Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars
A very interesting book. The writer starts off in a very sycophantic manner, praising Google as if the sun shines out of their HQ. Later in the book the writer covers some more of dodgy practices that Google partake in.

I get the feeling that the reader is being taken on the same journey as the writer; From "Do No Evil" to "Do Lots of Good, but turn a blind eye...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Adam "Reviewboy" Yorki...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but something is missing
The book is interesting. It couldn't be otherwise since the topic is one of the most popular and profitable companies in the world. The structure is clear and each chapter interesting. I was expecting something different though, something where Google was idolized. I believe there are some aspects that could be described deeper, such as life at Google, but I understand it...
Published 5 months ago by Mavenick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars, 8 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
A very interesting book. The writer starts off in a very sycophantic manner, praising Google as if the sun shines out of their HQ. Later in the book the writer covers some more of dodgy practices that Google partake in.

I get the feeling that the reader is being taken on the same journey as the writer; From "Do No Evil" to "Do Lots of Good, but turn a blind eye if it makes Google lots of money".

In 2007 it could do with some updates to do with the latest news, but gives a great history of internet search as well as Google

Ultimately a very good book, let down from 5 stars by some repetition from chapter to chapter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good description of Google's rise, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
I picked this up when it was going cheap in Zavvi's sale. It's a good account of the rise of Google: how they recognized search as the most crucial component of the web and made their money by adding targeted advertising to their search results. I was somewhat disappointed at the paucity of technical detail beyond some journalistic hand-waving about a "seamless blend of hardware and software at ... a massive scale", and the fact that Google's servers are assembled from commodity PCs. This, it's somewhat breathlessly announced on page 2, is "perhaps Google's best-kept secret", which sounds rather self-contradictory. However, given the general audience that the book is written for (and the many details of their architecture that really *are* secret - even down to the number of servers they employ), perhaps this isn't too surprising - though I'm pretty sure that even a general reader wouldn't need to be told (p35) who Midas was.

There's also some degree of repetition across the chapters, which makes them read more like self-contained magazine articles instead of pieces of a coherent whole. But in general, I found this an entertaining read, and an interesting story about how Google has changed the world over the past couple of decades. On a personal note, I was also surprised to discover from this book that one of my (vanishingly tenuously linked) associates from the field of computer graphics in the early 90's had shared an office with Google's founders at Stanford. It's a small, joined-up world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "We gotta zig cos they think we're gonna zag", 26 Jan 2009
By 
D. Nelson "dN" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
This book is written as a testament to Google and all they've achieved in the last decade. As someone of a slightly cynical nature I found myself viewing a lot of this book with a fair amount of scepticism. Are Google really this good? Did they really have such a clear vision from the start? Do they never do evil? However, in the end I found this book incredibly enlightening and inspiring.

The Google vision is a strong one that stands against conventional thinking and drives the company to produce a quality product and a creative culture. This shines through in both the book and also the products they create. I came to realise not just that I use many of their products on a daily basis but also understand why I find them so appealing and useful.

The book is well written, very comprehensive and very informative on the different aspects and characters of Google. I have learned many things while reading this book and it has challenged me in a number of ways to improve what I do. It has also left me galvanised in my belief that free thinkers can achieve massive success when they don't give in to the pressure to conform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A disregard for the impossible, 28 Oct 2007
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
Google is the story of the creation of the best internet online search engine with the most powerful software, flashing speed and mountain high storage capacity.
Many analyst doubted for a long time that the company could generate serious revenues, but its business model (advertising directly linked to each individual search) proved to be a heap of goldmines.
The end is not in sight as the company even entered the genetics field. With its enormous storage capacity and its massive computing power for analyzing vast quantities of data, scientists should be able to search and find specific genes and genetic abnormalities that are causing diseases.

The author also comments on the creation of Gmail, privacy issues and the battles with software rivals (e. g., for the hiring of software engineers).
With and inside the internet space, Google together with Amazon changed the world we live in.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 6 Aug 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
This is an inspiring read about two young Stanford Institute of Technology students who took on the world - and won. Through a stunning power of belief, they decided one day to download the whole Internet and to use thousands of computers to store the data and so build the quickest and most reliable search engine of its time. Sounds simple, doesn't it?

One of the chapters is called "A Healthy Disregard for the Impossible" and that just about sums up the attitude and philosophy of the google founders.

This book (both descriptive and analytical) should be read by those at corporate level and also those who are thinking of lighting the creative entrepreneurial spark that awaits inside them.

In fact, I would go as far as to say that this is actually bordering on being a self-help book, such is its power to motivate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Inspiration!, 22 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
In my view this book sits alongside Losing My Virginity by Richard Branson for inspiration and honesty - mistakes and all! It's a must for any budding or armchair entrepreneur and demonstrates the 100% focus required to start up and maintain a multi-billion dollar company, whilst fiercly defending an original ethos. The culture within the Googleplex is discussed at length and it's clear that this was how they recruited and retained their staff. However, although it was not overtly mentioned in the book it was clear that Brin and Page demonstrated a inpeneterable partnership and strong leadership, even Schmidt was an outsider. If this leadership was not present from the beginning the story may have been different - a lesson for many organisations, I think. A brilliant book my Mr Vise, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but something is missing, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
The book is interesting. It couldn't be otherwise since the topic is one of the most popular and profitable companies in the world. The structure is clear and each chapter interesting. I was expecting something different though, something where Google was idolized. I believe there are some aspects that could be described deeper, such as life at Google, but I understand it is not easy to tell the story of a company. I finished the book feeling that something was missing.

Overall is a good book and worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'must read' for Human Resources Executives, 24 Nov 2006
By 
Christopher A. J. Lamb "HR" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
Ok, so we all know a fair bit about Google. Their search tool is the most popular and their brand is like gold - but what goes on inside the Googleplex? This book is a fascinating insight into the creation and growth of a truly unique and engaging workplace. Whatever your industry and whatever the history of your organisation, there are lessons to be learned here about the economic benefits to your business of having a highly engaged and productive workforce and some thoughts on how to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - little, if any, critical perspective., 24 May 2014
By 
William J. D. Johnstone (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
This book is very disappointing - another reviewer uses the word "fanboy" and I agree.
There is little, if any, attempt to provide any significant critical perspective of the founders or of Google itself.
Whole sections of the book in fact read like public relations puff and the parts on the rivalry with Microsoft are very one-sided.
All in all, it's a very disappointing read !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read but could have been more challenging, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Google Story (Paperback)
The story of Google is very interesting, hence four stars, but the author is a bit too much in awe of the founders for my taste. I think a more critical eye on Google, privacy issues etc. would have made for a more well-rounded reading. Too much of a hagiography for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Google Story
The Google Story by David A. Vise (Paperback - 7 Nov 2008)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews