Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but conclussion to easy
So far, I've picked up and enjoyed each of these wonderful new tales featuring a young Sherlock Holmes and to be honest they've been thrilling, there has been mystery and above all else a cool clear deductive mind solves the clues as they appear with tips of the hat to the original Conan Doyle texts.

What this, the third instalment, offers the reader is pretty...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars good but not the best
loved the book before this called red leach ! it was an amazing tale
so with high hopes i purchased this one on my kidle.
i got to 60 per cent through and i was not gript because it was not very thirlling it simply just went : and then he did this, and then he did that.
i would NOT recomend this book but i would recommend young sherlock holmes red leach
Published 13 months ago by Joss M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but conclussion to easy, 31 May 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
So far, I've picked up and enjoyed each of these wonderful new tales featuring a young Sherlock Holmes and to be honest they've been thrilling, there has been mystery and above all else a cool clear deductive mind solves the clues as they appear with tips of the hat to the original Conan Doyle texts.

What this, the third instalment, offers the reader is pretty much a lot of the same. The writing is crisp, the storyline addictive as well as well thought out and the characters evolve as new skills come to the fore for them all. Add to this a larger role for Mycroft in this tale and its one that was a lot of fun to read. My only criticism of this title is that it felt that it ended a little abruptly and transferred back to a familiar location almost as if a chapter or two had been cut from the story. All in it is fun but to have it end in such a way I felt was unfair to the reader who after traveling along with the Holmes' fir the full story deserved to meet one of Mycroft's contemporaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Sherlock meets Young Sherlock, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
This book took me by surprise when I finished it, the story line was so amazing and Mycroft had a bigger role in the book too.

You really start to see Sherlock develop more into the character we know and love from the original books. Black Ice starts off like a Young Sherlock book and then turns into a canon style Sherlock book with the investigation of the crime scene and finding clues that the police couldn't find and the typical Sherlock deductions too but still keeps the feel of a Young Sherlock novel.

This book is the best in the series so far. Well done Andrew Lane for the brilliant series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Ice, 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Young Sherlock Holmes: Black Ice is the third book in Andrew Lane's series about the formative years of the great detective and to my mind it is the best and most intriguing story in the series so far.

Black Ice begins with some classic `locked room mystery' action as Sherlock Holmes and his tutor, Amyus Crowe, travel to London to visit Mycroft, Sherlock's older brother, at his Club. Shortly after arriving at the Diogenes Club, Sherlock and Amyus hear a commotion coming from the Stranger's Room [the one place in the Club where it is permissible to talk] and, when the door is unlocked from the inside, they discover Mycroft, knife in hand and puzzled expression on face, standing over a dead body. While the police may believe it to be an open and shut case, Sherlock is far from convinced and so, aided by Amyus, he sets out to clear his brother's name.

Of course, the mysteries that Sherlock Holmes becomes embroiled in are never straightforward and in Black Ice young Sherlock must face danger both on and under the streets of London, suss out which of the various shady characters can be trusted, and piece together political intrigue that necessitates a hazardous journey to Russia, all the while avoiding dive-bombings for murderous falcons.

In Black Ice we really see the character of young Sherlock be shaped into that of the famous detective as he struggles to banish emotions and really solely on logic [there's always been something of the Vulcan about Sherlock Holmes]. His detective skills and deductive reasoning are really shaping up too, which is just as well since there is less of a guiding role for Amyus Crowe in this book.

With Amyus playing less of a part in the adventure, in Black Ice we get to learn more about both Mycroft Holmes and Rufus Stone. Mycroft emerges as a particularly fabulous though unlikely hero and all round good egg - I'm hoping my membership of the Diogenes Club comes through any day now. Another consequence of the action in Black Ice taking place predominantly in London and Russia is that there are only really cameo appearances from Matty Arnatt and Virginia Crowe, but at least Mrs Eglantine manages to squeeze in a nice bit of menace at the beginning of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good young Sherlock Holmes adventure, 21 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
This is the third book in Andrew Lane's ongoing series of young Sherlock Holmes novels:

1. Young Sherlock Holmes: Death Cloud
2. Young Sherlock Holmes: Red Leech (reissued as 'Rebel Fire' in the US)
3. Young Sherlock Holmes: Black Ice

In BLACK ICE, Mycroft Holmes invites 15 year old Sherlock and his tutor Amyus Crowe to lunch at the Diogenes Club in London. They arrive at the appointed time and a club footman ushers them in, and they find Mycroft alone in a locked room with a dead body. Mycroft is in a confused state and can't recall what happened, but he is found holding the bloody murder weapon (a knife made of ice!) in his hand. The police immediately arrest Mycroft for murder, and Sherlock and Crowe must now unravel the mystery and face many unexpected dangers in both England and Russia as the story progresses. Mycroft also plays a large role in this story because international espionage is behind the attempt to frame him for the murder; he assumes the role of business manager for a small theater company traveling to Moscow to perform.

It is good to read the books in order to fully understand the background, but this is not really necessary because each story does stand alone as is. Andrew Lane remains faithful to Doyle's portrayal of Holmes, showing us how the training and experiences of young Sherlock contributed to forming the personality and skills of the adult we know so well.

So far I've read and enjoyed the first 3 books and I look forward to reading subsequent titles in the series, which will hopefully also become available on Kindle. Andrew Lane writes well and his clever plots can keep readers of all ages interested in his stories, and I recommend his works to anyone who might be interested in stories featuring a teenage Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full-blooded excitement, 14 Dec. 2011
By 
Ye Olde Ed (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
For full-blooded excitement, it would be hard to beat the Young Sherlock Holmes novels by Andrew Lane. The latest, "Black Ice", seems to take its cue from Sam Goldwyn, who said: "We want a story that starts out with an earthquake and works its way up to a climax." When Sherlock and his mentor Amyus Crowe are ushered into the Strangers' Room at the Diogenes Club, they find a dead man, stabbed through the heart, and Mycroft Holmes clutching a knife. No one else has gone in or out, and there is no other entrance. The most significant clue is a name written on the dead man's card: The Paradol Chamber. Before they can discover its meaning the brothers must face deadly danger in London and Moscow. It's fascinating to see Sherlock, who at fourteen has no real plans for a career, learning the skills that will make him an outstanding detective and undergoing experiences that shape his personality, making him in time the man we know. Rufus Stone, from "Red Leech", who taught Sherlock to play the violin, has a more substantial rôle here, making for some tension between him and Crowe, but each has a lasting effect on the boy. Sherlock's purchase of a violin from a broker in the Tottenham Court Road is a poignant episode, a touch of goodness amid the evil that threatens him. Future books will reveal something of the Holmes family's secrets, and Mr Lane has promised that next one, "Fire Storm", will see the malevolent housekeeper, Mrs Eglantine, "get her comeuppance".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Look at a Young Sherlock, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
A teenage Sherlock and his mentor, Amyus Crowe, have traveled into London to visit Sherlock's brother Mycroft. But when they arrive, they find a dazed Mycroft alone in a locked room with a dead body. The man has been stabbed, and Mycroft has the knife in his hand. Can Sherlock prove his brother is innocent? Where will this case lead?

I am very unfamiliar with Sherlock Holmes, and this book proved to me just how little I know. I felt like I should have known a bit more about some of the characters that flit across the page.

Of course, it doesn't help that this was the third book in the series but the first one I've read. Frankly, that made the book hard to get into.

The plot doesn't really get going until close to the 50 page mark. Once that happens, things do pick up. There are several action scenes that kept me turning pages. The characters are also interesting, and I definitely cared about the outcome.

If the book had started sooner, I would have liked it more. As it is, I enjoyed it, but I definitely recommend reading them in order.

Material provided through Amazon.com's Vine program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock develops his skills and grows a little colder........, 31 May 2011
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
This is the third book in this series and, I think, the best so far...SO READ THIS BOOK!!!!....its sooooo good!!!

Sherlock begins the story in Hampshire, not far from Farnham. He is being taught more and more about the world by his tutor. He is more able to use his skills of deduction and this is nicely developed.

He is then thrown into turmoil by the arrest of his brother, Mycroft, and a new adventure begins......

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I feel that the author is nicely leading us to an adult Holmes by developing Sherlocks view of he world and explaining where his amazing skills came from.

In this part of the series Sherlock travels to Russia and learns to distrust people a little bit more....he also begins to learn to banish his feelings when necessary..... I liked how this was put into the story as it explains how he becomes colder as an adult.....although, obviously Holmes is also really caring about others and the world, as is Sherlock..... but he has to learn self reliance...to grow up, if you will......

The story is a fast paced adventure of secret police, murder, imprisonment, Tsarist Russia and actors!!

So READ THIS BOOK!!!!......ITS REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD........

(... AND I look forward to learning more about the ever present Mrs.Eglantine in the next book)........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Growing Pains, 21 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Part three of Andrew Lanes "Young Sherlock Holmes" series continues the 'education' of ther future master in a very enjoyable 286 pages. In past reviewas for Holmsian societies I have written of the difficulties any author has on tackling the early years of the great detective. Lane continues to do it very well.
Ther use of untold Watson tales-in this case that of the Paradol Chamber mentioned The Five Orange Pips is a case in point. Is this Sherlocks revenge? I have mentioned in in my previous two reviews of the series the beginnings of those phrases and actions which come into full maturity in the Holmes revealed to us by Watson's writings. Black Ice continues that development and it is challanging dechipering where the older Holmes comes from. Lane does it very well.
If Andrw Lanes excellant work brings more readers to the Watson canon all to the good. I am sure it will.
The game is afoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fortunately there will be more., 21 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
The author definitely creates a young Sherlock Holmes that is believable and the reader gets plenty of clues as to what made the boy the man he became. I had feared this would be a trilogy, however it was great to know there is a 4th book coming in the series and I have already pre-ordered it. Having studied Russian history before I went into teaching I found the book very insightful as to what the Russian Empire may have been like at the time the story takes place. I could feel the bitter cold and see the gloom described by Andrew Lane. Let's have many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very very very good, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I consider a master piece of magnificence, interrogation
and action! When I first got the start book which as I recall 'Death Cloud' they all seemed too complicated but in actual fact it was explained beautifully with as much explanation as a dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes)
Black Ice (Young Sherlock Holmes) by Andrew Lane (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews