Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark
This is a superbly written book with characters that have lives tangibly of their own making. Although a couple of twists are not clearly plotted the story resolves as it should, which may disappoint thrill seekers - but then this book is in part about them and what happens once they crossover into the darkness (for whatever reason) where death reigns supreme. As always I...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by Big A

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to make sense of the world
For me this novel was only superficially a thriller: the violent, bleak plot which other reviewers have outlined is punctuated by the narrator's thoughts on the modern US, and by extension the world, and his feeling of dislocation from it. I think it is from this theme that the novel takes its title. He is, in the opinion of another character, a 'hick sherriff, from a...
Published on 15 Jan 2008 by patashnik


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I had to force myself to finish this book..., 1 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
I bought this book on the recommendation of other amazon readers' reviews, the fact that it had been made into a film and won awards, and on having read the copy on the back cover of the book.

Having just completed the book, I'm completely at a loss as to the comments from professional critics, such as (and I'm paraphrasing), "This is America's leading author" and "He needs to win the Nobel Prize for Literature for this book".

I find it impossible to agree with this assessment. The plot is simple enough; A man finds a bag of cash lying around from a drug deal that went wrong; takes the money and tries to escape with his life. Unfortunately, the real owner of the money sends in someone to recover it, and a trail of dead bodies has the police on the case too.

What was bothersome for me was fourfold;

1. McCarthy writes in a manner which makes comprehension extraodinarily difficult. Firstly, as another reviewer notes; he will write pages of text without letting you know who the subject of the text is. He will write pages of conversation without informing the reader who the parties to the conversation are and, annoyingly, the author appears to consider himself too important to make use of speech marks to indiciate speech. Finally, under this point - we are treated to the memoirs of the detctive at the beginnig of each chapter. I found these memoirs to be boring and irrelevant to the plot, though I accept that, if I'd spent more time over them, I'd have seen some deeper relevance. However, with a book as terrible as this, every second spent on it, was a second wasted.

2. McCarthy writes in clipped sentences which makes comprehension especially difficult. In describing the scene; he will say something like "A wintry moon. A dead kite. Spills of light through the bullet holes in the door." Other people call this 'economy of prose', but I call this lazy.

3. McCarthy doesn't bother to explain how it is certain things in the plot come to pass. So, when someone gets killed by another, we're not treated to how it was that deceased came to be found by that other, even though, in other parts of the plot the author makes a big deal about how the hunter found the hunted.

4. There is no satisfactory ending.

If you're looking for a thriller in this sort of genre, I would recommend you go somewhere else. Anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WORDS WORDS WORDS, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
Cormac McCarthy, like a lot of contemporary authors, doesn't seem to understand that although reading, writing, speaking, listening, hearing, thinking and understanding are all done with WORDS, they are quite distinct and different activities. So . . . to READ easily, the reader needs proper punctuation marks, like quote marks round speech, and from time to time, an indication as to who is speaking. Plenty other authors, and presumably their publishers, think it's "cute" - or something, to dispense with quote marks. No way. It just makes the writing unreadable.
I mean . . . why not go the wholehog andmissoutthespacesbetweenthewordsafteralltherearenospacesbetweenthewordsinrealspeech, are there?

So , if you like writing that's easy to read (I do not mean easy to understand) - avoid this thrown-together volume. You can get enough of the story by reading the reviews here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stylised & slightly pretentious, 7 April 2009
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
Told in pared to the bone fashion. Short clipped sentences with almost no punctuation at all. It has a dream-like narrative,blank verse poetic style that is studded with shuddering bloody violence.

Running parallel is the old Sherrif's reminiscences on the passing of life to death, aging, truth,God etc. It gripped me from the start apart from these increasingly longer,more frequent and not that insightful deliberations(ended up scan reading these).

I liked the author's bravery in treating Moss' death as a non-event and that no mercy is shown to Moss' wife but there is a lot of violence in this so be warned.

By the end I felt I had read a very fine dime novel dressed up with quite a lot of hokum. Just seen the film and it's better than the book although both have brilliant or pretentious endings depending on your view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cormac in the news, 10 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
Oprah's pick "The Road" seems to have put Cormac McCarthy on the map, and rightly so. I discovered this book after it was recommended by an author I'd been exposed to, after reading the book "Inner Voices, Inner Views." I then went on to read several of the authors in that collection (one of which is, by the way, not Cormac McCarthy) and found a lot of writers who I'd been missing.

McCarthy's writing is dark, dark, dark. There is the occasional joke, but for the most part he deals with subject material that most will not warm to. I, however, found this foray into the "other side" fascinating. would also recommend the books "Megan's Unicorn" and "Time Traveler's Wife."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I am shocked at the poor use of English and punctuation. It's ruining my read., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
Seriously, if this is the best Kindle can do for a book recommended to me by a professor of English lit then I may have to forget it. Has it been done on purpose? Why? I've never read such horribly written sentences, such poorly edited dialogue or such horribly used grammar. Seriously, it's an abortion of a text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Navel gazing for old men, 26 Aug 2011
More of a social commentary than an adventure story. Not particularly heavy but struc me as le cturing big time rather than providing an exciting taleadventure storyhich I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2014
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Hardcover)
in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slicker Than 7 Ltrs of 40 w, 7 May 2014
By 
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
Written in the third-person with double spacing, No Country For Old Men must have been a lot of work. Silencers, Glocks, Heckler and Koch's, shotgun's, drugs, 4 x 4's - all are fetishised by Mr. McCarthy, in a scary roman a clef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 1 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've seen the film, it will take you back, as the Coen Bros. faithfully copied the novel. If you haven't, it will be a treat indeed! Either way, well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fizzled out!, 30 Jan 2008
By 
A. D. Thorne "DT" (Warfield, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Country for Old Men (Paperback)
This book started at such a promising, great pace, I thought i was in for a really thrilling read. How disappointed I was when, two-thirds in and with little build-up, the protagonist is suddenly dead, and the narrator goes off, for the remainder of the book, on a philosophical, moralistic ramble! Hugely frustrating that the pace should fizzle out in this way...and a big let down (given all the hype, film etc!) I may have missed the point somewhere, but feel this book could have given so much more had the pace been maintained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Country for Old Men
No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy (Paperback - 1 Jan 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews