Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring conclusion!
I'm a Yank, and, having read Pandora's Star a few months earlier, I simply could not wait for the American edition to finally come out on February 28, 2006. So I bought Judas Unchained as soon as it was first published, directly from the UK. (You Brits are fortunate to have this fine author so conveniently at hand!)
I'm glad I didn't wait. The...
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by A. Canfil Jr.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Night's dawn? Sadly no
Having previously read the night's dawn trilogy by the previous author, I was expecting something of a similar nature.. I.e. an epic story told through somewhere between 75 and 100 characters, fully accepting the fact that many would be cardboard cutouts simply used to advance the plot. However, this time around hamilton has opted for bringing us closer with many of his...
Published 1 month ago by Joshua Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring conclusion!, 1 Jan 2006
By 
A. Canfil Jr. (Half Moon Bay, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a Yank, and, having read Pandora's Star a few months earlier, I simply could not wait for the American edition to finally come out on February 28, 2006. So I bought Judas Unchained as soon as it was first published, directly from the UK. (You Brits are fortunate to have this fine author so conveniently at hand!)
I'm glad I didn't wait. The many charcters and very complex storylines begun in Pandora's Star are difficult to hold in one's mind for months on end. These two books are essentially one very long novel, with many parallel plot lines through which Hamilton rotates. I strongly recommend that people read them in (of course) the proper order, and one right after the other. As it was, I had some difficulty recalling who several of the protagonists were, and I had become vague about some of the events depicted in Pandora's Star as well. But I hasten to say that my problems in this regard were not the fault of Peter F. Hamilton, but more a matter of my aging mind's somewhat declining memory capacity. (I did have a compensating pleasure as I finally remembered various events and characters.) Do be forewarned: These are complex novels, so reading them straight through is probably best for all readers.
As for what happens in Judas Unchained, I will only say that all the storylines of Pandora's Star are appropriately and logically resolved. Hamilton has put even more of his rollicking, gee-whiz action into this concluding book, and the ending of the saga is both intellectually and emotionally satisfying. These two volumes are "space opera" at its very finest, and in the best sense of the term.
Hamilton just gets better with time. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous stuff, 31 May 2006
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judas Unchained (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
Despite reading a lot of it, I'm not actually a massive fan of Sci-fi, especially Space Opera. Although as a genre it's produced some greats (for example, Clarke, Brunner, Dick and Bear), the vast majority is easy-reading brain candy which helps me relax after a long day at work without making me think.

I've read a fair amount of Peter F Hamilton with this in mind - I wasn't overly smitten with the 'Night's Dawn' Trilogy, and Fallen Dragon was also very ho-hum. The first book in this series, 'Pandora's Star' was interesting enough to make me look forward to the sequel, but I still wasn't singing it's praises.

Judas Unchained starts unexceptionally enough with the usual SciFi and Fantasy staple of two dense pages naming the major characters and then the plot gets cracking.

About four hundred pages in I realised something. Despite dozens, if not hundreds of named characters and at least a half-dozen seperate plot threads which cross and weave at no point had I got confused as to who was who, what was going on or where the story was. As a feat of storytelling and authorial skill this is remarkable.

I've never doubted Hamilton's imagination, but in the past his writing has left much to be desired. With Judas Unchained he seems to have overcome his former limitations and this book is, undeniably, the work of a tremendous writer at absolutely the top of his game. Yes, there are criticisms. Other reviewers have pointed out that his characterisation of women is poor and that is his big weakness as a writer. Beyond that, though, Judas Unchained is a remarkable work of the imagination and of writing and whatever your views of SF, this is a book I'd heartily recommend.

Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy conclusion, 9 Oct 2005
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The first volume in the Commonwealth Saga, Pandora's Star, ended on a humdinger of a cliffhanger. The Commonwealth has been invaded by the alien Primes. 23 planets have been conquered, 30 million humans have died. The Commonwealth responds by building a huge fleet of warships and equipping them with new super-weapons, only to find the Primes responding with devastating weapons of their own. As both sides continue to up the ante, it becomes clear that the war can only end in the genocide of one species or the other. Meanwhile, key Commonwealth personnel have accepted the existence of the hostile alien Starflyer, which has orchestrated events for its own reasons. However, the number of Starflyer agents at large in the Commonwealth is far higher than was suspected and soon betrayals start piling up, culminating in a lengthy, exhausting chase sequence as the Starflyer is finally forced into the open and tries to flee to its crashed starship on Far Away. Elsewhere, Ozzie Isaacs' quest to find an alien intelligence which might be able to shed some light on the situation reaches a conclusion with some very unpalatable answers being revealed.
Judas Unchained is a fitting conclusion to the story begun in Pandora's Star. It carries on Hamilton's enviable talent for juggling multiple character viewpoints and complex storylines with flair and verve. Complaints are minor: the lengthy chase sequence with vehicles and running battles is perhaps a little too reminiscent of Hamilon's earlier work (particularly The Neutronium Alchemist) and the conclusion, although arguably more successful than the deus ex machina ending of The Night's Dawn Trilogy, leaves whole string of loose ends. These are minor threads only, but the vague sense of loose ends being deliberately left for Hamilton's next project, The Void Trilogy (which will be set in the same universe 1,000 years later), is slightly irritating.
But these are minor niggles. Judas Unchained cements Hamilton's place as the most readable and enjoyable SF writer working in the field today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and compelling, 17 Oct 2005
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After one misfire (Mispent Youth) and a so-so effort (Fallen Dragon) Peter F. Hamilton returned to form with Pandora's Star, the first volume in the Commonwealth Saga. Now, with Judas Unchained, he concludes a story that, in terms of scope if not length, surpasses his previous work; the Night's Dawn Trilogy.
As with its predecessor in the series it is another tour de force of intricate plotting, epic themes (genocide, time travel, human evolution), personal relationships, interwoven story strands, high politics and pounding action. Picking up where Pandora's Star left things, it follows the same characters, human and alien, minor and major, as they find themselves caught up in a battle for human survival against alien forces seen and unseen.
Trying to summarise the plot here would be pointless. There are simply too many storylines running in parallel throughout this book to come up with a succinct description. All readers need to know is that Hamilton handles each strand, without exception, extremely well. Be it the intrigues of high politics or the down and dirty survival of troops on the ground he gives each one as much care and attention. He also pulls off the almost impossible feat of bringing them all together so that there are no dead ends and even the most minor character has some key role to play in events.
All this is combined with Hamilton's highly evocative descriptions of mankind's future. This is an epic tale set in a fully realised and wholly believable universe. By combining the utterly fantastic (laser weapons and wormholes) with the mundane (trains and Volvo trucks) he gives the reader points of reference grounds the story even during its wilder flights of fancy.
Of course, as with any second volume it is imperative that you read Pandora's Star first. In fact, even if you have already read it I would recommend refreshing your memory of events before you tackle Judas Unchained. With so many characters and events it can be difficult to remember who's who in the universe the author has created. It is in testimony to him that most are fleshed out enough to be individually memorable, but when minor characters from volume one reappear to play major parts in the story's conclusion it helps to be able to remember who they were.
So, as a conclusion to the saga Judas Unchained is brilliant. Don't read it without tackling its predecessor first, and even then you will need to pay careful attention if you're to keep up with the labarynthine plot and numerous story arcs, but by doing so you will be amply rewarded. The climaxes are breathless, the final conclusion uplifting and it leaves you wanting to spend more time in the company of the characters Hamilton has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Night's dawn? Sadly no, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously read the night's dawn trilogy by the previous author, I was expecting something of a similar nature.. I.e. an epic story told through somewhere between 75 and 100 characters, fully accepting the fact that many would be cardboard cutouts simply used to advance the plot. However, this time around hamilton has opted for bringing us closer with many of his lead characters, and this means that at times, we can get hopelessly lost as events pass on with only brief mentions. The plot now seems to hold up the characters more than the characters hold up the plot. He now seems to be less willing to kill and break them this time around (so sorry Mr hamilton, you're not the sci fi George RR Martin yet) which can get frustrating in some situations... e.g., how are we supposed to fear the primes when they can get held of by one reporter/harlot with a bad internet connection? Most characters survive unscathed in far more situations than they should.. which can get a bit annoying at times.. I really loved the sequences where characters in n'd like thrakkar and syrinx broke down mentally after their experiences.. but none of that here. He seems to be going softer on them.
Even worse is the fact that the story no longer feels as well grounded in reality as the previous trilogy.. 300 years in the future, we have immortality, Forcefields (of which everyone seems to have a pocket copy) ion pistols (which I really don't understand how they work), wormholes arranged in a fashion almost reminiscent of the Technocore (Hyperion.. which seems to have lent a small amount of inspiration, but thankfully not too much) a giant disinterested AI, with it's own planet none the less, time travel, quantum bombs and FTL that can be easily rushed out in a few pages but hasn't been exploited until the plot calls for it... it just feels like hamilton has set things up in the fashion which suits the story that he wants to tell the best... It feels contrived at times.. He does usually try to justify it, but still, it can annoy.
However, these are relatively minor niggles.. In these two books, he creates a much faster, tighter storyline that is more about his Characters and their search for the alien which is manipulating the government. (it says it on the back, this is not a spoiler). Whilst it lacks the epic scope, the philosophy and the gritty realism of the nights dawn, it's still a fun romp (if you like long books that is). Just don't expect the brilliance of his earlier work.. It does lead on to the void trilogy, which are apparently his magum opus.. watch this space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reason why books will always be superior to films!, 12 Nov 2005
By 
Boz (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
I Had to read it twice, the first time I flew through it in a week just to get to the conclussion (I've been waiting 18 months!) and then a second time more slowly and after reading Pandoras Star again. Its a fantastic story, very well developed, sexy technology and if you soak it up properly quite rich and descriptive, it earns five stars simply for this.
I personnaly love the rich character development and suspense of working out the who-done-it parts, those from the 'wam-bam-thank-you-mam' category of SciFi will probably not, but even they would have to admit that when the wam-bam does come it doesn't so much as happen but explodes from the page.
My only critisism, and its a minor one, is that a couple of the characters were probably too well developed for the relatively minor role they eventually played, though this does help obscure the story from any obvious conclussion and I may change my mind on a third reading!
This series will be a future SciFi classic easily on par with Nights dawn but with a better ending.
Role on his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it when a plan comes together, 17 Nov 2005
In Judas Unchained Peter F Hamilton concludes the sage that began with Pandora's Star and on the way manages to dig humanity out of a pretty deep hole.
The book is vintage Hamilton with a large range of characters from seemingly different story arcs who are gradually drawn together for a fast paced and energetic finale that is a real page turner. The level of complexity means you really should read or re-read Pandora's Star before setting out otherwise you will be missing key parts of the backstory and besides the two books fit together well
Characterisation is for the most part good, but there is not a truly memorable character like Joshua Calvert or Quinn Dexter (from the Nights Dawn books) to sink your teath in to. Also I found some characters almost cardboard cutout's of previous work, ie. Melanie young sexually adventurous woman backed up by super intelegent artificial intelegence, read Ione young sexually adventurous woman backed up by super intelegent space habitat. One reason I think I like his books and characters so much is they behave in a very contemporary way; they have the same motivations as us but just happen to live in the future this helps make them easy to identify with. Although some of the female ones jump into bed far too easily to be totally believeable.
Where the book really excells is in the incorperation of technology. Peter has the skill to make us just accept fantastic technology because he writes about it being used in an everyday way, and as the characters accept it without comment so do we.
My biggest worry before the book came out was if we would be lumbered with a deus ex machina ending that magically resolves everything like we saw at the end of the otherwise excellent Nights Dawn Trillogy. Fortunatly Peter has not made the same mistake twice and the ending is in keeping with the rest of the book.
So strongly recomended to existing fans, although it is not quite as good as Nights Dawn. For new readers, well as long as you like long books with a huge range of characters and are not put off by lots of sex and violence this is definatly for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steve DeWilde, 28 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Judas Unchained (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
Hamilton knows how to write a good character. Most of the (very many) people that he introduces in his massive books are developed sufficiently for the reader to identify with, and even care about. I think that in Judas Unchained he has improved in that his female characters seem far more sympathetically drawn than in some of his earlier works. However, he needs a better editor! I can't be the only person who has noticed that almost the only adjective he uses is "big". By the end of the novel I didn't know whether to laugh or cry when "big" was dragged out again. And what is it with this obsession with naming the manufacturer and model of every single vehicle that is mentioned in the text? Occasional mention of a brand like Volvo, adds a dysphoric jolt, that paradoxically makes the story seem more "real". But not even the most seasoned train spotter mentally notes such detail whenever they even see a car or a train, as seems to be the case in the inhabitants of the Commonwealth. A trans-planetary civilisation of ultra obsessional nerds?
Great story, clever twists and turns of the plot, enjoyable characters, well written action and believable sex. Worth reading, even if the ending did seem a little hurried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please..., 15 Feb 2006
By 
Rob (Cambridge, CAMBS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There was so much in this and the previous book that at the end the first thing I wanted to do, sad as it may sound, is write Mr Hamilton a little note requesting that he finish the story. There really are so many things left to tell. I mean, what happened to life boats? Although the threat no longer exists, there is still sound reason to send them on their missions... and what about Ozzie's little mission and Orion and Touchee as well?
This book is large, near bible size, but I couldn't stop reading. Also, must first read Pandora's Star or you will be lost.
I hope Mr Hamilton was kidding when he said at the Cambridge signing that there were no plans for a third book in the series.
Keep it coming Mr Hamilton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Ending, 25 Oct 2005
By 
J. MULLIN (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book provided a satisfying ending to the story, while leaving a couple of threads open for Hamilton's upcoming Void Triolgy which is supposed to take place in the same universe. One aspect of this book that was confusing was keeping track of the various worlds and their capitals - a guide would have been nice. Otherwise, great book, with a much better ending than the Night's Dawn trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judas Unchained (Commonwealth Saga)
Judas Unchained (Commonwealth Saga) by Peter F. Hamilton (Paperback - 5 May 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews