Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut
This was Hakan Nesser's debut novel, which came out in Sweden in the early 1990s. We are just beginning to get his wonderful Inspector Van Veeteren books translated into English, but reading this very first in the series I was amazed at how well drawn the characters are, especially the dour Inspector; "He's big, his face is purple and he swears," as one of his...
Published on 25 Oct. 2009 by emma who reads a lot

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Van Veeteren Mystery
This is the first in Hakan Nesser's Van Veeteren series, although numbers two and three, Borkmann's Point and The Return, were published before it in the UK.

The story opens as Janek Mitter wakes with a massive hangover and takes some considerable time to come to his senses, remember who he is, work out that he is in his own home, force his way into the locked...
Published on 21 Jun. 2009 by Mick Read


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Scando thriller, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
The main character is not as good as Wallender or Harry Hole but it is still a good read. Good story makes up for detective with limited attraction. Read two and will probably read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nesserschmidt!, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
Another classic. No one writes like Nesser. It's very nuanced, with lots of sly humour as well as some outright laughs. And then there's the suspense ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clunky writing, flimsy storyline, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
C. Armstrong "Cazzy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
The storyline seemed pretty weak. Only in the final couple of pages does it reveal the killer's identity with no real clues throughout the rest of the book. It seemed to just be thrown in at the end and most of the book was just interviewing people and discovering alibis, not much of interest.

The writing was pretty clunky too with strange phrases being directly translated into English that sounded off. Paragraphs would go on with no reference to which character it was talking about. There were no endearing features about any of the characters really.

Short and easy to read but really no substance so a good holiday read but not much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
Hopefully another good thriller. Arrived quickly and well packed. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not brillant, 3 July 2010
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
Having read quite a lot including a lot of scandinavian crime, this was ok. It started off really well with an intriging plot set up - but unfortunately for me, the main detective seemed to be too much a carbon copy or an off the shelf detective - and the crime motive was so obvious that by half way through, I am sure most readers would have figured it out... even the 'twist' (about her 4 year old son's death) was quite obvious to me. Still the language of the novel and its translation was good and very landscape came off very evocatively. Worth reading (maybe from the Library?) but not as good as the Ice Princess, the stig larson trilogy, or either the classic wahoo series or the Ingridson detective from iceland whose books I am enjoying at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hakan Nesser 'The Mind's Eye', 30 Sept. 2012
By 
TRENDYWENDY (GREATER LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book as it is the first of a series and I was looking for a new author. However, I was very disappointed in the writing, the translation, the main character and the plot. Since Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson's excellent books have been translated into English there has been an explosion of Scandanavian crime books released into Europe. If you believed the critics every one should be an instant success. Unfortunately this is not the case and a 'Mind's Eye' is a typical example. I would like to think that this particular series gets better but I can't really be bothered to find out as the first one was so mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
Yes! A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather disappointing book..., 4 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) (Paperback)
Unlike the previous reviewer's, I found this book to be somewhat of a disappointment. Having previously read both the Wallander series (and it's fore runner, the Martin Beck series), I was expecting good things. But I felt let down after reading this book. The initial court scenes are tedious and don't really do much. As a character, I didn't like Van Veeteren. He's a very angry man, distrusting of seniors (re-assuringly predictable), narcissistic and self-important (the best interrogator of criminals on the force) and very blunt, in his dealings with suspects and colleagues. As an older detective, we are also observing him, with a life of jadedness and experiences already behind him.

There isn't the playful humour of Martin Beck, tinged with the occasional absurdity or the humanity of Wallander..so what other qualities does he have to redeem him? This said, perhaps you see more as the series develops, the initial Wallander book was also slightly disappointing (Faceless Killers). We shall see, after all there are 10 books in the series.

Perhaps I've been spoiled...I didn't enjoy Jo Nesbo (Harry Hole) or Karin Fossum (Inspector Sejer) either??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it but ..., 29 Jun. 2012
By 
S. Rothwell (Preston,Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 1st book I have read by Hakan Nesser and though I did enjoy the story throughout found that by the end I knew nothing really about any if the main characters. I will read another of his though to see if they remain the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series)
The Mind's Eye (The Van Veeteren Series) by Håkan Nesser (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews