Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
Anyone who's a fan of Maeve Binchy will love this author!
A follow on from the novel "A Taste for It", this book follows the trials and tribulations of an Irish girl holidaying in Australia and the people she meets along the way. I'll say no more
Read it yourself its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book in two days enjoyed it so much ! So glad my sister in Australia recommended to me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
another brillant book by Monica McInerney, did so enjoy it, brilliant, no excuse needed to sit all day just to finish reading the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monica McInerney magic, 1 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
There is something about most Monica McInerney novels that hooks me in from the first page. This one is no exception. It could be the humour with which she deals with relationships or the fact that most of us can identify with her characters' situations, but she weaves plots and characters seamlessly into a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Funny, Lighthearted Romance, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
This wasn't the best book that i have ever read, but oh how i enjoyed it!

The story follows Eva, a failed artist who has a break in Australia from her job in her uncle's delicatessen because of an ended romance and some rather large questions she has to answer; and Joseph, who is a successful business man on a business trip in Australia, questioning whether he's really living `The Dream'. Their paths intercept and they are swept up in an unusual, frustrating romance where the truth feels like it might break them apart.

From page one of this book, i was hooked. The story was lighthearted, romantic and yet kept me on edge. I couldn't read it fast enough - a definite page turner. It was refreshing to not read something completely predictable (i mean, the gist of it might be but there are some books that you just know every twist and turn that's going to happen, like every twist and turn). And Monica writes really well. It was really nice to read a book where you aren't faulting the author on their writing skills. I might sound like i am being really bias here, however these are the reasons why she is one of my favourite authors. I knew i could rely on her for a great read. And what's more she has her more in depth books if you want some more hardcore emotion and then she has her lighthearted books, which was just what i needed. I read this in less than a day, and it's not like The Lord of The Rings but it wasn't ridiculously short either (forty chapters).

There were some sexual references, however i didn't find them too much. They got to the line and then didn't cross it (another reason why i like Monica McInerney).

I do admit that the story was frustrating at times - at one point i exclaimed, "Just tell the truth already!" however it didn't go past the point where you couldn't handle it anymore. Almost, but not quite.

I would definitely recommend this book if you are looking for a funny, lighthearted romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely easy reading., 4 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
As soon as I started to read I knew that I liked Eva. Even though I quickly realised what was going to happen, I just had to keep going and really did not want it to end.
Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story., 14 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
I just couldn't put this book down. A beautiful story of love and friendship.It had great people portrayed in it and I hung on to every word of it.
A happy ending too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not my favourite, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
I love all her books, but this one is not my favourite. Sometimes I find myself thinking - how silly, which I have never thought in any of her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but still consuming, 24 July 2010
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Upside Down Inside Out (Paperback)
Eva lives in Dublin and she works in her Uncles delicatessen. Everything she dreamed of being an artist, a singer has passed her buy and she is somewhat at a cross roads in her life as her current relationship was a scheme to get her to use some influence on her Uncle. An opportunity her Uncle gives her makes her think different and with the quick decision to go to Australia to rethink everything seems the right thing to do.

Joseph is in London and has achieved everything he wants to do. Those dreams of being successful have paid off, but through this he has no one special in his life. Only work and his Mother. But she has some secrets of her own, that she has never shared with him. And when a work conference takes him to Australia she reveals his father wants to see him and heal some of the wounds of the past.

You can probably see what is going to happen. Despite Australia being a vast country, Eva and Joseph's lives cross. Both have acquired through joke, mishap and unintentionally new identities through no real fault of their own, but enjoying these new identities they continue to play them out.

Time means that some truths need to be told and eventually the stories start to slowly come out but it takes travelling back to London and Dublin before everything is out in the open. Despite the cover of their new identities, they have learnt about each other and have fallen in love. But they learned slowly about each other from the inside out.

A good holiday read would be the best way to sell this book if you were not sure. It trips (pardon the pun) along very nicely and okay so I have called it predictable but it has humorous parts along the way and some of the additional characters are well fleshed out to make it a must to get to the end.

If you like Marian Keyes, Sinead Moriarty and those of similar ilk then Monica McInerney is in my opinion up there with them and you know what you are getting when you pick up one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic storyteller, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love her books. I pick them up and can't put them down until the last page. They make me feel so happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upside Down Inside Out
Upside Down Inside Out by Monica McInerney (Paperback - 4 Dec. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews