Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive work that echoes its subject's flaws
Phillipe Auclair is a widely respected French football writer and author, and long term resident of London. In combining an outsider's perspective of the Premier League with an insider's view of its French stars he is one of the most interesting voices on contemporary football. In many ways he is the natural person to write a biography of Eric Cantona.

By and...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by Jim

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit like Eric...flawed genius
First of all I would like to say that this is a fantastic book on the subject of one of the most fascinating characters certainly in football, if not in all sports. Auclair has managed to write a comprehensive account of Cantona's life right up until he retired from football in 1997 and there is even references from sources written beyond this date to make it easily the...
Published on 22 Nov 2009 by Lewis Huxley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. J. Somers (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
Great book. Discovering more about the legend that is Eric Cantona is always a thrill.
Some fantastic whitty lines in there and great photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the book that would be king, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona (Kindle Edition)
Not just a story but a pyschological explanation of one of the games greats. Insightful look in the turbulent career from an informed author who knows his subject. The author gets contributions from those who know Cantona and who have been along for this wonderful ride. The book it quite long but you will not lose interest once you start reading. One of the best football books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oui, Oui, 8 Jun 2011
I bought this book with a little trepidation given that you should never study your heroes too closely less you discover feet of clay. I'm a United fan since 1974 and, alongside Bryan Robson, rank Cantona as the greatest Red I've personally seen (I was never honoured to see Law, Best and Charlton play).

I shouldn't have worried in that I came away from Auclair's work even more intrigued by Cantona the man as I was awed by Cantona the footballer. This is a wonderful read - packed full of detail, anecdotes and devotion to the subject at hand. Anyone who, like me, watched in fascination as Cantona helped spark United's revival in 1992/93 will love every page of this book.

To be honest, it isn't your tradition sports biog - but is all the more appealing as a result. I'd also consider it pretty accessible for even non-football fans. All in all, I'd unhesitatingly recommend this book - if you're a United fan it is simply a must-read.

My only regret is that Cantona called it quits when he did - and didn't get to win Champions League medal as a Red. But the current all-conquering crop at Old Trafford owe their perch to this remarkable, occasionally frustrating French genius. Sardines and trawlers indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Tribute, 14 Dec 2010
By 
King Eric (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
This is a great football biography of a player who is an all time legend at OT. The book gives an honest account of Eric's football career both in praise of his genius as a footballer but also his character flaws (the tendency to self destruct) and the regrets that he never quite performed at his best in Europe or for France at a World Cup. I had not realised that Eric had played for so many clubs in France (indiscipline in the main getting him the boot from a few clubs) before moving to England and getting his chance of redemption both at Leeds and Manchester United. A great book for a great player. Long live the King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another money spinning sports bio..., 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
For football fans who followed the premier league through the Cantona era, this makes for some excellent reading. Far from being yet another sickly sweet money spinning sport biography, Auclair's thorough and thought-provoking style is fluid and entertaining... and yet still at times manages to sound like a Frenchman writing in English. Regularly contradictory, much like the man himself, you don't even have to be a Man Utd fan to enjoy it. I even bought it for my Dad. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
My pattner loves this fantastic birthday christmas presant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
well written and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King (Paperback)
Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eric the King, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona (Kindle Edition)
Not read it as yet.
A book about Eric is always going to be good.
Looking forward to reading on my next lot of travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit boring, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Hair "Roy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cantona (Kindle Edition)
Well researched, but the writing style provides no flavour of the characters. I was sorry I bought it to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King
Cantona: The Rebel Who Would Be King by Philippe Auclair (Paperback - 19 Feb 2010)
£7.19
In stock on December 22, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews