from a huge crop of fictional male detectives, TV and literature, and housed them in a female persona. You wonder why Vera feels so completely familiar?. You've met up with her many times before through the likes of Inspector Frost. That's a really clever thing to accomplish.

I'm a fan of the quirky relationship between Vera and her sidekick Joe Ashworth. Two people couldn't be any more different and yet; he understands her and they gel. It's that connection that comes into play in Silent Voices and helps drive the plot forwards.

The plot's quite basic, nothing wrong with that, a social worker is murdered and the police investigation into her death uncovers a series of random clues. Evidence seems to point back to the murder of a child she might have been professionally involved with. The heart of the investigation twists and turns upon Vera's ability to uncover the clues Not so easy when the evidence seems to point in different directions. Ann Cleeves fully involves the reader in the investigation and the police procedure is nicely handled and believable.

There's little in the way of action but enough of a building mystery to keep the reader hooked. As always, with Vera, it's the characterisation that's strongest and that's certainly the key to enjoying the story.

Well worth paying for this download and I enjoyed the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope)
Silent Voices (Vera Stanhope) by Ann Cleeves (Paperback - 16 Sep 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews