Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint
Well, the action certainly continues from where it was temporarily left at the end of the first book!

The author has skilfully woven a thrilling tale where every high and low experienced by the characters feels almost like a personal achievement or loss.

Deeply engrossing, you will soon find yourself cut off from the real world and majestically...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by J. Cooper

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
not read it yet wait and see
Published 6 days ago by richard


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint, 27 Aug 2009
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (The Courtneys) (Paperback)
Well, the action certainly continues from where it was temporarily left at the end of the first book!

The author has skilfully woven a thrilling tale where every high and low experienced by the characters feels almost like a personal achievement or loss.

Deeply engrossing, you will soon find yourself cut off from the real world and majestically transported back in time to Southern Africa at the time of the Boer War. Putting this book down is a major irritation and inconvenience and I had to force myself to put it down on one occasion when the early hours of the new day were flying by!

War, romance, hunting, fighting, gambling, farming, politics; small threads which are interwoven yet help contribute towards this epic masterpiece.

If you enjoyed the first, you'll love this book.

If you haven't read any of Wilbur's books before, buy `When the Lion Feeds' you certainly won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and moving., 1 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (Paperback)
Still new to Wilber Smith and enjoying his work enormously. If adventure is your thing then look no further than this guy. In his second novel we pick up a few years after where we left of in 'When the lion feeds' following spontaneous adventurer Sean Courtney. War is rife is South Africa and we travel with Sean into the Boer war. But soon we learn that a far more bitter battle lies ahead for our hero. A deep family hatred is there for all too see. The way Smith draws you into the story is something special, and you find it hard to put the book down. When something happens to the characters involved, you find yourself taking the punches as they take them. The way the book describes the African topology and climate will create a desire to explore the country yourself. It is easy to see why Smith is so highly rated. He is quite a brilliant writer. Emotional and heart-warming, a fantastic sequel, not to be ignored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the most engaging story tellers out there, an excellent second book in the Sean Courtney trilogy. now onto the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just read them... start at when the lion feeds then the sound of thunder and after this a sparrow falls, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't read Wilbur Smith it's about time you started... There are many books to read from over the years - just read them... start at when the lion feeds then the sound of thunder and after this a sparrow falls and move on from there ... This is the Courtney trilogy with more novels on this family to follow. Pictures in the mind, a great set of stories from which you will also learn a lot about South Africa ... Read on... There are so many good books to read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Thunder, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful follow-up from 'When The Lion Feeds'. I didn't think the 2nd book in the trilogy of the Courtneys could be anywhere near as good, but I thought it was really a super read - time flies by with these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracking read, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite not being in chronological order Wilbur Smith recommends that the books are read in the order that they were written and so the books When the Lion Feeds (1964), The Sound of Thunder(1966) and A Sparrow Falls(1977) are the first 3 books in the first series of some of the Courtney family ranging from about the 1870's to 1970's. I do think that to get maximum pleasure these 3 books need to be read as a trilogy.

In this second book, The sound of Thunder, our hero Sean Courtney has finished fighting the Zulus and is now looking for somebody else to fight so he fights on the side of the British against the Boers even if some of the "enemy" are his fellow citizens.

Sean is eventually given his own command and comes to respect some of the Boers he has been fighting against and together they are instrumental in starting the process of forming South Africa.

Eventually Sean meets the love of his life and all he wants is to live in peace with his family but circumstances do not allow that and so more hatred and violence ensue because although the war may be over Sean is still beset with troubles mainly from his twin Garrick who has resented Sean all his life but now hates him with a vengeance and sets out to destroy Sean.

Another cracking read from Wilbur Smith in this second book of the Courtney's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such great story telling. I was completely absorbed in the characters and plot, just as good as the first book if not better. If you're a Wilbur fan this will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilbur at his best. Re reading and filling in the missing pieces ..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wilbur at his best. Re reading and filling in the missing pieces in my collection & for some reason missed this one first time around. Very happy that I now have this in the collection and read it twice nowas the first time reading was too quick to take in all the small detail, just wanted to follow Sean's advebtures. Second reading was so much better but I'm sure this will be reread again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a follow up!, 13 July 2000
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (Paperback)
After coming back from the wilderness, a rich man once again, only to find himself to have all his Ivory & money taken from him by the Boers, he find himself drawn into a war that divids the country. He has to make his mind up as to which side he will fight for ( & I won't tell you, because it will just ruin it! ) To gat there he has to cross through emeny lines, and it is here that he finds the woman of his dreams, but that would be all to simple. Togeather with this and the war its self, Wilbur Smith turns this into a compelling and exiciteing novel
What a way to continue the Courtney family saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Diana Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Thunder (The Courtneys)
The Sound of Thunder (The Courtneys) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews