Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephants (And Psychologists?) On Acid
Elephants On Acid is made up of surprisingly entertaining, interesting content in a witty, humorous tone. I say surprisingly because I was not expecting a book that has apparently sold very well to have experiments that are well-picked and really well researched, in my opinion, as two of them were ones I studied in my AS-level psychology class, and the book went into more...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by J. Turnock

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outrageousness and Smirk-factor
Grouped in sections dealing with the Big Subjects (life, sensation, memory, sex, sleep, evil, children) this book contains many of the more famous psychological experiments (Zimbardo's prison, Milgram's obedience experiment, John Watson and Little Albert's rat, and Wegner's White Bear) as well as others less well-known but chosen for their outrageousness or smirk-factor...
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by Bob Ventos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 16 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
I read this book on holiday and couldn't put it down. There's some really interesting (and shocking) stuff in there, most of which couldn't happen today. I've since lent it to a couple of other people who have loved it too. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book containing some very bizarre biology and psychology experiments!

Would recommend it to anyone that has a particular interest in these areas or are even just curious.

Arrived in good condition with slightly sticky front cover (from price stickers?)

Brilliant book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Experiments on Acid?, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
Loved this book as it was easy to read, interesting and funny. As a student I am interested in psychology and these tales gave a light hearted perspective on the lengths some experimenters will go to achieve their goals. Usually takes me a while to get into a book but finished this in a matter of days so highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very funny and informative, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
This is a great book that you can dip in and out of and it and is rather amusing, defiantly worth a read if you enjoy the history of science, but also not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book of scientific randomness, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid (Kindle Edition)
If your in the mood for a quick read that will make you laugh, this is the book. Full of completely ludicrous yet intriguing experiments which will definitely surprise modern society. Brilliant read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For a friend, 18 April 2013
By 
Rhianne (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend for their birthday and they liked it so I bought them Electrified Sheep by Alex Boese too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Science to the extremes, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
An interesting, bizzare and indepth insight into science over a vast period of time. Written in such a way each experiment can be read in a quick, fact filled way it is a perfect book for anyone interested in a science-history lecture with small amounts of time in the day to relax. I would highly recommend this book to friends with little interest in science and a liking for the strange and in some cases, scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educationally Beneficial, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me by a psychology teacher, it is very insightful on interesting but often ethically dubious experiments. Most of the topics covered are also very relevant to everyday life such as the topic on babies and all the psychology covered is illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
amazing book! was so good finding out about all these experiments, and a good read for any science student who doesnt get hooked by science, cause this will make you WANT to learn more

brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you laugh, and then makes you think, 29 Nov 2010
By 
J. James (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
The "Ig Nobel" awards are given out annually to "honor achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think". This book is full of such research.

Since I started reading this book, I've been regaling everyone I talk to with some of the mostly-quirky but always interesting experiments contained within. The thing I really like about this book is that the science is both mainstream and obscure. As well as a fascinating insight into the minds of some very twisted people, it also serves as history of underground science. Experiments funded by the CIA, conducted for fun or by accident can all be found in this book.

The author does a remarkable job of presenting the research in layman's terms without patronising readers with a science background (think New Scientist readers, and you'll get the picture), as well as organising the material cohesively, and even injecting a little humour. You can't help but marvel at the minds of the scientists who went to great lengths to support their research, depriving themselves from sleep (and sanity) in one case, or taking LSD before giving some to an elephant in another.

If you're looking for a book that's fun to read, talk about, and teaches you something at the same time, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2a76060)

This product

Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments
Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments by Alex Boese (Paperback - 15 May 2009)
5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews