Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hamilton page-turner
Odd that Amazon considers it not yet published, as I just finished reading it this weekend after Amazon shipped a copy to me. Once again, Peter Hamilton has painted a broad canvas for his latest series of novels. Set in a relatively near future, but one in which wormhole travel to far stars is an everyday occurrence, where the elves are recognized as an off-world...
Published on 16 Feb 2004 by Paul Gillingwater

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well visualised but could have been half the length...
Engaging plot, well researched scientifically but could have easily been half the length. This and sequel would have made great single book. But far too many lengthy descriptions of towns, backgrounds, clothes !!! Also, although I'm happy with the idea of genofixing and 24th century cosmetic surgery... why oh why does every single girl have to be stunning? perfectly...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by D. Foley


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hamilton page-turner, 16 Feb 2004
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Hardcover)
Odd that Amazon considers it not yet published, as I just finished reading it this weekend after Amazon shipped a copy to me. Once again, Peter Hamilton has painted a broad canvas for his latest series of novels. Set in a relatively near future, but one in which wormhole travel to far stars is an everyday occurrence, where the elves are recognized as an off-world species who walk their own paths between the worlds, and a shadowy terrorist group, inspired by fears of a mysterious alien invader that no-one else believes to exist, Hamilton once again weaves dozens of individual stories into a seamless whole.
The "Pandora's Star" of the title refers to a mysterious cosmic event hundreds of light years away, beyond the reach of the wormhole technology, where two solar systems are suddenly enclosed instantly by a pair of massive force fields. This drives the major action in the book, with its usual massive space battles, detailed descriptions of alien species, complex politics and the tragedy and small triumphs of individual lives.
Hamilton has developed a star-spanning empire with new species, including his usual AI constructs and human memory archives, however this world is very different from the universe of the Neutronium Alchemist. There are the usual cliff-hangers at the end of this satisfying read, which make me certain to buy the sequel when it is released (hopefully this year!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi at it's very best, 29 Nov 2006
By 
Anthony Stein "Tony27nine" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
In my younger days I was an avid sci-fi fan devouring everything that I could get my hands on. Twenty years on I decided to re-visit the genre and after many disappointments happened on Pandora's Star. Don't be put off by the size of this book - I found myself so enthralled that as I neared the end I was getting quite depressed at the thought of finishing but still couldn't put it down. A superb story, fantastic plot-lines, wonderous worlds and amazing technology. The action involves dozens of characters across the galaxy I never once lost the thread of any of the sub-plots so well is the story constructed. Of all the good things I could say the best is.....there is a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well visualised but could have been half the length..., 14 Aug 2007
By 
D. Foley "stockspring" (Mallorca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
Engaging plot, well researched scientifically but could have easily been half the length. This and sequel would have made great single book. But far too many lengthy descriptions of towns, backgrounds, clothes !!! Also, although I'm happy with the idea of genofixing and 24th century cosmetic surgery... why oh why does every single girl have to be stunning? perfectly shaped athletic sculptured legs, pneumatic sex sessions lasting days!!
However I may complain, did read over 1000 pages in under a week so can't have been that bad! But please Mr Hamilton, if you're out there, I can't believe the future is just going to be packed with the vain, perfectly remodelled, ultra wealthy, apathetic, self-centred... oh and what's with diesel engines still around in 400 years time??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars satisfying space opera, 16 Feb 2006
By 
N. Caldecutt (Rochdale, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
I am re-reading this first novel to be able to move on to the second, having forgotten some plot elements from my reading it a year ago.
To all those that say it is over long, I just say that this is space opera and there are many books out there that are over far too quickly. If you even begin to pick a book to read you must be doing so to envelope your self in a different world and storyline to that of your own life, so why should it not be all encompassing as PFH's works are. I do agree with some of the over long/boring passges, but aside from about 2 sections in this book ,the rest is necessary and adds to the allusion of space being BIG. He covers a lot of scifi basics in this but with good descriptive flair and originality, in a genre that has gone a little stale from other authors. I for one was hooked and read this again in 4 straight sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive and thrilling read!, 22 April 2005
By 
A. Niemi "anjan387" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
Just finished reading this book, and the last 100 pages was read in a hurry to find out how the escalating conflict between humans, the mysterious Starflyer and the Primes develops. Unfortunately, or maybe luckily, the story continues in the second and last installment, Judas Unchained. Hamilton has put together a fascinating, detailed and complex universe populated by believable people, technology and aliens. In the midst of the story the mythological Starflyer lurks. Believed to be a propaganda hoax of the guerilla group The Guardians, the Commonwealth of humans is not prepared for the encounter with the expansionist and hegemonic alien race of the Primes, an encounter which might be the result of the Starflyer's machinations. Central to the story is detective Paula Myo, who slowly starts to suspect that the Starflyer is very real. Parallell to the investigation of the Dyson Barrier containing two star systems and the following disastrous developments, Ozzie, one of the makers of the wormhole portals which are the premise of the star-spanning Commonwealth, travels the Silfen paths through mystical and strange worlds. The book spans 1000 pages and its multitude of characters can be confusing in the beginning. However, the previous reviewers have definitely missed out central parts of the plot by skipping chapters and characters. Both Myo and the Vernon family are important for the storyline, something which should be very clear at the end of the book. I eagerly look forward to the second book, Judas Unchained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamilton Returns to Space in Style, 22 Feb 2004
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What do you do when you have written the last truly great space opera of the 20th Century? If you are Peter F. Hamilton, the answer seems to be to try and write the first great space opera of the 21st. He may have been pipped to the post by Alastair Reynolds' Inhibitor series in that regard, but The Commonwealth Saga, starting with Pandora's Star to be concluded in Judas Unchained, is an extremely impressive piece of work. In his Night's Dawn Trilogy Hamilton populated his universe with starships swallowing the void in artificial wormholes. In Pandora's Star wormholes directly link planets together, meaning visiting another world is as simple as getting on a train. There are no starships and the Intersolar Commonwealth is a peaceful, stable society. When two stars 1200 light-years away disappear, the Commonwealth builds the first faster-than-light ship to investigate. As the title suggests, this isn't a great idea and soon the Commonwealth is under threat of annihilation. Like Night's Dawn, this new series is complex, richly populated with interesting characters and with an effortless style which pulls you in and makes you care about what's happening, a skill most hard SF authors lack (hello Gregory Benford!). The ending is shocking, the humour is impressive (especially the prologue which must rank as one of the best SF novel openings ever) and the 18-month wait for book two will be interminable. Extremely impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-written, interesting and intelligent sci-fi novel., 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
A book the size of a brick and characters with names like Wilson Kime; crimes of passion and conspiracy theories; wormholes and an invading alien horde; terrorism and techno-babble about neutrino emissions; political intrigue and hippy space-elves--it can only be one thing: space opera.
In the 24th century, humankind has spread to the stars on a wave of optimism, creating a peaceful, capitalistic Commonwealth of colonies that are linked together by wormholes. Space flight is rare, with the normal mode of interplanetary transport being a rail network that passes through stations with wormholes straddling the tracks. Dudley Bose, an astronomer at an under-funded university on the fringes of the Commonwealth, makes a startling discovery while studying a Dyson sphere in far-off space: that the erection of the sphere was almost instantaneous, suggesting it’s a force field of some kind, and was put up some time in the 11th Century. This piques the interest of the Commonwealth citizens and its government, who build a starship--the Second Chance, captained by the heroically-named Wilson Kime--to investigate the phenomenon, the big questions being: was the sphere built as a defence to keep something out, or built to imprison something within? The title of the book gives a whopping clue as to the nature of the sphere’s inhabitants, with curiosity certainly killing the cat--and a lot of people, too. The Commonwealth suddenly finds its cosy, non-militarist existence under threat.
Across the book’s many, many pages, Hamilton skilfully balances several story lines, many of which seem completely unrelated to each other for the bulk of the book. The book’s pacing is a glacial at first, but picks up gradually as it progresses, finally bursting into a rabid frenzy with a hundred pages remaining. Occasionally, the sheer amount of detail Hamilton provides brings the pacing of the book to a crawl. For example, a twelve-page description of a hang-glider trip across a planet becomes something of a drag to read, especially when the book’s printed on onion-skin-thin paper in an ickle font size. Having said that, Hamilton’s future does evoke a sense of wonder. His world-building is impressive, encompassing detailed politics, economics and geography, together with different cultures and distinct alien races/characters, especially MorningLightMountain, one of the book's main protagonists, whose encounter with humanity is as fascinating as it is gruesome. It’s always nice when aliens are, well, alien. There are many well-developed characters from a range of backgrounds, from the mundane to the colourful. He also includes a story line involving Joe and Jo Average, featuring the lives of ordinary people as well as those of the politicians, scientists, industrialists and whatnot.
The book also poses some interesting questions, too. What if the crackpot conspiracy theorists are actually right? And whether or not terrorism and/or acting outside of the democratic process is ever appropriate if a government/culture is perceived to be corrupt and/or acting in a manner that runs counter to the interests of its own citizens?
Every now and then, the science in the book got a little too heavy for me, with lines like, "'That dimension really only applies to solid matter,' Tunde said. 'This is an artificial rift in the quantum fields which manifests itself in spacetime; technically, it has no physical depth. It’s two-dimensional,'" making me want to put my head between my knees and exhale, nasally, very, very slowly. For the most part, though, the science shouldn’t baffle a casual viewer of Star Trek.
Naturally, the book ends with a series of cliff-hangers, with the story continuing in Judas Unchained, the second and final part of the Commonwealth Saga. In short, Pandora’s Star is a well-written, interesting and intelligent sci-fi novel, among the best I’ve read in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Big, fat, luscious and only a little flawed, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The publisher calls Peter Hamilton 'the UK's greatest science fiction writer' which probably means that Stephen Baxter and Alistair Reynolds have contracts with someone else. But this is a super book - as other reviewers will note, it's really only half a book as its sequel 'Judas Unchained' carries on where Pandora's Star left off.

These books are vast. But once you've accepted that, you can climb in and enjoy them, aware that you won't be out for some weeks.

Hamilton creates a brilliantly-detailed and imagined universe, comparable to Olaf Stapledon at his best (and there's no higher praise), and it's a compelling place to visit. I really enjoyed myself there. I bought Judas Unchained as soon as I finished this one, committing myself to another 1000 pages. And he writes and describes stuff well. My caveats:

1. He seems to buy his dialogue in bulk from Ikea, great sheets of woodenness.
2. I might be missing something here, (and this is not a spoiler) but if you take a wormhole and fly instantly to a star 10 light years away, then turn around and take the wormhole straight back, don't you arrive 20 years before you set off? Isn't every wormhole a time machine? In a very wormholey book, special relativity's problems with causality are waved away with a Star Trek-like insouciance. Not something, for example, Alistair Reynolds would ever do.

All forgiveable though, and I did sign up for another Hamiltonian Kilopage in Judas Unchained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few light years too long, 27 July 2007
By 
A. Nelson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) (Paperback)
I like plots. I love plots. But this book tried my patience so much I gave up reading it for about a week before going back to it. It is overfilled with detailed descriptions of trivia, and lacklustre subplots that left me exhausted. The tedium is terminal in parts. That said, some of the science is great. When I read science fiction, I want fast-paced and snappy, or else a leviathan of the quality of Asimov. This is neither.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Rip Roaring Ride from the Sci-fi Master, 17 Aug 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pandora's star is the first of two books in this latest story from Peter F Hamilton (Judas Unchained is the title of the yet un-published second book). The premise is that humans now live in an interstellar commonwealth and they are virtually immortal (continiuing the rejuvination theme introduced in Misspent Youth). Wormholes are used to traverse the planets in the galaxy and thoughts of space ships are just a distant memory. Then an Astronomer makes an exciting observation which could have a profound impact on the future of the human race. A decision is reached to investigate the anomale discovered but static planetary wormholes would take too long and thus a starship must be built. And off we go, add in a disillutioned terrorist, a genetically engineered detective, a former hippy scientist, murder, love, intrigue, deception and this book is a great read and sets things up nicely for the conclusion. Hamiltons formula proves a winner once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga)
Pandora's Star (Commonwealth Saga) by Peter F. Hamilton (Paperback - 4 Mar 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews