Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one wraps it up quite nicely
I agree that it may not be as funny as some of the other Hitchhiker books, but then again, books 3 & 4 (Life, The Universe... & So Long, and Thanks...) were already less funny than the first two, which both really stand out above the rest on the humor scale. Partly because of its sheer random plotless road-movie style.
To me, books 3 & 4 were the ones...
Published on 9 Aug 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the other four
After falling in love with the other four books of the series, you could do worse than to totally avoid the final installment. The overall feeling is of a novel which has been rushed out to meet a publishing deadline. I personally felt that the ending was so flimsy that it was an insult to anyone who had spent time reading the rest of the series. MOSTLY UNIMPRESSED.
Published on 5 July 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the other four, 5 July 1999
By A Customer
After falling in love with the other four books of the series, you could do worse than to totally avoid the final installment. The overall feeling is of a novel which has been rushed out to meet a publishing deadline. I personally felt that the ending was so flimsy that it was an insult to anyone who had spent time reading the rest of the series. MOSTLY UNIMPRESSED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one wraps it up quite nicely, 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I agree that it may not be as funny as some of the other Hitchhiker books, but then again, books 3 & 4 (Life, The Universe... & So Long, and Thanks...) were already less funny than the first two, which both really stand out above the rest on the humor scale. Partly because of its sheer random plotless road-movie style.
To me, books 3 & 4 were the ones that suffered from lack of plot/satisfying ending. Especially So Long and Thanks... was, though quite funny at times, rather a disappointment in the end, though it started off very well, a bit in the style of the Dirk Gently novels. He might have apologised for the inconvenience indeed.
As it is, it seems to me that, steering further away from the absurd humor that inhabited the beginning of the series, Adams tried to write out a good plot (a bit like with the Dirk Gently novels) that would satisfyingly wrap up the whole series - tricky, but could he do it? Yes, definitely yes. I can readily say that the "trilogy" wouldn't have been complete without it! It is a pity that he didn't hold onto the meandering nutter-style. Note that the book chapters switch very orderly between Trillian/Arthur/Ford, as do most of the more conventional novels. That's because here, he's more interested in creating a mystery with suspense and tension, rather than following in the footsteps of Monty Python. That is, the general plot here still makes absolutely no real sense (though everything fits in the end), but there are not much absurdities in the story itself, and the dialogues are less important and contain less unforgettable oneliners - DA concentrates on telling the story and finishing it.
Maybe Adams was better (and probably unique) at being an heir to Python rather than being a detective/mystery novelist. Still, in picking a totally absurd idea and working it out in such a way that it wraps it all up in a satisfactory manner is some stunt. Where the original two books get 1 star for plot and 4 for humor, this one gets 2 for humor and 3 for plot - still adding up to 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly funny, but rather grim in the end, 24 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It is impossible not to have some mixed feelings about this novel. It does stand as a return to the wild frivolity and cuttingly biting humor of the first three books, yet it is certainly less than upbeat, all things considered. Despite all kinds of evidence to the contrary, I always had the feeling that things would work out, even for poor Arthur Dent—the universe might not make a bit of sense, of course, but these characters I love so much would ultimately at least find a sense of peace if not happiness in some forgotten corner of the cosmos. It’s something of a downer to find out this is not really the case. Two characters who very much made up the heart of the series for me, Marvin and Zaphod, are not even present in these pages. Then you have Fenchurch from the fourth book, a character I really came to love, thrown out of the saga like so much spoiled Perfectly Normal Beast meat. It’s nice to have Trillian back, albeit in a couple of transdimensional forms, as well as Ford and Arthur, but it’s hard to say who the story is really about. Arthur’s new life as a Sandwich Maker on a remote planet his ship crashed on is rather pitiful but totally Dent-like. Ford’s attempts to undo the tragic consequences of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy company having been taken over by unscrupulous business men is interesting. The introduction of a Tricia McMillan who did not leave the party with Zaphod because she decided to go back for her handbag ends up just muddying the waters of the fictional time stream. Then there is Random, the biological daughter of Arthur Dent by Trillian; she is even more mixed up and generally confused about life than the father she only meets as a teenager dumped by her too-busy mother. It might be said that this is Random’s story, but all she really does is provide the means by which the principal actors Ford, Arthur, and Trillian are eventually brought together for the final conclusion.
Adams did do an impressive job of bringing things together in the end—characters and situations not only from this novel itself but from the start of the whole Hitchhiker’s saga (think Vogons). Why a pesky number of loose threads were allowed to hang out, though, while so much work went into resolving other looming storylines, is beyond me and did much to mar the satisfaction I got from the rather abrupt, unfortunate conclusion. I am particularly bothered by the fact that Fenchurch, a character important enough for Adams to have written the entire fourth novel about, is summarily dismissed with little thought and even little grief from Arthur Dent himself. I should not complain about the way Adams chose to end this delightful series of novels of his own imaginative creation, yet I cannot help feeling disappointed if not a little cheated by the way in which everything ended. All in all, while I did enjoy parts of this book immensely, I would rather have ended things with the happy note of So Long, and Thanks For all the Fish, and be left free to imagine what kinds of messes Ford and Arthur might be getting themselves into somewhere in the universe and wondering what really ever happened to Trillian and Zaphod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically funny, but not a thrilling and grand finale, 8 April 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is quite different from the other four in the Universe's only five-part "trilogy". Once again, you need to have read the whole series to appreciate it, but there's a lot that's not there in this supposed final book.
More like a set of short stories about Arthur Dent, Trillian and Ford Prefect, the greater part of the book is hugely entertaining and wonderfully witty, but for the first time, all the ends aren't tied up in the last chapter or so.
Unsatisfactorily sucked into the black hole of oblivion are Zaphod and Fenchurch, but the story is saved largely by the misadventures of our heroes, and the introduction of the perpetually happy robot, Colin.
It's full of knee-slapping slapstick, Mission Impossible type espionage, DNA donations and dandy sandwich making, but as a thrilling and grand finale it's a complete failure.
Refreshingly funny, but not satisfyingly wrapped-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Harmless....., 12 Jun 2003
In the fifth, and final, book of the Hitchhiker trilogy Adams leaves the reader feeling satisfied, but at the same time rather empty. Plot never being a key factor in Adams' novels, Mostly Harmless carries on the trend in fine style. Not that this has a major effect on the enjoyment of the book, but it can be at times a little confusing.
A promising mysterious start pales into insignificance as the book progresses and the introduction of the unknown ship is bordering on irrelevance. A few chapters into the book we are reintroduced to Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect but any others characters seem to have only a small role to play or have been completely forgotten.
Although the ending is wrapped up nicely a few major issues are left unresolved, such as the disappearance of Fenchurch and the whereabouts of Zaphod, but the clean wit and the unrivalled ability to make any situation seem interesting or obscure hold the book together well and overall make the book an enjoyable read. Interestingly the book is fully summed up the character Random and the title Mostly Harmless.
I would say a book for the more dedicated fans, who maybe appreciate the writing style more than any kind of structure or plot, but sure to make you laugh at some point otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly funny, 30 Sep 1999
By A Customer
Douglas Adams still has the edge on most Science Fiction writers but this book doesnt seem to fit in with the rest of the series (a bit like 'so long and thanks for all the fish). Its should have stayed a trilogy and maybe he could have used the ideas in a new adventure. But having said that as a book in its own right it is extremely funny and original, and Adams' writing style is out of this world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly bleak, 14 Aug 2007
Douglas Adams himself called his last Hitchhiker book "a bleak book" because he had such a miserable time, when he was writing it. I'm just rereading "Mostly Harmless" and it appears to me, that there is much to learn about Douglas Adams' emotional situation at the beginning of the Nineties (and of course about commercial pressure). But the whimsical Adamsian wit, that was often hilarious and deeply philosophical at the same time, is almost totally gone. Instead there is a strong feeling of disillusionement mirrored in the incidents Arthur, Trillian and Ford are confronted with. You will find some typical hitchhiker passages, but they often read like self-parody and are sometimes unnecessary gross. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Good., 29 Sep 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
THE STORY:
Arthur Dent has been confused about a lot of things, particularly matters of Time and Space, but now he has to deal with the concept of Parallel Universes, not to mention fatherhood. Meanwhile, Ford Prefect discovers a sinister new edition of the Guide.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Adams' writing is as sharp and conceptually funny as ever, particularly in the opening few paragraphs of Tricia's story (the bit about New York with the creatures in the lower intestines of rats). The author expertly establishes several storylines and slowly begins to weave them towards a conclusion that takes the series back to where it started; which I thought was very apt. Arthur's attempts at fatherhood make for excellent reading, as trying to deal with teenage mood swings baffles him far more than intergalactic travel ever did. All in all, this book is a good, funny, read and is better than the last two volumes in the series by far.
WHAT'S BAD:
The rather abrupt way in which Adams does away with Fenchurch really annoyed me, as I felt her relationship with Arthur could have added a great deal to this book (plus, I wanted something to go Arthur's way - he's always getting screwed over). And on the same sort of note, the ending of the book is actually quite depressing as I'd been hoping that Arthur and Random could have been a family and lived happily ever after (I should know better really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of an adventure, 10 Dec 2003
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the fifth and final book in the Hitchhiker series, written 13 years after the original Hitchhiker's guide to the Galaxy, tracks the adventures of Arthur Dent around the universe. Arthur is a quiet English chap who managed to escape Earth seconds before it was destroyed, went visiting many planets around the known universes, returned to Earth (despite the fact that it was destroyed 8 months earlier) and at the start this book finds himself trying to figure out where to stay.
At the same time, Ford Prefect (Arthur's travel companion throughout the previous 4 books) is in a bad mood, finding out that the Hitchhiker's Guide has been taken over and his contributions are not as appreciated as he feels they ought to be.
This story is a bit different to the others and in some ways perhaps a little tired as it doesn't introduce that much new. It is a logical end to the overall series, cleverly tying up all the lose ends. I found this book entertaining and would definitely recommend it to anyone who has read the other stories in the series. If you've never read Douglas Adams before, certainly don't start with this one. Instead, I would recommend checking out the ultimate hitchhiker's guide which contains all the main books from the hitchhiker series of which this is the last one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 5 Feb 2006
By 
Soze (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Bringing the fabulous Hitch Hikers books to a fitting close, this final book of the "trilogy" is a fantastic return to form after the slightly wishy washy So Long and Thanks for all the Fish. Full of the usual wit, vivid imagination and memorable characters that typified the previous books, Mostly Harmless brings back and resolves the stories of Arthur, Ford and Trillian, although sadly leaves us to forever ponder the fate of Zaphod. To say too much of the plot would give too much away, suffice to say if you`ve read the first 4 you really need to finish off with this one! RIP Douglas Adams, sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4beccf0)

This product

Mostly Harmless (Hitchhikers Guide 5)
Mostly Harmless (Hitchhikers Guide 5) by Douglas Adams (Paperback - 1 Sep 2009)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews