Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
226
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2014
The delivery came before the estimated time. I have not read it yet but browsed through and it looks as if I shall enjoy the content. New condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
There is just something really engaging about the way Marr narrates this historical record of Modern Britain. A really enjoyable and detailed read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
A great romp through post war britain. Get's shakier and duller towards the end - maybe it's too familiar? - but the post war stuff's fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Just can't get through it because of interuptions when i cannot get any book reading. I do find it interesting to know what happened last century
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
An excellent read, full of facts and memories. I lived through these times and didn't realise the amount of backbiting and intrigue that went on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
A superb work of erudition and style for the lay reader (I didn't know much about British history before I read this, other than the bare bones, and probably still do now, who knows) but to my untrained eye this seems a fabulous work.

It simply makes one wonder how he managed to synthesize so many different perspectives and sources into one coherent whole - and written with such verve and panache that one is left wishing the book will never end.

My only criticism - and it is a strong one - is that his language is far too laid back - not becoming at all of a BBC publication. He leaves himself open to charges of belonging to what has been called the 'liberal élite'. Words such as 'wadge', 'swagger' inter alia abound, and grammatical errors are simply legion and simply unconscionable for a BBC publication.

Still - definitely worth a read - everything you weren't taught at school about the subject.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Can't wait to read it! I read parts of it during my History lessons and it is really interesting but also helpful for extra background knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
An excellent summary of the modern age and how it was formed. Any level of reader will enjoy this book. It is bright, witty and full of zest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
I have lived some of the history but it was interesting to see an overview of the events that went on around me and before. An excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Very informative on the subject. I lived through much of the period Andrew writes about. Clear and delightfully easy to read for a layman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)