Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars
A very interesting book. The writer starts off in a very sycophantic manner, praising Google as if the sun shines out of their HQ. Later in the book the writer covers some more of dodgy practices that Google partake in.

I get the feeling that the reader is being taken on the same journey as the writer; From "Do No Evil" to "Do Lots of Good, but turn a blind eye...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Adam "Reviewboy" Yorki...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but something is missing
The book is interesting. It couldn't be otherwise since the topic is one of the most popular and profitable companies in the world. The structure is clear and each chapter interesting. I was expecting something different though, something where Google was idolized. I believe there are some aspects that could be described deeper, such as life at Google, but I understand it...
Published 10 months ago by Mavenick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'must read' for Human Resources Executives, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
Christopher A. J. Lamb "HR" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
Ok, so we all know a fair bit about Google. Their search tool is the most popular and their brand is like gold - but what goes on inside the Googleplex? This book is a fascinating insight into the creation and growth of a truly unique and engaging workplace. Whatever your industry and whatever the history of your organisation, there are lessons to be learned here about the economic benefits to your business of having a highly engaged and productive workforce and some thoughts on how to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Google Story - somewhat disappointing, 19 Dec. 2005
This review is from: The Google Story (Hardcover)
This is a moderately entertaining read but I found it rather lightweight with few real insights. I was hoping to learn something about how Google managed their very rapid growth, how they kept control of things and how they kept their people on board (beyond having a good cook and plenty of toys!). The book, I think, overemphasises lawsuits, battles with Microsoft and the value of Google stock. It also irritatingly oscillates between calling the Google founders by their first names and then their surnames for no apparent reason. To be fair, the way they financed the start up did provide some interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read but could have been more challenging, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
The story of Google is very interesting, hence four stars, but the author is a bit too much in awe of the founders for my taste. I think a more critical eye on Google, privacy issues etc. would have made for a more well-rounded reading. Too much of a hagiography for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, great book, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
Tracks Goggles beginnings in University through to company set up, becoming market leader and IPO. Well written and engaging.

Only slight criticism is that it is not up to date any more. Original goes up to 2005, then 2nd edition has some extra info up to 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Google Endless Growth, 28 July 2007
By 
G. Jones "Gavin Jones" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
This book describes the growth of the Google Empire. It is written in a gripping detective like format that you dont want to put down.

Even though it is written 2 years ago, the book does not have a dated feel.

A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond incredible! -- HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!, 5 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
The style used by the authors is close to that used by Grisham and other novel geniuses! I learnt a lot about one of the most ethical and creative companies in the business and would kill for a job in such a great environment! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story of how two men changed the world., 11 Sept. 2007
By 
A. Watson (Christchurch, NZ) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
What a fantastic story, brilliantly told! As I read the book it made me realise how much one website has changed the way we do so many things. It's pretty incredible to realise that the two guys who set it all in motion only met in 1995 and didn't start the company until 1997!! A riveting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers the Business well, if not the Technical, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Google Story (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book and it gives a good account of the founding members, how they started the company, what it came from and all the major incidents the company has undergone since then, up to 2006 for my addition - no Crome or the PC operating system. The writing was easy to follow and set in a logical sequence.

Covers their interests, getting initial money for the company, how they started to generate money from the search engine, floating, legal problems and Microsoft. Their products are covered, the search engine, gmail, Google print (books) and much more including were it might go with biological/genetic research in the form of data mining.

What it doesn't do is give much away about the technical side of the company. Surprisingly the search works on a grid of custom built, or rather stripped down, PC's linked together the "google way". They run the Lunix operating system, customized of course, and that's about it from a technical perspective, bar numbers and distribution of computer rooms. Nothing about the techniques used or even if a programming language is used, so that was a bit disappointing for me. I would have thought they could find out a bit more, perhaps he couldn't print more.

One chapter explains the concerns some people expressed on how Google searches could be linked to gmail accounts. A fair bit of details was discussed on how Google reacted to this, who they talked too, but didn't really say what, if anything, was done.

The overall point of view is pretty positive on Google, problems are covered but not judged.

A great read with excellent coverage of how such a large company became so big so quickly. It missed out on five stars for the lack of technical content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
Well worth a read for anyone considering going into business or for anyone who needs a little inspiration. Great value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 April 2011
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
An incredible story of ingenuity. Makes me wish I'd thought of it in the early days of the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Google Story
The Google Story by David A. Vise (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews