Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephants (And Psychologists?) On Acid
Elephants On Acid is made up of surprisingly entertaining, interesting content in a witty, humorous tone. I say surprisingly because I was not expecting a book that has apparently sold very well to have experiments that are well-picked and really well researched, in my opinion, as two of them were ones I studied in my AS-level psychology class, and the book went into more...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by J. Turnock

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outrageousness and Smirk-factor
Grouped in sections dealing with the Big Subjects (life, sensation, memory, sex, sleep, evil, children) this book contains many of the more famous psychological experiments (Zimbardo's prison, Milgram's obedience experiment, John Watson and Little Albert's rat, and Wegner's White Bear) as well as others less well-known but chosen for their outrageousness or smirk-factor...
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by Bob Ventos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephants (And Psychologists?) On Acid, 11 Oct 2008
By 
J. Turnock "realfakegold" (Cheshire, England!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Elephants On Acid is made up of surprisingly entertaining, interesting content in a witty, humorous tone. I say surprisingly because I was not expecting a book that has apparently sold very well to have experiments that are well-picked and really well researched, in my opinion, as two of them were ones I studied in my AS-level psychology class, and the book went into more detail than my teachers did. Which might be a sign of bad teaching rather than a very well researched book but let's assume that's not the case.

There are ten chapters with each chapter's experiments being grouped together under a theme - For instance death, the senses, sleep, sex. Some experiments last only a page or two but others go on for a few more than that, and there are clever headings separating them from one another. There are the more well-known experiments (Such as Zimbardo's prison experiment), the experiments whose after-effects seem pretty well-known (Does Mozart make babies smarter?), the totally obscure (cockroach racing, anyone?) and the things everyone wonders about (Coke or pepsi?).

Personally, I feel that the first chapter is ill-placed as it's heavy on the animal decapitation and I think that might put some people off, for all the content is very interesting in its own disturbing way. So I say, preserve! I won't lie, there is some more decapitating etc to come post the first chapter. However, it's much more spread out and easier to take post chapter one as it's liberally overweighed by experiments ripe with whimsy, oddness and genuinely interesting (non-violent!) insights into human and animal behaviour.

It sounds corny, but I don't want this book to end, as while I know I can look more experiments up online or at the library they won't be grouped together so cleverly, infused with Boese's easy, clever sense of humour nor preceded by a short, fictional account based on the next experiment to be looked over. If you're interested in psychology, want a bit of a quirky read or something that you can pick up and put down without losing track of what's going on I say, buy it! If nothing else you'll pick up a few amusing tales to tell in awkward silence and the sense that, really, are psychologists really anything more than a bunch of smart children with access to some handy equipment and a scientific journal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outrageousness and Smirk-factor, 10 Mar 2009
Grouped in sections dealing with the Big Subjects (life, sensation, memory, sex, sleep, evil, children) this book contains many of the more famous psychological experiments (Zimbardo's prison, Milgram's obedience experiment, John Watson and Little Albert's rat, and Wegner's White Bear) as well as others less well-known but chosen for their outrageousness or smirk-factor (electrocuting corpses, counting pubic hairs after sex, giving LSD to the terminally ill). It debunks a few myths (babies don't instinctively choose a balanced diet, cockroaches wouldn't survive a nuclear holocaust) - and also contains some real eye-openers (the branding of Coke actually affects it's taste!). And although it's written in a jolly-humorous way, with a little joke at the end of each section (some as cringeworthy as the experiment they conclude), the book's a forceful reminder of the need for today's Ethics Committees in Science. What's frequently been done to animals is horrific, and what was sometimes done to humans is nearly as bad.

This is the sort of book that, if you're reading it in someone else's presence, is likely to make you want to read bits out loud to them. There are references too - unusual in a popular book like this - perhaps because the author thought that no-one would believe some of these stories otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun with a few lessons attached too, 1 Sep 2009
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
Science can be fun. I've seen this book everywhere--it's number 2 in the book chart at a certain large book, magazine and stationery selling chain at the moment so I picked it up in 2-book offer. I'm glad I did. I whizzed through it and thoroughly enjoyed the way the neat little scientific stories are explained. Perfect if you want to learn a little but have some fun alon the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giraffes on Speed, 18 Feb 2014
Elephants on Acid is basically a collection of interesting, intriguing and occasionally insane experiments that Scientists have undertaken over the years. Each chapter surrounds a new subject, such as animal experiments or sex-based experiments or whatever--and each category is split into sections, scrolling through the different experiments and their outcomes.

It's a thought-provoking read. I understood the reasons behind some of the experiments, and was baffled by others, as was the writer in some cases. But even the mad experiments have a vein of reason behind them; it seems that scientists will test anything, just to find out the whys or the hows. And it makes okay reading. I wouldn't say I was riveted or unable to put the book down. It's not something that will hook you into non-stop reading. It's more of a book to take around and read when you have a spare five minutes. The majority of the segments are short and easily-digestible and the book makes perfect bathroom reading, although I'm sure that wasn't the purpose.

So if you want something to read on your lunch break or whilst stuck in a particularly long queue, or maybe even something between programmes, this is a pretty good option.

At the very least, it will give you something to talk about with your friends.

And if you don't have any friends, then maybe you need to get out more.

And if you're always out, but STILL don't have any friends, maybe you need to evaluate your personality . . .

Anyway, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty interesting, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
I found this book a fairly easy read, good for dipping into and interesting. Clearly, today's ethics committees would have prevented many of these experiments from happening; I can't help thinking that the author trivializes just how distasteful some of these experiments were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 1 Jan 2009
By 
John Speakman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a really great read. I got it at christmas and read it over a couple of days when travelling - for which it was a perfect companion. It provides summaries of a whole range of experiments conducted between about 1800 and the late end of the 1990s. Each experiment is covered in about 2-3 pages and they are grouped together in ten separate themes. These cover all sorts of topics from how long a head can be kept alive after decapitation, to whether the females in a bar become more attractive as closing time approaches, and how many men interrupted in the street accept an offer of sex from an attractive woman compared to how many women accept the same offer from an attractive man (guess what the answer to that is?). Some of the experiments are disturbing, but many of them are amusing. The balance is just about right to keep you reading through the disturbing stuff with the promise of amusement to come. The tone of the author in describing the material is just right. Most of the experiments described are psychological rather than biological investigations.

Lots of these bizarre experiments particularly from the 1930s until the 1970s are performed on very small samples (occasionally the researchers own children!) and in some cases include procedures that are ethically outrageous. You will more than occasionally be dismayed that doing this stuff was actually legal. As such I think this book would be a fantastic undergraduate additional reading text for science ethics courses as it really emphasises why we currently have and need ethical review boards to oversee science proposals before experiments can be performed. Don't let that put you off though. This is as far from a boring undergraduate textbook as you are likely to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great service, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Ann M. Owen "anne" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
first book was a bit oldish and not up to scratch but when they were informed of this, they were fantastic.I have another one which they sent me free. It came today and it is fabulous. Their service cannot be faulted. The book is also very funny in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is better than good., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife and she was over the moon. This is a good thing and no mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, Slightly Creepy, Mostly Interesting, 6 Feb 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments (Paperback)
As a scientist writing about science, it's important to make the subject matter interesting and engaging. Ben Goldacre is an example of how to get it right, though there are plenty of examples of how to get it wrong.

In this compendium, we read about different "genres" of experimentation, some of which took place a generation or two ago, some in the last ten years, to try and understand more about the human mind, animal behaviour and social pyschology. It's a real mix of stories, all of which come with a reference to the original work, if you REALLY want to know more.

As other reviewers say, some of the jokes are lame, others slightly misplaced, and some of the stories are downright twisted.But you do get a general warning at the beginning that some of the experiments are not for the faint hearted.

That said, I was interested in almost every experiment covered, I found some of the findings interesting enough to talk about, but they were also concise enough to read a couple at a time, then put the book down and sigh about what scientists do in the name of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book - well worth reading. Well written, well researched and interesting throughout. Thoroughly recommended - can't wait to read his other books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments
Elephants on Acid: and Other Bizarre Experiments by Alex Boese (Paperback - 15 May 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews